We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking view”
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking view”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and Myself stayed there a few weeks back and the view is to die for. The room is a bit out dated but clean. I would stay there again in the future. How ever my advise to the owners would be check people in a bit faster. When people are traveling and wanting to get out of town, they dont want to get held up in the lobby all night listening to a staff member giving there advise about every detail about Fort Bragg. Very thoughtful but If we wanted a tour guide we would hire one. With that said the staff was very nice though. One other annoying thing is if you pay good money for a hot tub in your room you should be able to use it when ever you want and not have stipulation on what time you can only use the jets on the tub.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love4Life2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    148
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
73
262
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were passing thru and stopped at Ocean View Lodge. Our room was a 2 room suite and large and comfortable. The second floor probably had a better view but we were happy with what we got.
Very sorry that we had to leave the next day. The ocean was in view and nearby and the walks were close by. Used to California prices we thought the price was very reasonable. We paid $149 for a week day. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Amazing views, beautiful fireplace that stayed on through the night, comfy, clean rooms, direct beach access. Wish we could have stayed longer and if I didn't live on the other end of the country, I'd be a regular visitor. I can't recommend it enough! Stay at this wonderful lodge!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spacious and clean....but not $227 per night worth. I've stayed in the Ritz-Carlton ( not bragging just giving a you a reference point) and I rate the ritz at 10. This hotel has a great beach front view, but for the money I expect a lot more. First, the good, the room has a fireplace, and a very comfortable bed. The view was beautiful, and we slept with the door open to the deck, and fell asleep to the sound of the Pacific Ocean. The location is right on a ten mile bike path, and walking distance to Glass Beach. BUT...for $227 a night I expect the bathroom sink to be completely painted, (the under sink support was bare wood). There were three different color fixtures in the bathroom. The towels were basic motel towels, and there were only two available for use. The room was spacious, but had a small flat screen tv you couldn't see from the couch across the room. Overall, just a basic hotel/motel room without the view you could rent it for $79 per night.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I arrived at the Ocean View on a Tuesday evening without a reservation and was treated very well at the front desk. The second floor ocean view room with a fireplace and spa tub was lovely and restful. It was delightful to sleep with the balcony door open and see and hear the ocean. Other reviewers have commented on the "datedness" of the decor, but the decor was minimal, with the ocean foremost. Yes, the dark burgundy carpet is a little odd, but the room was immaculate. The staff were friendly and helpful and provided great local information. The spa room was definitely worth the money. I hated to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino Co
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Nice people. Unparalleled views. Immaculate well appointed and utterly private rooms. The total package for an entirely relaxing getaway. And the front desk people welcome you like you are coming home!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendocinoCoLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay. The decor was outdated but it was clean and the view was gorgeous. It was wonderful to hear nothing but the waves crashing. It was very relaxing and the short walk to the beach was nice. The staff was friendly. My only complaint would be the lack of a microwave.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Savina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
612 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
331 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Property: Ocean View Lodge
Address: 1141 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ocean View Lodge offers free continental breakfast each morning for our guest's. We also have Tesla EV Charging stations onsite. Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. The well appointed guestrooms feature Free Wifi, refrigerators, coffee makers and upgraded bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing