We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
austin, tx
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Foster City for 3 nights. When I checked in the representative confirmed my king non-smoking room. When I arrived at my room it was not a king. I called down to the front desk and they sent up a new key for a king room on a different floor. The room was comfortable and clean equipped with a hair dryer, CD player alarm clock and refrigerator. It took forever to get to and from our room since there was only one functioning elevator. The other elevator was marked out of service the entire stay. We had breakfast at the hotel the first morning but thought it was overpriced for what we got and decided to go out for breakfast the other 2 mornings. Parking is free and the hotel is close to some shopping and chain restaurants. I have stayed at the Baylanding before and would probably pick it over the Crowne Plaza if I had the choice because it offers free breakfast, has a microwave in the room and is closer to the San Francisco airport.

  • Disliked — elevator out of order
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platinum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    145
    98
    41
    34
See reviews for
70
51
36
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during this year's Memorial Day weekend. We had decided at the Crowne Plaza at SFO (San Francisco Airport) but they charge $16/night for parking alone so we decided to go a little more South to this great hotel which has free covered (on the 1st floor) parking. The hotel is very big, clean, nice, and above average. There is a large atrium in the hotel with huge gold fish and a small waterfall (great for pictures or to let the kids interact with the fish). The staff was not overly nice like in other reviews and the check-in clerk was not very helpful nor did he go out of his way to find an answer that I was looking for. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel so you have options to eat in if you would like. There is the main hotel restaurant, a huge restaurant/sports bar that is very popular we found out in Foster City on Sat. nights, and a japanese restaurant with very reasonable pricing (for sushi). Our room was very nice. Had a view of the street so no big deal there. We had a sofa bed which made it nice for our 4yr old daughter and a small fridge for snacks and drinks. The rooms were very clean and though Sat. night was a busy night for the restaurant/club, there was no noise from the lobby but not sure that other people that were closer to the lobby may have felt that way as the music was loud when we went thru the lobby and up to our room. The walls of the rooms are thin indeed as described in other reviews. We heard some people stumble into their rooms but hey, been there done that so I can't and won't complain. The drive into San Francisco is not bad at all. Save the money and stay here rather than closer to the city with probably less nicer accomodations. Overall this was a great hotel and I definitely recommend it to anyone as we really enjoyed our stay !

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Room view
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank txact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting San Francisco. It was part of a package we found on a travel website that included air and hotel. The package was a cheaper one to San Francisco because this hotel is about a 30 minute drive into San Francisco. This didn't bother us. The hotel was in a quiet area, our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The drive into San Francisco was not bad and was worth it for the money we saved. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during a friend's wedding. The majority of the guests were staying here, which made it a great place to meet up. The hotel also provided a shuttle to and from the rehersal dinner, which was wonderful.
We stayed in a large room with one king size bed. The room and the bathroom were both large. The shower is an average hotel shower. Everything seemed newer and remodeled. The bedding was wonderful. There is a bit of "white" traffic noise, but it's not hard to tune out. The windows are big and let in lots of natural light into the room.
This hotel seems to cater to business travelers, as it was very quiet around our room for both days, hardly anyone on our hall, and no one above or to the side of us.
Another guest had a "suite" room in the main part of the hotel, and it was great for entertaining with an additional "living room" area and a large patio/deck
The site is also conveniently located right near the highway exit, which made it easy to get in and out of the area.
I would recommend this to anyone having a wedding in the area, and for anyone looking for accommodations in the area.

  • Liked — the decor and comfort
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank coloradogirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento,ca.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

This hotel was an excellent choice. I would stay there again and again. We were on a family vacation and it was great. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are big and comfortable and the inside pool was great for the kids. Overall, a great experience, whether you are on a family vacation , business or pleasure. I would recommend this hotel. hands up!

  • Liked — the hotel was beautiful and the staff great, not to mention th price
  • Disliked — the pool was a little loud .
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

Stayed one night and it was great. Good size room, FREE wireless internet in the room. The bed was super comfy and the service was great. Bathrooms and hallways were a little tired and old, but if you know what you are getting into, its not a problem. Free parking also and just 10 minutes by car to SFO, w/o traffic!!! Would recommned this place as an alternative to those pricey, dumpy hotels closer to SFO. I pricelined this hotel so I got a great deal for it, but probably would never pay the rack rates of around 200 bucks for this place. Its not that good for the price.

  • Liked — Comfy beds, location to SFO.
  • Disliked — Tired bathrooms and hallways.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We stayed here one night before an early flight from SFO and paid a rate of $209. The front desk put us in the "quiet" building - no groups, no children. I wish every hotel had this option! The room was very clean, large, had a luxurious bed with reading lamps, computer terminal (yes!) with internet access, nice bathroom, and lots of little toiletries - a bag with an eye mask and aromatherapy sheet spray, ear plugs, etc.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank projecth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Property: Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Address: 1221 Chess Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo is the leading event destination with16,000 square feet of meeting space on the San Francisco Peninsula. Designed with a sky-lit atrium and innovative services for business and vacation, our Foster City hotel features contemporary-styled rooms and suites with luxury bedding, refrigerators, 37'' HDTVs and our Sleep Advantage Program. Enjoy lifestyle conveniences like our business center, complimentary Wi-Fi, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and free shuttle to SFO. Savor California and Asian cuisine at our relaxing restaurants, including Café Florian and Toyko Village, and enjoy cocktails and nightlife at Clubhouse Bistro and the Chit Chat Lounge. Just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport, we are minutes of Silicon Valley businesses and Bay Area attractions, golf courses, shopping centers and scenic coastal trails. We're less than 30 minutes from San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Union Square and AT& T Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing