We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formerly Quality Inn”
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Formerly Quality Inn”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I see on TripAdvisor that this used to be a Quality Inn, and that makes a lot of sense to me. Judging the structure and rooms alone, without factoring in the location, I would say that it's just another motel (with whirlpools in some rooms). I don't know whether any of the interiors were updated or not, but it doesn't feel so. Nothing feels dirty or disgusting. Everything feels just pretty standard motel. We were looking for a cheap room to enjoy the town for a few days, but there was nothing but a King size whirlpool room with an ocean view. I'm not sure, but I think every room here might have an ocean view. They all seem to face the ocean and have either decks (2nd floor) or patios (1st floor). The nightly rate was $200, which was a bit high for me. Sometimes I will pay that much when I really think the room merits it. In this case, and in my view, this room would have been better valued at around $150. I believe this was one of the better rooms on offer, but I have to compare to other places I've stayed that charged this rate. We did receive a multiple-night stay discount, which saved me $50 on the total. The room was quite spacious, and we did make use of the whirlpool bath, which was very nice. There was a large stain on the carpet at the foot of the bed. Ultimately, the rate was determined by the ocean view, which is of course beautiful, and which we enjoyed very much. The room got quite hot during the day, as it gets a lot of direct sunlight. When we would return in the late afternoon, we would open the deck door and the front door to get a good cross-breeze blowing to cool things down. I never found an AC in the room. But at night, I would leave the deck door cracked open (with the provided door stop) which would bring a cool breeze in along with the sound of crashing waves (a plus for me).
In short, you could do a lot worse. There's a nice paved beach trail directly outside, which is great for a morning or evening beach stroll. But if you are going to spend a lot of money anyway, you may want to check on other beachfront hotels in the area first, to compare. Might as well be a smart shopper. But if you end up here, you shouldn't be unhappy.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have ocean views? But upstairs decks seem like a nicer option than patios, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subaquatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    151
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
73
266
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I just LOVE staying at this hotel! The Ocean View Lodge is our favorite place to stay in the Ft.Bragg/Mendocino coast area. My knees are the only thing that doesn't like the hotel, the best rooms & views are upstairs and there is no elevator available. (The view & amenities of the downstairs rooms just aren't the same). We recently decided to try staying somewhere else without stairs & really, I wished I would've just sucked it up & stayed at Ocean View Lodge. We've stayed here about 4-5 times in the past and have never been disappointed. Our favorite part is that you get the ocean view & the sounds of the waves from just about anywhere in the room. I love how you can hear & see the waves from the king size bed, as well as the jacuzzi tub, plus of course the outside deck area. We love to be able to turn on the gas fireplace by the flip of a switch & leave the fireplace going with the patio door open so we can hear the waves all night long. More spacious than most other rooms, always very clean, comfortable bed & nice basic amenities, small fridge, coffee maker, etc. They don't serve any type of breakfast but there are plenty of places nearby to go & Egg Heads on Main Street is a MUST!!! Personally, I enjoy bringing my own breakfast & cappuccino mix & enjoying them on the deck overlooking the water at my own leisure. There's usually a good bit of foot traffic & bicyclers along the path below but nothing that has ever been all that bothersome. The staff has always been pleasant & we have never had a bad experience here. The only bad part is when the trip is over & it's time to go back home to reality.
Note to management: please, please, please oh please consider putting in an elevator for those of us who don't want to give up the spectacular view but have knees & disabilities that prevent us from accessing a flight of stairs! :)

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best views & amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I should have done this last year. The Ocean View Lodge sits on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Every main room and balcony has a great view of the ocean. Its a little bit of a trek through the tall grass and down the cliff to the beach (100 feet or so) but its worth it. The front desk people are friendly and helpful and the rooms are warm and clean. My wife and I were really able to relax there. If we make it back (which I hope we do), we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Just ask -- they are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel is right on the ocean with a great view and a deck! It was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The rooms are very large. You easily could stay a week and enjoy a great rest. Jack and Terry are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Great view, great location, great for hikers or joggers. Room is very large, sleeps 4 very comfortably, beds are great. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Fort Bragg.

Watched the sun set from our balcony, went for walks on the beach... just great.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the ocean. No noise to speak of on bottom floor. Great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in the spa suite and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful view of the ocean from the window and the little deck. Nice spacious room with very comfortable bed. A great value compared to other places on the coast. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryjean1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have stayed at the Ocean View many times.We stayed here in the 1980s before its namesake motel (really an old style auto court) was replaced with the current multilevel buildings.
The price is right; the rooms are clean and there is almost no night noise.

But come for the view. It is spectacular any time of the year, although Ft. Bragg can be foggy at times. You can reach the beach easily, or just stand on the bluff and enjoy the view. The view from the rooms with a glass of wine in hand is also a treat.

Room Tip: We like the upper level as you get a grander view, but not by much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Property: Ocean View Lodge
Address: 1141 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ocean View Lodge offers free continental breakfast each morning for our guest's. We also have Tesla EV Charging stations onsite. Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. The well appointed guestrooms feature Free Wifi, refrigerators, coffee makers and upgraded bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing