We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Demeaning and Disturbing Encounter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Demeaning and Disturbing Encounter”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We frequently stay at this chain, and so we made reservations at this Fresno Hotel for one night as we were passing through the area. We'd been traveling for a week and were exhausted upon check in. We specifically requested a room that was away from any groups traveling together, such as work-related stays, sports teams, or family gatherings. Unfortunately, we were put across from and next to five rooms of people there for a week of work. Some had their families along. While it was not terribly disturbing, we were constantly aware of doors slamming, running in the halls, and conversations taking place in the hallways. Since it was before 10:00 at night, I felt it would be inappropriate for me to complain. At 10:30, while the noise wasn't disruptive, it was enough to keep us awake, so I opened the door and saw two men conversing in normal voices while one of their children was playing in the hallway. I didn't say a thing, but they seemed quite embarrassed to have been "caught" and went inside one of the rooms. Unfortunately, the rooms were not soundproof, and we were still aware of the interaction between the five men. We chose not to make an issue of it but this morning asked the manager for an adjustment in our rate due to non disclosure, especially since we had requested not to be put in such an area. From the looks of the empty parking lot and the lack of people at breakfast, the other three floors would obviously have had many rooms available. The manager refused, saying since we didn't complain last night, there must have been no problem. Further, in response to my pointing out the fact I'd asked not to be in any such area, he claimed I had requested that very room. I had not. He continued by saying he has no way of knowing who will be noisy and who will not. He refused any adjustment in our rate, and, I believed, was rather sarcastic as he claimed the disruptions couldn't have been that bad. I felt he was demeaning toward me. I will never stay at that hotel again, even though we go through the area frequently.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teacherpreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    39
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
18
1
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hemet
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is a very well maintained hotel, great staff with clean and quite rooms. They offer the great breakfast we have come to expect at a Holiday Inn Express. They have an automatic pancake machine you really need to try.
If you want fast food go next door to In and Out Burger, busy place but fresh made food and quick. Lots of other choices within walking distance.
If you come here the first time ask the desk clerk how to get back on the freeway. Not that big a deal but the u-turn is a little confusing the first time.

Last year when we were here I needed help with the airconditioning controller, this year too. Written instructions would held, however the staff will help you.

Nice internet room, free newspapers, work out room, pool and spa. We used them all. The pool was a tad cool for my taste but I really liked the spa after a long day driving.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covingtonhmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Convenient location, excellent staff, and an extremely comfortable room and a free breakfast which is actually very good compared to other hotels. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapotapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaur887, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thank you for rating our property. It was very nice to have you here. Hope everything went well for you. Let us know if we could ever be of any assitance to you. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemet
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed one night and the hotel was worth the cost. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Lots of fast food places next door, all looked new.
We had a ground floor room on the freeway side and while the view wasn't much, we did not hear the traffic. Handy choice to pool and parking lot. If I could ask for one thing it would be written instructions for the AC remote.
Leaving the hotel you make a right turn, go one block and do a u-turn to get back to the freeway. Not a big deal. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. In Fresno this is a good safe location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covingtonhmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaur887, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Thank you for staying with and rating our hotel. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay. It feels great to have guests like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mole007
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed here for one night en route from Vegas to San Francisco. We found this hotel to be great. We had a good night's sleep, the pool was nice, we had a quiet room and the facilities were good. The room was clean and we had everything we needed. Although this was close to the motorway, we didn't have a problem with any noise. I think the hotel was very quiet when we were there but found it to be a good location to break up our drive. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a convenient overnight stay to break up the driving.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mole007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaur887, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Thank you for staying with us and rating our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fresno Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
Address: 2660 S 2nd St, Fresno, CA 93706-5448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Fresno-Jensen Ave.The hotel is conveniently located off HWY-99 just minutes away from Fresno Airport, the Fresno City Center, and the Convention Center. We are in the heart of the central valley close to Selma, Sanger, Hanford, and Tulare. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from world class shopping, dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Fresno has to offer. No matter what brings you to the Fresno area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include California State University, Pepsi, Foster Farms, and Pelco. Nearby attractions include Fresno Sports Complex, Save Mart Center, Tachi Palace Casino and Kings Canyon National Park and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing