We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent presentation.”

Kaenyama Sushi and Teppanyaki Bar
Ranked #26 of 482 Restaurants in Fremont
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

My son said his sushi was delicious and my tempura shrimp and vegetables was delicious. You've gotta try the bubble tea place next door too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashville2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
464 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
“Average teppanyaki. You might want to consider other options.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I like this restarant, and we return periodically. There's nothing wrong with the place, but it also doesn't stand out as being exceptional, either. We go here primarily because it isn't very far from home, and my wife loves teppanyaki. Personally, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to come here. But if you are nearby anyway, then it's a fine choice.

A friend of mine lives very close to this restaurant, and he said there is a better teppanyaki place somewhere else in Fremont. So, it might be worth shopping around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim_and_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty Hip Asian Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I met a couple of old buddies at Kaenyama Sushi and Teppanyaki in Fremont. It's right off Auto Mall and mixed in with a bunch of other Asian restaurants. We ate at the teppanyaki area. Not bad... chef was a bit rookie, but did all the usual teppan tricks. The fried rice was excellent. Overall selection was standard fare for teppanyaki bars. Place is clean and nicely designed (re: they have not jammed tables and chairs in the space).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isdn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Seriously good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Am traveling in San Jose where good sushi is hard to find. Drove to Fremont to see the mission and read the Tripadvisor review on this place. Hako special roll was one of the best I have ever had. High quality and friendly staff - treated a single female traveler well.

Helpful?
Thank Pat_McA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Modern, Hip and Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

My husband and I tried this place for the first time the other day. Our regular sushi place wasn't open and we were a bit skeptical about trying a new sushi place.

Are we ever glad we did! Our sushi chef was Elias and we told him that he could serve us anything he wanted (with the exception of cream cheese, wasabi and eel).

OMG...this is some of the freshest sushi we've had in a while. Amazing flavors. Elias was attentive, paying close attention to if we liked our food and if we wanted something else. His plating and presentation was stunning. It was easy to see that he takes great pride in what he serves.

I can't even tell you what we had but the flavors are fresh, tasty, sometimes even decadent! It was so much fun just having the chef create anything he wanted.

Our waiter was very attentive as well.

The restaurant is very modern and very comfortable. We will definitely go back. Try it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaenyama Sushi and Teppanyaki Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kaenyama Sushi and Teppanyaki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing