We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Great Location”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights over Easter at this property and liked it very much. The rooms were large, very clean, very well appointed. The beds were very comfortable.The staff is amazing, always willing to help with any question. Our rooms were in excellent condition. The location is very convenient for the many Redwood forests in this area. It is a few minutes from Rt. 101. The breakfast room is a little small. We ate on TV trays in the lobby one morning. They had a nice selection of breads, bagels; also, hot dishes like waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon. There was also fresh fruit and fruit salad, cereal, juice and good coffee.The internet was very good. They have a pool and hot tub, and the grounds are well cared for. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumzie1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    177
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
244
247
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It is an incredible value for your money, near the Humboldt Redwoods National Park, a 30 minute drive. Got Pools for kids, Got Jacuzzi, Breakfast included, very nicely appointed rooms and the hotel overall. BUT... Some rooms are smoking rooms... What a letdown to an otherwise Perfect Place. Our family with small children enjoyed to the last minute of sunlight, the natural wonder of the redwoods forest, obviously we arrived to a late check-in ; and the non smoking rooms were all taken. Anytime a Hospitality based service forces people into being poisoned by smoke residues which cause cancer to their customers, should rethink their priorities... To be fair to the smokers, there is plenty of space for them to do so outside of their rooms, i dont mint it; but it is a totally different scenario to live and breathe their deathly chemical by-products, specially when children are present.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the BW Country Inn while visiting the National Redwood Forest and Humboldt Redwood State Park. It was sparkling clean! Even the remote control was cleaned and in a sleeve. They go above and beyond at this hotel and I will be staying here again for future visits to the Redwood Forest. The breakfast was fabulous and one of the best "free" breakfasts we have ever had. The scrambled eggs with cheese and ham tasted like mine. They had waffles, bacon, and many other options (the bacon was not thick but tasted good). There were homemade cookies and adorable Easter treats for our kids that were out anytime we visited the lobby. The pool/hot tub area was fun, with half of the pool indoor, and half outdoor. I noticed in the morning they were draining the hot tub and refilling it. I'm not sure how often they do that, but it impressed me that this hotel has such a high standard of excellence on cleanliness and maintenance. Our room looked like everything was newly painted and very well kept. The lobby was very pretty and the staff so happy and welcoming. We asked for a roll away bed and they brought it to us immediately. My son was pleased to find a memory foam pad on the roll away bed for comfort. A first for him! The service and attention to detail is outstanding at the Best Western Country Inn. I won't stay anywhere else when I am in this area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfRiderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenia, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The first thing I noticed was the freshly painted parking lines and the upkeep! It looks like a piece of property that is love as it is so well taken care of. The rooms are updated and very clean. Bed was wonderful with a fluffy down comforter. I definitely recommend this one!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrow_Five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived without a reservation. The front desk accommodated us with a friendly and positive attitude. Our dog "Cowboy" was greeted and welcomed without a problem. The double queen room was spacious and comfortable. The room was probably the cleanest, freshest hotel room I've been in, in a very long time. All the little things were there. Plenty of fresh, fluffy pillows. Awesome coffee maker(single cup) and tea in room, with complimentary mini oreos. Convenient outlets bedside for gadgets. Great wifi and TV. Indoor pool and jacuzzi. Convenient grassy area for dog duty. Complimentary continental breakfast. Quiet, super clean and affordable. If you're driving up to see the Redwoods and need a place to stay, I highly recommend the Best Western in Fortuna, CA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitram4id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio del Mar, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've spent a lot of time at hotels due to our daughter playing travel softball & now D1 college softball. Taking our time driving back from Oregon, this was a nice place to stop.Quaint location, right by the Eel River. This has been one of the best hotels we have stayed at. They actually care about the property, they were restriping the parking lot & a man was wiping down the benches in the morning, someone working on the plants. Lobby decorated for Easter, cookies & candy for guests. Nicely landscaped, bird feeders by the breakfast area, very cute. The little extras-makeup removal sheets, nice like of toiletry items, a pack of mini oreo cookies,coffee maker, fridge, microwave in the room. In the lobby- several coffee thermos with different kinds of coffee, almost every flavor of coffee creamers, whoohoo! Breakfast very good, in fact they had to put a keyreader lock on the door as guests of other hotels would sneak over, take a tray & go back to their hotels (the other hotels have breakfasts also) nearby.Everyone working here greeted us warmly even though they're working on a holiday. This is the first hotel that I've stayed at where the fridge works without taking 6 hrs to get to the right temperature. Maybe all hotels should buy Black & Decker mini fridges. 1st time everything in a hotel room worked without fail-amazing! I've stayed at 4-5 star hotels where there was something not working- lights, fridge, bad beds, noisy rooms (thin walls). It was so quiet...last 2 hotels we stayed-floors squeaked, neighbors could be heard. One of them was one of the major 3 chain hotels. We have stayed at swanky resorts & the employees just seem to go through the motions ie., slap on a happy face, kind of like Disneyland. The employees here are real & seem that they do care about their guests & it shows.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Consistently wonderful experience. Excellent value. Super clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly. Wonderful full breakfast. Professional, friendly staff. Highly recommend this hotel, even if it is a bit out of your way off the freeway. This is our home away from home when we visit family in the area. This property will not disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
203 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
15.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.1 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Country Inn

Property: Best Western Country Inn
Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing