We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new lobby, room was a little dated, but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ok, so they remodeled the lobby and it was worth it, saw a lot of people hanging out there. Checking in was painless and the staff was friendly. I was using a Marriott e-certifacte so the room was free and perhaps I paid a price for that. Was give a room directly across from the elevator. Room was small, in fact I almost broke my toe in the middle of the night, walking back from the bathroom. The couch left on 12 inches or so between the bed to walk by and get into. Paint peeling in the ceiling of the shower. Also, I've notice in my last few stays at a Marriott, my Silver Elite "Priority" late checkout has only gotten me an extra hour, which I imagine anybody can get if they ask. All that said, not much better in Fountain Valley.

Room Tip: Avoid room 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eaar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. I apologize regarding the condition of the ceiling in your bathroom. I will share your experience with our maintenance team so that we can address the issue right away. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I paid $173 for a solo traveller.

The hotel is clean, modern(ish), staff are friendly , and there is WiFi. In general it is a decent place,but for a room costing that much the least I expect is for breakfast to be included in the price. What kind of hotel these days doesn't do this? It's so standard across the world.

There IS a bistro in the lobby where you can get something to eat, so the least the hotel can do is provide some kind of voucher to their guests. The bistro is over priced too, by the way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polecat070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at my hotel. I am glad that the room was clean and comfortable. The Courtyard brand has never offered complimentary breakfast as part of the room price. However, there are many options under the Marriott umbrella that do include breakfast in the rate, i.e. Residence Inn, TownPlace Suites and SpringHill Suites. Hopefully, this will help with future hotel choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent two nights here while at the Surf City Marathon. The hotel was very nice. Great pool and hot tub. The employees were friendly and had already arranged for us to have late check out and a taxi for me to get to the race start. The room was nice and comfortable. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you such positive comments about your recent stay. I am glad the hotel met your needs while in Huntington Beach. The Marathon has grown significantly over the past few years so we are constantly learning how we can take care of the runner best. Late check-out and transportation seem to be key, so I am glad this worked out for you. Maybe we will see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Pros - nice staff, clean environment, amenities are good, beds are comfortable, the staff allowed me to park and leave my business's trailer while I was away.

Cons- no free breakfast, although the hotel was non smoking the smell of cigarette smoke permeated the 2nd and 3rd floor halls. The lobby snack bar thing was over priced with a boring menu. Go down the street and you can find every Resturant available to suit your tastes. Like most hotels the TV had limited channels. Bring your own Wifi I was not sure how the hotel wifi worked there were no directions that I could find.

Room Tip: My room was clean and tidy. No real issues to speak of. I had the queen with a fold out couch. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skottj925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to rate the hotel. I am glad that the room was clean and comfortable. My apologies that there was smoke smell in the hotel. Marriott has been smoke free since 2007, but there are always people that challenge that rule. We do charge $250 when evidence is found that someone has smoked in the room. We do have complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public spaces. There should have been instructions on the desk for your reference. I am sorry if this was missing. I will follow up with housekeeping to make sure this isn’t overlooked in the future. I hope you will consider us again in the future when your travel brings you to this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel while traveling on business. At first glance, it was OK. It was a little outdated, but it was fine for one night. Bed was soft and overall, the room was clean. My main issue was the faucet leaked, the hair dryer did not work (not good when you have long hair and count on hotels to have a working one in the room), and it was almost impossible to watch the tv at the angle it was from the bed. It was crazy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_MadisonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have showed this to housekeeping and maintenance so that the items you mentioned can be corrected. The TV is on a sliding tray that swivels, which I find helpful when watching from bed. I hope you will try us again the next time you travel to Orange County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked this hotel as we were going to a funeral and it was the closest with available rooms. We arrived at this hotel and our initial though was it was okay a little outdated but satisfactory. That night we pulled out the sofa sleeper to find out it was broke. We had to sleep on the floor. The blanket had something on it that made me super itchy. The floor had some chemical that made it where I couldn't breathe so I spent most of the night in a chair. I was told the bed however was quite comfortable. The property was almost sold out when I booked and the one bedroom suite was the only thing that would accommodate four of us. My mother-in-law is a smoker and was careful to make sure she smoked outside. In the morning we noticed a sign outside that said the hotel has chemicals that may cause cancer and other problems. We canceled our second night, we also had our newborn with us. We got home and saw an additional charge on our card. My husband called the hotel to find out we were charged an additional $250 because my mother in law put a cigarette butt in the trash can. There response was she should of thrown it on the ground outside. My husband talked to three people and no one even tried to compromise. So we spend $400 on a room for us to get exposed to chemicals that could cause cancer and reproductive problems. Plus break out in a rash and sleep in a chair. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my enemy.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Raerae1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel. I have spoken with the Assistant General Manager about what happened last weekend. It is my understanding that you and your party did not report to the front desk that the sofa bed was broken. We do have rollaway beds available which we could have easily brought to the room until the sofa bed could be repaired. This would have also solved the problem of sleeping on the floor. We do use cleaning solutions and several methods to keep the carpets clean. Also general wear and tear on hotel carpet is higher than at home so I would agree that sleeping on the floor is not the best alternative. Marriott has been smoke free since 2007. It is stated on all key packets that ‘We are committed to a smoke-free policy. A $250 room recovery fee will be charged for smoking in your room”. Housekeeping reported smoke in the room and it was confirmed by their supervisor. The sign you refer to on the entrances to the hotel is to comply with Prop 65. You can find this sign or similar warnings on most public buildings in California. I hope I have been helpful in clarifying some of your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

So, I stayed here last night. The guy I'm dating sadly had a pipe bust in his house and the water had to be shut off so we decided to get a hotel rom for the evening. I only chose this hotel because it was close. I WAS IMPRESSED! Emily took very good care of us, was super sweet on the phone and in person… The lobby was modern, clean, and very cutely decorated! ( not to mention there is a snack bar, cold drinks and snack wall with a cute bar!)Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable! It was an emergency reservation and it was handled beautifully . Thank you again for taking good care of us! Fabulous service, friendly staff, clean and close if you live in HB, and not far from John Wayne Airport! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are glad you were so pleased with our accommodations and we’ll make sure to acknowledge Emily’s great service at our next Employee Stand-Up meeting. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain Valley
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley/Huntington Beach
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,601 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
583 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Huntington Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Huntington ...
#16 of 21 in Huntington Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Address: 9950 Slater Avenue, Fountain Valley, CA 92708-3500
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Fountain Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Price Range: £104 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence when you stay at Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley. Designed to make you feel at home, our spacious accommodations come with free Wi-Fi, flexible work desks and comfortable bedding. Wake up rested and join us for breakfast at The Bistro, serving traditional and lighter options with Starbucks® coffee, then return later for dinner with cocktails and craft beers in a casual atmosphere. Soak up the California sun in our heated outdoor pool, or break a sweat in our fitness center equipped with cardio machines and free weights. Whether your visit is business related or you are here to spend time with family, you'll love our central location right off of I-405, offering easy access to top attractions such as Disneyland®, Huntington Beach International Surfing Museum, Bolsa Chica State Ecological and a variety of beaches in Southern California. Reserve today and experience modern accommodations with unparalleled service and an ideal location in Fountain Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel Fountain Valley
Courtyard Fountain Valley
Fountain Valley Courtyard
Fountain Valley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing