We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mountain View
1 review
“Weekend Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

It was great. The front desk staff was really nice and helpful. The breakfast was ok, but there was a variety of options. The pool was located under our room and you could hear the noises from the people at the pool. Not horrible, but noticeable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for choosing The Redwood. Our staff really makes a difference here and is willing, happy and able to asset the guests. We are glad you had many options at breakfast and we are currently in the process of modifying and evaluating our breakfast offerings. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    164
    81
    38
    27
See reviews for
158
167
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The photography on the website and reviews were great! they must have paid an awesome photographer. The room was ok, average for a motel 6. The breakfast was better at the restaurant across town. The people were friendly, so that is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for recognizing the great work of the local photographer we hired to take pictures of The Redwood rooms and lobby. When we decided to work with him, we knew it was very important for him to photograph the rooms and hotel as they are actually represented... and he achieved that. The photos are not staged or photoshopped. Also thanks for commenting on our friendly staff, they make all the difference here with their great service. We serve a free, full ,hot breakfast for all our guests and include over 12 items in our offering. We always want to provide our guests with a great way to start their day and we take all comments seriously. We would greatly appreciate knowing your concerns about the breakfast. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

"Executive Suite" is poorly laid out (they are too cheap to run new cable so that the TV can be seen from bed), and the couch had no reading lamp.

The room was also noisy -- all conversations from lobby come right through.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Very sorry you were not happy with your room at The Redwood. We have completed many upgrades to the property in the past 12 months and are currently turning our focus to all the rooms. Oversight might be a better word than cheap... this is the first time I have heard this complaint and have already discussed with the maintenance staff to make the tv more accessible. We are more than happy to run a new cable for the tv. We are also working to upgrade the lighting. At The Redwood we value the feedback and are always striving to improve. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked this hotel via a Groupon deal which was excellent value for money.
This hotel is NOT within walking distance of Fortuna however, it has The Eel River Brewery two doors down which we ate in which was excellent we went there on a Tuesday evening when they give out baskets of monkey nuts for you to eat and leave the shells on the floor to aid polishing the floor!! There is also a child friendly restaurant within walking distance.
Back to the hotel on arrival the receptionist presented us with a real mini Redwood tree which was a lovely touch.
We had a swim in the indoor pool which was a little chilly!!
The hotel was spotless and breakfast was adequate.

All in all and excellent value for money stay in a very convenient location would definitely recommend and revisit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOWEREXPLORERS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Glad you came to The Redwood and got to experience the redwoods. We have great neighbors! We will make sure to keep an eye on the pool temperature. Remember when you plant your tree leave some space around it... it will be huge in a 100 years! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Field
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Rooms were fine just be aware it's pet friendly. So in the morning we were covered with fleas. Talked to manager she said they spray all rooms and I must be mistaken I told her to just walk thru the room with no so is and see for yourself I won't stay here again and take chance



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Yes we do allow pets. We have a pet policy that all guests must adhere to while at The Redwood. Upon departure the front desk notifies the housekeeping staff of a pet that has checked out. We use a special product in that room as part of the cleaning process. As has been noted many times, we take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and I am very sorry of this situation. Yes we do clean the rooms specifically to address pets, but that was not the answer you should have been given from the front desk attendant. We are re-communicating with all staff the importance of the cleaning process for pets. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was a great location. We went to see the Avenue of the Giants but thanks to the suggestions at the Fortuna we also visited the Loleta Cheese Factory, beautiful Ferndale and a few breweries. We had a great time. They are well equipped for dogs and the indoor pool is gorgeous and warm!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathelen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We think The Redwood is in a great location to see and do all that Humboldt County has to offer. Our staff all have their favorite places and are happy to share them with you, our guests. Glad you were able to travel with your family friend and enjoy our indoor pool. Enjoy your cheese! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were traveling from San Francisco up to the Redwoods and this was a perfect stop for us. The hotel had received good reviews, was very clean and located close to food and shopping. Beds were comfortable.
Staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for reading our reviews and choosing to stay at The Redwood. Since going independent we have been focused on ensuring that the guest has a great experience. So happy you did. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
4.5 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Fortuna
Super 8 Fortuna
#3 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Property: The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540-8535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. . In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing