We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Positive experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although when I first came in I was not acknowledged with my points or being a Platinum member. I know that is kind of shallow, but I've put my time in with Holiday Inn for a reason. With that being said, that is about the only negative thing I can say with the exception of not really quite getting my room as cool as I'm used to. (I'm from back East).
The pool was nice (hot tub didn' t work) Room was always clean and nice, staff was nice. Bed was comfy and room was spacious. This hotel is located in a very nice part of town SO close to Walmart, shopping malls and great places to eat.
Even though there were tons of baseball kids a few days. I could not tell there were kids in the hotel. Nice and quiet. Enjoyable 3 day stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
9
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at this hotel on our way to Yosemite. It was just one night and we'd driven all day. It got the job done, but we won't stay at this property again.

The good: Very clean room. We had a 1 BR "suite." (I've never had a suite without more than one room, I'd call this a normal king room with a kitchenette.) The pool was small but adequate for everyone to cool off. Breakfast was standard for a HI Express. Staff was very courteous and professional.

The bad:
1. The room was small for a "suite." There should have been a wall/door separating the BR and the living area/kitchenette. So I think the room was mislabeled. I've stayed in standard rooms in this chain that were the same size or larger. A "suite" should have 2 rooms.
2. The road noise was terrible, it kept 3 of us up off and on. I've stayed at other hotels in this chain this close to a major highway and not had any road noise, this is a design failure for the hotel and a fatal one. I imagine it's OK on the other side of the hotel, but if your room is facing the highway you better have ear plugs or like the "calming" sound of jake braking semis.
3. Several things just didn't make sense or didn't work. For instance, the climate control was not connected to the window A/C unit... so it was kind of useless. The bathroom had no fan so it never aired out after a shower. There was a kitchenette but no table in the room to sit at, just a couch with a coffee table.

Over all, I would have been fine if I were solo for a business trip. But I expected more from this hotel and left disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear MClanea,

I would like to thank you your recent feed back regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest.
I apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. I appreciate your feedback and hope to have back in your future trips to Fresno/Yosemite area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

No reservations, but stopped to see if we, 3 adults, could stay. Yes, very good accommodations. Friendly from the front door to the dining to housekeeping to check out to grounds keeper. Well priced, $$$. Rooms were nice and cool. Beds were nice and soft, good sleep. Showers were good, hot water. All areas were very clean and kept. Breakfast was a hot meal, plenty of fruit and good. Pool was good, and in a well lit area. Good secure area also. we would stay here again and very much recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Darmar01,

On behalf of the staff of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest, I will like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that we met your expectations and we look forward to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed in this location on business and pleasure trips many times in the past few years due to it's close on/off the freeway. It has always been a pleasant stay until our recent visit. First we get there at about 8pm to check in and unload our luggage put it on the one cart available and it had a flat tire to go to our 4th floor room and find that there is a line of tour bus travelers waiting to go up in the elevator. One elevator and a 20 minute wait when you're hot and tired and have driven 9 hours. Suggestion if you have a party like that put them on the first floor! Considering there is only one elevator. Oh yes they did have stairs and no. Again hot, tired and pooped out! So after getting into the room which was so hot the sweat was pouring off of us we turned the air on only to find that there was only cold, cold cold or hot hot hot you could not find a happy medium. I called and was told that is the way it worked and there were no other rooms. And it was so loud it sounded like a freight train all night. So when the room became so cold that ice was on our nose we would turn it off and then when it got so hot we could not bare it we would turn on the cold ALL NIGHT LONG! Not like we could open a window to get fresh air. We tried turning it off and the room became stifling. Not much sleep that night. No a happy stay for us and not sure we will return the next time we have to pass thru. I understand that they have these tour buses come through twice a week make sure to book when they are not there and ask for a first floor room. Happy travels!.

Room Tip: Get a room where the air conditioner works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scooteraroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Scooteraroo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feed back regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon property.
I apologize for the inconvenience, we will take your recommendations in consideration in order to improve and reach our goal to provide a memorable experience to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had to make a last minute reservation on a Saturday night as we were driving back early from Yosemite. I called a couple of places and they were booked so ended up going through Expedia rather than wasting time on my phone while driving. We'd been hoping for some place close to the airport for an early morning flight next day but none were available. As it turned out, this was an easy 15 minute drive on a Sunday morning. As we checked in we noticed swarms of young girls in softball uniforms, giggling and running around, being young girls. I joked and commented to my husband, "Just don't let us be next door to them." And, of course, they were our neighbors next door as well as across and down the hall. And yet, the walls are thick and the room fan provided enough white noise that we didn't hear a thing all night.
Room was large enough to easily accommodate my husband, me and our 14 year old grandson. Everything was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was included, the room handled families plus softball players easily and the food was pretty good - cereal, pastries, eggs, biscuit and gravy, pancakes. Nothing extra and maybe more fruit would have been nice but still very adequate.
All in all, we couldn't have asked for much more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonPhotoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A very comfortable hotel in NW Fresno. Quiet, clean rooms with excellent service. Very high speed internet service...great for streaming movies. Breakfast room and food good value. We have stayed at this hotel many times and will do so in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrackerCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is conveniently located right off the 99 at Herndon Ave. It was clean and well maintained and it was a good value for the rate that I got. Friendly staff greeted me when I arrived and acknowledged my Platinum status with IHG. The room was big, clean and maintained well. Not a fan of the shower head but if thats my only compliant then so be it. I will definitely stay at this hotel again. I travel for business alot and there is a brand new shopping center that just opened as I have a store in it. The restaurants in the area are slim pickings right now, but in about 6mo to 1 year from now many more selections in that center will be available. Enjoy...

Room Tip: My room faced the 99 and it was noisy. Put the fan on high in the room and it will drown out the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#20 of 64 in Fresno
129 reviews
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Address: 7191 W Kathryn Ave, Fresno, CA 93722-9305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Fresno-Herndon Northwest.The hotel is conveniently located off HWY-99, just minutes away from Fresno Airport, the Fresno City Center, and the Convention Center. We are in the heart of the central valley close to Madera, Chowchilla, and Tulare. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from Riverpark Shopping , dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Fresno has to offer. No matter what brings you to the Fresno area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include California State University, Costco, Foster Farms, and Mor Furniture. Nearby attractions include Island Water Park, Table Mountain Casino and Yosemite National Park and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing