We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family party accommodated-mixed reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Hollister, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family party accommodated-mixed reviews”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were a very large family reunion/ wedding anniversary party and rented a ballroom and hotel rooms. We had people from 80 to 5 years old. We liked the catering. We thought the soundproofing in the ballrooms was excellent-we could not hear the large Tongan wedding reception in the adjoining rooms through the wall.
The airport shuttle baggage ticket MUST BE GIVEN TO THE DRIVER AS YOU ENTER THE SHUTTLE OR HE WILL NOT TAKE YOUR BAG EVEN WHEN STACKED WITH OTHER BAGS!
The soundproofing in the bedrooms was worse. People could hear construction noise from the lobby on the third floor from 7am to 6 pm on weekdays, phone conversations from the next room etc.
People loved the heated indoor pool and the restaurant buffet was good. I didn't try the gym. No decaf in the room on the second day. My sister's coffee maker didn't work, so we combined her decaf and my coffee maker and had coffee.

Room Tip: Maybe the higher you go, the less noise. Paid wifi is available and may be better than free wifi (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Renee002,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. We are pleased to know you had a successful event at our property. We do apologize, however, for the inconvenience the noise in the guestrooms caused during your stay, please do accept our apologies. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is our hope you will visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    146
    98
    41
    34
See reviews for
70
51
36
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Horrible. Club music until 2 am can be heard all the way up yo our 4th floor room, Really? What a horrible hotel. Not what a Crowne Plaza should be. Move on if you want a pleasant nights rest. Why would a hotel like this sacrifice guests for local club goers? No class.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Paul C.,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Foster City. We do apologize that the noise from the Clubhouse Bistro nightclub was a disturbance during your stay. Although the nightclub is very popular on Friday and Saturday nights, we do understand that it can be an inconvenience. Your comments will certainly be passed onto management for further evaluation. Thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Foster City hotels

Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was a disappointing trip to what should have been a 4 star destination.

The location is a great central peninsula location with easy freeway access, comfortable beds, is updated and clean.. The GOOD stops right there.

On 8/7/14 the hotel lobby and pool area were being remodeled. There is NO lobby bar or breakfast area. Upon check in I was told "If you would like a drink, get into the (only open bar) before 9:00 as after that it turns into a night club and, there is a dress code".. I guess, though I can afford to buy everyone IN the "nightclub" a drink, because I have been traveling all day, am dressed in very casual clothes and not wearing my Rolex, I might not be able to get in..

About the nighclub... I was on the FOURTH floor and I could CLEARLY hear POUNDING music in my room even at 12:30AM... It is unimaginable to me that a hotel of this caliber would put selling drinks in a night club over guest comfort with room rates in the $200 per night range.

All hotel staff were pre-occupied, though the house-keepers were friendly in the morning.. The front desk clerk had to call a supervisor to help process a "cash payment" when I asked for the simple task of paying in cash upon check-out.. Something I ALWAYS do, that is always VERY easily accommodated by a professionally run property.

I would never stay at this hotel again, and I would never recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Get as FAR away from the nightclub as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Secoon,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Because of lobby renovations, our restaurant area with Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner have been temporarily located in the Clubhouse Bistro. In the lobby, there is also complimentary continental breakfast for the inconvenience renovations have caused. Please be assured your feedback will certainly be passed onto management for further review. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 10 days at this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is a short 15 minute drive from San Francisco international airport. The Hotel room was modern, large and had a very comfortable bed. The Hotel lobby is currently being renovated, it should look really good when completed. The gym has all the basics required to have a good workout. Breakfast in the bar had plenty of choices of fruit, cereals, breads, hot foods, omelettes etc. The hotel is a 5 min walk from a large Target, Starbucks, Ulta, sports shop, Bj's & Red Robin restaurants. My only complaint about the hotel is about the unreliable Wifi access. This was very annoying but overall I had a very comfortable stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peatlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Peatlands,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza and for choosing our property for your 10 day stay! We hope that all our guests leave with a positive experience, so we are pleased to hear you had a comfortable trip. Lobby renovations will be completed in the fall, so please do visit us again soon to see the final product! Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is yet another example of how "full service" hotels are often inferior to new budget hotels (Hampton Inn, Fairfield, etc.). The building is old and drab, with one of those glassed-in central courtyards with potted trees that must have been popular back in the 1960s. There is a renovation going on, but it didn't interfere with my stay at all. The rooms are fine, including the bed and the temperature control. The bathroom is cramped (I had to duck slightly to take a shower, and I'm a bit below average height). From my room there was constant freeway noise, but it was muffled enough that I could sleep fine. The bar is unremarkable and devoid of class. The wifi advertises a top speed of 1.5 MB (that's if you pay), but it was spotty on one evening (OK on the other).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear shirleyotis,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be taking appropriate measures to solve the issues you have mentioned in your review.If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please feel free to contact us directly. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel was in the middle of a renovation in the Lobby area.
The rooms were clean, quiet, and the staff was helpful.
The hotel rooms are dated and in need of remodeling.

Purchased breakfast at the hotel and was not impressed with the service.
Waited 30 minutes for a waffle, bacon, and hot tea with only one other customer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Gayle C.,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your comments are highly valuable as we continue to strive to improve on all our services. All our guest rooms are completely renovated and the lobby renovations will be completed this fall. We apologize that you felt you received poor service at our restaurant, please be assured your comments will be passed onto management for further review. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Foster City and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am very pleased to share with you that this hotel offers one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in my life around the world. I travel very often on business and also on vacation with family. I always stay in hotels 3 stars and above. This hotel cleanliness and hospitality surpassed my expectations. It is not just about money, it is about principles. You deserve a clean, fresh room to rest the night. Please do not stay in a hotel if you are paying for services you do not have. If you are not happy, please contact this site advisory to share your experience. You will be helping others to chose the right hotel. So, believe me, this hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same equipped and has the same nice great furnishing. Rooms are very clean, fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina0234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Property: Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Address: 1221 Chess Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo is the leading event destination with16,000 square feet of meeting space on the San Francisco Peninsula. Designed with a sky-lit atrium and innovative services for business and vacation, our Foster City hotel features contemporary-styled rooms and suites with luxury bedding, refrigerators, 37'' HDTVs and our Sleep Advantage Program. Enjoy lifestyle conveniences like our business center, complimentary Wi-Fi, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and free shuttle to SFO. Savor California and Asian cuisine at our relaxing restaurants, including Café Florian and Toyko Village, and enjoy cocktails and nightlife at Clubhouse Bistro and the Chit Chat Lounge. Just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport, we are minutes of Silicon Valley businesses and Bay Area attractions, golf courses, shopping centers and scenic coastal trails. We're less than 30 minutes from San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Union Square and AT& T Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing