We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View Lodge is AMAZING”
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff at Ocean View couldn't have been more helpful and the room could not have been any nicer. We were so pleased that we stayed an extra night. I could stay an entire week, it was so relaxing to be able to have coffee on our deck and just look at and listen to the ocean, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Wow, the rooms on the second floor (jacuzzi and fireplace) were wonderful. You can listen to the waves all night with the fireplace going. You can watch the sunset from the balcony, bed or jacuzzi. The room was incredibly clean. The price was very, very reasonable considering summer rates. The 180 degree uninstructed view was to die for. A short walk a you are on a quite beach. I also found the food in town to be great as well. Granted you do not have water warm enough to swim in or palm trees, but other than that, We felt we were in Hawaii with no crowds anywhere. We wish we had more time and will be back for a weeks stay soon. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Upchurchpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have been staying here for our Anniversary for the past 8 years. Why? Super clean and plush rooms; outstanding views from personal balcony; Less than 5 minute walk to sandy beach; large room with sitting room; 2 t.v s in our room; As much coffee as we wanted; Able to see whales in ocean from our balcony as well as sailboats and fishing boats; Spectacular sounds of the Ocean all day and nite. Very close to Downtown Fort Bragg and all it's quaint little shops and history. Can walk from Room to Park and find starfish and sand dollars in the tide pools. Ten minutes from Glass Beach. Close to Botannical Gardens. Best place to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penny207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The view is what it's all about, and usually when a place is selling it's views, one has to accept lower quality accommodations. Not so in this place! It was sparkling clean, spacious, and comfortable in every respect. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are in a downstairs room, you may be a little disconcerted to see people strolling by on a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueSkySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'll start by saying the view and peacefulness of this place is what makes it a great place to stay. You literally look out onto the ocean. You are about a 10-15 min walk from glass beach, and about a 2 min walk from nice sandy beaches. There are large panoramic windows that look out to the ocean. You have your own patio to go sit on if you want. There is a paved road that goes along the coastline like 5 feet from your patio. Overall its an amazing place to be. That being said it does have some drawbacks.

#1. Its expensive. You can stay in a hotel slightly farther from the beach and save money. Save even more money if you don't care about the amazing view.
#2. The walls and ceiling are thin. I could hear my neighbors pretty well on the sides and top of me. I think we had an insomniac hippo staying above us.
#3. Rooms were outdated. It was pretty clear the rooms had not been updated in quite some time because of rose colored 1 piece bathtub and surround which had actually worn through the color in some spots. and the strange heater thing that popped out of the floor.
#4. Missing amenities. NO AC. Seriously.... NO AC at all in a 150+ a night hotel. Come on guys, I realize the weather in fort bragg is generally cool and there is probably little use for AC but one of the nights I woke up because it was too hot. I would have preferred to turn the ac on. No microwave in the room. Fridge ran all the time and didn't get very cool. Only 1 packet of coffee per day. These are all small issues but I have stayed in much cheaper hotels that had these things.

All small things aside. I really enjoyed the vacation. Very relaxing and low key. There really isn't much to do in fort bragg so better plan this trip as relaxing exploration. The hotel is so close to the beach that it really is one of the best places to stay on a trip here (if you don't want to camp). The 2 men at the desk of the hotel were friendly and seemed to know a lot about what to do and where to eat.

Room Tip: 43 was perfect for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel made our stay very comfortable. The room was spacious, clean and with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. The spectacular sounds of the ocean along with the jacuzzi was relaxing as it gets. I will definitely visit your facility again. Your staff are very friendly and was helpful in providing us with information on the best restaurants and places to see in the area. My husband and I stayed even longer than we originally planned. Thank you Ocean View Lodge for a great experience.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean so I find this a great place to stay.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is a bit older and dated, but the very CLEAN spotless room and balcony overlooking the ocean more than made up for it. Ask for the upper floor - the view is better and you don't have people walking by your room all the time. This is only about a 5 minute drive into Fort Bragg and about 20 minutes to Mendocino.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - the views and privacy are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyngirlCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
223 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Address: 1141 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £103 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ocean View Lodge offers free continental breakfast each morning for our guest's. We also have Tesla EV Charging stations onsite. Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. The well appointed guestrooms feature Free Wifi, refrigerators, coffee makers and upgraded bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing