We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've stayed here several times on business and also brought my family. Every time we've stayed here has been a great trip. It's a reasonable cab ride from SFO, and it's within walking distance of all of my clients. There are a eating places within easy walking distance if you don't want to eat at the bistro every meal, and you can also take a shuttle to a nearby shopping center with plenty of stores and other restaurants.

The rooms have always been good - typical California Courtyard décor, comfortable beds, etc.

The staff is outstanding - everyone I met working at the front desk was helpful in terms of restaurant recommendations (from family restaurants to business dinner restaurants), and the shuttle is always timely.

Room Tip: I always prefer rooms that look into the courtyard - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I will be sharing your gracious comments with our Leadership Team and staff. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location worked out well for you and your family. We strive to meet our guests' expectations and we are always ecstatic when we receive feedback such as yours.
Thank you very much.
Sincerely,
Yakub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    102
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
63
33
11
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice and close to where I need to be for work not a huge much around without a car. The Bistro will feed you, with their choices, staff very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again due to proximity of work.

Room Tip: All relatively quiet which is nice
See more room tips
Green Features: Good environmental policies regarding towels sheets etc
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear degarr:
Thank you for your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and use it to improve our hotel.
The City of Foster City is working deligently to expand the city and attract more shops, restaurants and other venues. The BridgePoint shopping center which is within walking distance of our hotel offers wide selection of dinning and shopping.
Once again, thank you for your time and looking forward to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 with my wife and children. Had stayed here for work in the past. Hotel is well located near San Mateo, SFO, and San Mateo bridge. It is in a nice, quiet, business park area of town. Grounds well maintained, a nice "courtyard" inside indeed. The lobby was renovated with the new Courtyard look and services (e.g. small restaurant) a couple of years back. The rooms are spacious, with 2 queen beds but the decor is just OK. We were on first floor and could definitely hear children running, jumping in room above us so might be best to get a top floor room. My kids really liked the pool area as well as hanging out in common areas by the lobby and in the courtyard. Good value with Marriott points, only a level 4 (20K points per night) if I recall correctly. I would return if I am visiting that area again. One recommendation for Courtyard - bring back the free coffee in the lobby!

Room Tip: Top floor might be best, had some noise with people banging room floor on the floor above us
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not notice any practices, other than you can tell them you want to re use your towels
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear ChicagoTraveler80:
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience on TripAdvisor. Your feedback helps us to improve our product and services. I am very happy to hear that you had a great family vacation and took advantage of our pool, Bistro and other outlets that are designed with your needs in mind.
Once again, thank you and looking forward to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel when leaving for and returning from a trip to Puerto Vallarta. Rooms are very quiet and we like the bistro/bar for a light dinner or breakfast without having to search for nearby restaurants. The only downside is that you (or your taxi) have to drive on Bayshore Highway to and from the airport, which can be problematic during weekday commute hours. Other than that, it's a great stay.

Room Tip: No problem with aircraft noise from SFO, but ask for a room away from the boulevard near the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambriariter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Cambriariter,
Your response has been received and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write. I hope that you had a great trip to Puerto Vallarta and back. Bay Area traffic is always a challenge, mainly during peak hours. The taxi drivers should take advantage of carpool lanes with two or more passengers in the car.
Once again, thank you for your patronage and wishing a great summer of 2014.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I travel to the area once a month. Recently this property was sold out so I stayed at the Marriott in San Mateo - you can read my review of that hotel. What I learned was that this Courtyard is an incredible value. The location is so convenient, off and on the highway. There is a CVS within walking distance and a nice walking/jogging area around a small park. Free parking and free wireless make this a great value. The rooms are of a decent size and clean. Because I travel here so often, I feel like the staff even know me and are so friendly, even when I arrive at midnight! I will make sure I secure my rooms in advance so I never get blocked out of this hotel again!

Room Tip: I like the first floor interior because I like to sleep with the windows open, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TereFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear TereFan:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the kind words about our staff, which I will pass on to our team. Our team strives to provide excellent service every time with every guest. We are in process of upgrading our bandwidth even more to provide even better coverage; the process should be finished by the end of April which doubles the bandwidth in our lobby, guest rooms and meeting rooms.
Once again, thank you for your response and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Cannot quite figure where Courtyard is positioned. Have been in some that are quite fancy, others quite bare-bones. This is a comfortable hotel, with good location near Foster City and San Mateo. Short drive to SFO. Good sized fitness center, very helpful front desk personnel. I don't get the lobby bar - bistro idea. Not sure if this is in response to horrible ALOFT hotel concept, but seems a little like that. Lobby area is bright and cheerful. Close to many restaurants and shopping. Starbucks across the street. One strange element, elevators are placed in the back of the hotel, far from lobby. Have to walk half way around hotel interior to get to elevator.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnjtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Jnjtiger:
I sincerely appreciate your survey on TripAdvisor and thank you for a positive feedback. As you mentioned, our hotel has a good location with short distance to the airport, Peninsula and the city of San Francisco as well. Our Bistro concept was created back in 2007 and this hotel was one of the first in the Bay Area to transition. The idea behind this was for our valued guests to relax, grab a healthy breakfast or dinner and have the option to use the lobby to watch either their favorite TV programs or connect with their work, friends and family by using our complementary wireless internet.
Once again, our team appreciates your feedback and look forward to take care of your hotel needs in the future.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here recently with a large group. The staff was WONDERFUL and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a great one. Beautiful lobby (bistro and business center) and comfortable updated rooms. Courtyard with fire pit and indoor pool were enjoyed by many in our group. Fitness room was very nice too (2 treadmills, 2 bikes, 2 ellipticals and weights). Lots of food options just across parking lot (Jamba Juice, Starbucks, Noah's Bagels & World Burrito) - Costco also a block away. Area is beautiful with many parks and waterways. Good central location for bay area travel. We plan on returning again next year!

Room Tip: I had a 2 room suite on the second floor. VERY nice room with balcony that overlooked the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otis43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear otis43:
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to learn that you had a great stay and I will pass this on to our team who will be very appreciative of your kind words and experience. Our team strives to provide exceptional service and product that is very clean and well kept.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
3.1 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.6 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Mateo Foster City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Mateo Foster City

Property: Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Address: 550 Shell Blvd, Foster City, CA 94404-1634 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area)
Region: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Mateo Foster City 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Mateo Foster City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Foster City
Courtyard Foster City
Foster City Courtyard
Foster City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing