We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice oversized rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice oversized rooms”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was a great value and a comfortable room for a group of us road-weary travelers. With a family of 5, large rooms are always welcome, and there was plenty of room for all of us. Another nice touch was the toiletries available in the shower and sink; not the cheap throwaways most other hotels offer, but good quality products that were attached to the shower and the sink to reduce waste and provide the best possible products. Breakfast wasn't the best, but it was just fine for us.

Green Features: Between the wood pencil instead of the pen on the desk, and the refillable toiletries in the bathrooms instead of the throwaways, this hotel is doing a great job in environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Yeah! You enjoyed the dispensers at The Redwood. As for the complimentary breakfast, we are continuing to offer over 14 choices and adding or removing items so that we can offer our guests a great way to start the day. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    171
    84
    38
    27
See reviews for
163
174
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Large rooms, very clean and super nice helpful staff. You can see and feel that the owners/staff are very passionate about this hotel and keep it up nicely. Free breakfast and WiFi. Only stayed one night, passing through but would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momknowsbest4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
We would love to have you back at The Redwood. Glad you recognized our passion for the business. It is a 24/7 business and we are always trying to make the right decisions. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

...we loved our room, but unfortunately, we were above the lobby and there were people talking ALL night. This put a damper on what could have been a wonderful stay. The location was OK, nothing great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you for pointing out the noise issue. We have Quiet Hours at the hotel, as well as making sure there is no tv or music in the lobby after 10 pm. We will continue to monitor this so that it is not a distraction to our guests. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff are all awesome people. Friendly, accommodating and always with a smile.
The perk for our Anniversary on Friday made our stay that much more special.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed on our way down to the Ave. of the Giants. After a 9 hr drive, it was the perfect location to get off the road and relax before heading south the next morning. It's close to local shopping, we enjoyed a Round Table pizza on our anniversary. I'm not complaining.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
So happy you chose The Redwood for your special occasion. FYI - its your anniversary so you can eat wherever and whatever you like! Hope to have you back soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenino, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Overall this was a nice hotel the staff was friendly and the room clean. The problem is with the surrounding area. There are bums everywhere. When you walk the river walk, bums. When you drive into town, bums. We constantly had people walking through the parking lot and around customers cars. This was once a nice area designed for tourists, it has really gone down hill. Nice hotel but the area is sketchy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Location was not great but room very pleasant double queen Executive King overpriced. Service very friendly and very helpful. Really great on food needs
We being Lacto vegetarian. Very Helpful staff. Tried to please very much and succeeded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent one night after a day of exploring the wonderful redwoods. We were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk who informed us we had been upgraded to the King Suite with a jacuzzi since there were plumbing issues with our assigned room.
The room itself was quite large and a mixed bag. The bed was super comfortable and sheets appeared new. The furniture in the room was a little grubby and showing it's age, as was the calk/grout in the bathroom and around the jacuzzi tub. Overall the room was clean and I slept well.
Breakfast was included, nothing special but on par with what you should expect from this type of accommodation.
I think all of the motels in this area are about the same, I chose this one because it is a non smoking property which I consider a big plus. Our stay was fine, and yours will be too. Just don't heighten your expectations because they have labeled this place a "boutique property"- it's just a middle of the road independently owned motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabondgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thanks for staying at The Redwood. We are indeed an independent property and very happy with that choice. We are not "boutique" just independent and attempting to give the property a local feel. We will continue to move forward with upgrades and improvements. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Fortuna
Super 8 Fortuna
#3 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Humboldt Redwood Inn
#5 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Property: The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540-8535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. . In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing