We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated property, service lacking, grounds dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Disappointed in this property. Other Residence Inns have been wonderful. Suite was ok but housekeeping slow. Left room early each day, returned by mid-afternoon to an unclean room. At check in, I asked hotel to split the bill between me and a friend. They did not do this. I checked out alone and was charged way more than my share of the bill creating an awkward situation. The grounds could be kept cleaner. Trash and dog feces were not picked up.
This is an older property. No elevator, accessed room from the outside. We were on the top floor but it was still noisy.
Only consolation was a lovely manager named Tiffany who did her best to make things right post stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear williesmom237,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel, I'm sorry that you found our grounds were not well-kept and service was slow.

We value your feedback and will use it to better our services and product. I have shared your comments with my team, and I can assure you that we do not take this lightly. I hope you will give us another chance during your next visit!

Thank you again for your feedback, and I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Residence Inn in FV is the perfect place...just like the other reviewers it is a home away from home. Rooms are spacious and updated. Pools, outdoor lounging and breakfast area all beautiful and welcoming. Free parking. Free breakfast - basic continental stuff, but acceptable. Location is situated close to everything - grocery stores, restaurants, freeway & parks. It is the perfect stay if you are visiting Huntington Beach/OC area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeyloveoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you honeyloveoc for the generous feedback! I am happy that the staff, facilities, and amenities were able to take care of you and your family.
We look forward to your next stay with us!!!

Regards,
Art Aquino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife was attending a workshop in Huntington beach and as Elite Members, we had 3 Marriott certificates to burn so our stay was free, not even taxes were charged. Location is good for access to long beach and Huntington beach if you have a car, parking is free. Good places to eat and beaches within a few miles. Public parking at the beaches in town was $1.50/hour further out was free.
Our studio Room was very spacious and clean, had a full kitchen, desk for working, large comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Nothing fancy, but would be good for work or a budget friendly place to stay and do Disney, Newport beach, long beach and the Queen Mary and just hanging out at Huntington beach which is a really cool area (beach and downtown). Free breakfast was good and filling, again not gourmet but something for everyone Would be nice if room had a small balcony. There were grills at the pool and a basketball court. Also for a fee onsite self serve laundry. They have some evening events with free food and snacks but not on the nights we were there. It is next to the highway but the noise was not noticeable at all.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask to be in one of the buildings further back and on the second floor, not sure if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear KmartRaleigh_NC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate the favorable review and allowing other visitors to read about what they can experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott.

We look forward to being of service to you again on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Art Aquino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Everything we read about this hotel was right on. Though it was our wedding anniversary weekend and we had to bring along the kids at the last minute and the hotel could not accommodate our request to upgrade to two bedroom suite, everything went smooth. Location is convenient to beaches, which we enjoyed, and grounds were clean and not crowded. The only glitch we encountered was at check-in where we were given a room whose door did not lock properly. We soonafter mentioned it to a person at the front desk, who seemed to know which room we were talking about, which made us wonder why the door hadn't been fixed and we were still given a room with an unsafe door. That said, we requested and were politely granted another room by the friendly, albeit young, front desk staff though the new room was located right above the lobby. We checked out a day early. Bottom line: For the price, room size, location, free hot breakfast and accommodations, it's a great place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheerfulTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were forced out of our digs in Huntington Beach by a flood (broken water line) from an adjacent Condo and so stayed here for two weeks while clean was underway. Breakfast foods were basic and adequate but we enjoyed the people watching more than anything. From careful eaters to basic slobs stuffing their faces. Quite interesting and often amusing. Made me glad that my Mom taught me basic etiquette! TV had basic channels and we could watch KCAL-TV which has been blocked by TimeWarner Cable for the past month due to issues with programming fees. Bed quality was average, A/C kept us cool and kitchen was useful. Maid service was excellent. We didn't try dinner as we ate our dinner meals at nearby restaurants. Parking was plentiful and we could usually find a spot directly in front of the office. Our room was above the office area and usually all was quiet. Front desk staff were very polite, conversant and VERY HELPFUL!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have stayed at several Residence Inns. This was the smallest room size I've seen in a suite hotel. The sofa bed had nothing supporting the mattress when the bed was opened. The mattress itself was stained and filthy. The room had no bedding for the sofa bed. Two calls to the desk, late at night, finally resulted in bedding but no pillow. A third call for a pillow was answered but no pillow was ever delivered.

The bathroom had bugs. The room had inadequate storage--no place to put suitcases etc.

One night was enough for us and we checked out in the morning. The hotel is very near a major freeway, has minimal parking and is not that close to Huntington Beach. This is a place where I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertdad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear desertdad67,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel, I'm sorry that you found our hotel location and guest room sofa bed condition disappointing.

We value your feedback and will use it to better our services and product. Every year, we invest lots of money to improve our hotel, and it is comments like yours that help us to identify where we need to spend.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent one night at this Residence Inn, traveling with two toddlers. The staff was wonderful; friendly and prompt. We stayed in a one bedroom unit, which has a sleeper sofa in the living room. This was perfect for us. Everything was great except for one thing.......the beds, both the king size and the sofa sleeper, are in need of replacement. We found the mattresses to be uncomfortable and the pillows small and flat. If new bedding finds its way to this hotel, we will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel, right at the 405 freeway. The room must be insulated ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear restls,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will certainly use them to improve as our goal is to provide an extraordinary stay for our guests. We hope to see you again!


Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain Valley
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley/Huntington Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,722 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
379 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Address: 9930 Slater Ave, Fountain Valley, CA 92708-3500
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Fountain Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Price Range: £116 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in comfort and convenience at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley. Equipped with stylish decor and furnishings, our California hotel creates a welcoming home-like atmosphere. Indulge in the good life with our free Wi-Fi, large flat-panel TVs and cozy beds. Wake up and thrive each morning with our free daily hot breakfast and create the meal that works best for your diet, from an English muffin with eggs and bacon to a fruit salad featuring Greek yogurt. In your free time, get your heart racing with a swim in our refreshing outdoor pool. We also offer an on-site fitness center with modern equipment and an outdoor Sports Court®. Visit one of the many nearby theme parks such as Disneyland® or Knott's Berry Farm® for a plethora of family-friendly fun, then head over to downtown Huntington Beach and feel all the Southern California vibes. Whether you're traveling for work or for leisure, make it a success at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel Fountain Valley
Residence Inn Fountain Valley
Fountain Valley Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing