We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location for event” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location for event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed here on our trip to the Maker Faire at the San Mateo event center. Even though we arrived quite late, our room was setup (with an extra pull out couch) and we got extra blankets immediately when requested.

We also ate the breakfast twice, pretty good selection and hotel price ($16 for buffet) but we didn't have to leave early to get breakfast before taking the shuttle to the Faire. Also free hourly shuttle to the airport was a good savings.

Finally, we can recommend the onsite Japanese restaurant, good food, decent prices in an area surrounded by corporate chains, this was an independent restaurant, easy to get to after a long day walking around.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank S_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    144
    97
    40
    33
See reviews for
69
50
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hsinchu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

A standard Crowne Plaza room, with what you can expect.
Room is comfortable, with LCD TV, nice enviorment.
There is nothing nearby unless some shopping area by driving.
Free shuttle to San jose airport.
Staff is friendly, agreed for extend check-out to 2pm for us.
And most of all, the value is worth for 100USD less per night.
Surely I will stay again next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Thank you for writing a review about your stay. I just want to clarify that our free airport shuttle services the San Francisco Airport (not San Jose). We are glad you had a pleasant stay.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in Feb 2011. Overall it was pretty good – nothing spectacular, but a nice place to return to at the end of the work day. The free wi fi throughout the hotel was definitely a bonus for me - couldn't have lived without it!

A couple of observations/tips to share:

1. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bar downstairs can get pretty noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. The music continued until at least midnight on both nights. This didn’t bother me that much, but if you’re a light sleeper it will be an issue.

2. If you’re in the main building, ask for a room with an outside window. Amazingly enough, probably about a third of the rooms face into the building – meaning that they get almost no natural light. Also, in these rooms if you don’t keep your curtains closed all the time, people will be able to see right into your room from the elevators and the walkways.

3. Make use of the free shuttle buses – if you ask nicely and especially if you’re in a group they’ll take you to places other than just the airport or the mall. We had them drop us off and pick us up from restaurants and also from our office when it was raining one day. They are pretty flexible about this, which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewoosie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

I have stayed here multiple times on buisness. It is a great location, although the restaurant selection around the hotel is limited. The main restuarnt in the hotel has a great healthy option breakfast and the sports bar is very lively during televised sporting events, and has great pizza. And there is an additonal lounge which is good for having an evening drink with colleagues and it is quiet enough to talk shop. The workout facilities are better than average, for a hotel.
The rooms are very clean. My only complaint is that the internet connection is not wireless which can be a pain.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I would like to add that our hotel features both, wired and wireless internet connection, in our guest rooms.
Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Foster City Crowne Plaza for the first leg of our anniversary getaway. The rooms are nice, we have stayed here before, and i prefer the executive wing rooms with a computer on the desk to the room that we were given for this stay, but all of the rooms we have had sre first rate. The ambience of the hotel is outstanding, as has been described in many reviews, and the desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet that we were given as a platinum member perk was probably the best that I have had at any Crowne Plaza. The location of the hotel is very good for almost any bay area destination, and is reasonably close to a Bart station, which we took advantage of to go to downtown SF for the lighting of the MACY's Christmas tree. We will be coming back for a few days after Christmas and are looking forward to our visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanfordfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We sincerely appreciate you staying with us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

I really like his hoel, hey have nice rooms, a cool spors bar, decent resaurants, nice saff, free inernet in execuive rooms, free parking, even though its neat the freeway its relatively quiet.
My only grumble with the hotel was its charges for telephones.

On a few occasions i have tried calling the UK from here, even when the call is not answered i was charged $13.5 dollars for 1 minute ( i dodnt even get connected to answer machine !!!) This is silly money.
The internet connection here sucks, its slow even when the hotel is empty, but it was free.

The hotel can be VERY expensive during the week, but they seem to have very good rates at the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukpyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay experience. Thank you and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

Friends had a block of rooms set aside for their wedding so we decided to book one of the rooms and stay here. We were'nt expecting much but the hotel blew those expectations out of the water. Clean, friendly, modern. The rock waterfall in the lobby, seen and heard by all who are dining and entering the hotel gave it added ambience. All Pro's no Con's with this hotel. If i ever need a hotel in this area i will be staying here!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahulm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay. We sincerely appreciate you staying with us. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Property: Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Address: 1221 Chess Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City is centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco, San Jose, and the East Bay. Our property is just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport and 22 miles from downtown San Francisco. Our unique building design has a beautiful atrium lobby filled with koi ponds, waterfalls, and palm trees that will provide a relaxing setting on your next visit. Some of our features include:* Complimentary Internet access in all guest rooms, lobby, all restaurants, and pool area* Three different varieties of restaurants, room service, and a sports bar* Complimentary SFO airport shuttle* Complimentary parking* Complimentary shuttle leaving at 10:30am daily to The Hillsdale Shopping Mall* Conveniently located next to The BridgePointe Shopping center* 24 hour business center with complimentary use of three computers and a printer* Relax in our indoor heated pool jacuzzi* Use of Fitness center* Executive Club Level rooms include Dell XP desktop computers with DVD drive, flat screen monitors and Continental Breakfast, Monday-Friday.* 16,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, IHG, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing