We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel in winter”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel in winter”
Reviewed 30 November 2008

The rooms are large and comfortable and well equipped with fridge and coffee maker. The breakfast is excellent.

However, they turn off the airconditioning between November and April. If the weather is still warm the rooms become very hot and airless. I measured 82 degrees in the room and no fans are provided. Their suggestion is to leave a window open but on the ground floor anyone could simply step through the window into the room during the night. After complaining, we were moved to an upper floor room but with the window open, the train whistles kept us awake much of the night.

Avoid this hotel during the winter if the weather is at all warm.

This is a very nice hotel but badly run.

  • Liked — Large comfortable rooms - great breakfast
  • Disliked — No air conditioning in winter
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kai2dar, manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2009
Due to climate changes in the central valley we cannot control outside weather. We try our best to make you stay comfortable and have added fans into rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    19
    25
    48
See reviews for
40
41
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We were on a trip to Kings Canyon and then Yosemite park and were looking for a place to stay for one night. There are really few reasonably priced hotels near these parks. In fact there are few at any price near these parks. That pushed us out to Fresno where the number of hotels were much more numerous. I read the review for the Water Tree Inn and decided to try them.

We found the room to be very large, the mattress was comfortable but average, the picture on the TV was unusually dark, the hotel was older but clean. The hallway had an slight odor but the room did not. We selected a smoke-free room via Travelocity and that is what we received. One nice feature is all vehicles that park in the hotel parking lot have to drive past the front office that is manned 24 Hrs/day. Gives you a sense of security. Neighborhood is older but clean.

Good wireless internet connection. Easy to set up. They offered a breakfast that we did not take advantage of. Instead we had breakfast at Denny's. The hotel is in the heart of town near a Vons grocery store, restaurants, and gas stations.

This hotel offered us a great value for our money. We spent one night at this hotel. Checked-in, watched a little TV, surfed the internet on the laptop, went to bed, woke up, showered and hit the road to Yosemite. If that is what you are looking for this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Older hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank klokeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Staying at the Water Tree Inn was a pleasure. Friendly staff greeted us when we arrived and the room we found was clean and spacious. We had a room next to the pool. And although many people used it (since it was 100+), we didn't hear any noise from outside.

The room was well maintained, clean, cool and came with a reclining chair.

North Blackstone can be a busy road with lots of traffic. You'll find many places to eat there, but for everything else you want to take the '134'. Even if you're going to the River Park Plaza at the end of it (which btw comes recommend for shopping and dining).

You get to stay at the Water Tree Inn for less than a hundred bucks, and it's really worth the money.

  • Liked — clean, spacious room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Whole family (2 parents, 3 teenagers) stayed for 1 night on way to Yosemite in August 2008. Arrived at 10.00pm and left at 7.30am next day.

Hotel is basic but clean. Air con works and beds are fine. Had 2 queen beds per room.

Breakfast simple but adequate considering the price.

Nice and easy to find, just off the motorway and the right side of Fresno for a quick getaway the next morning travelling to Yosemite.

  • Liked — Easy access and price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Milnthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, IN
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Well, I didn't stay here personally but when my family here in Indiana went to go see me get married in Fresno, they stayed here. I went to their hotel and visited! I was in shock and awe when I seen how Great these rooms were and the Price for the State! I liked it so much that I am about to go back to see my son in Fresno in Aug '08 and stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dunsonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We were a party of four who stayed at the America's Best Value Inn, (ABVI) Water Tree Inn, Fresno, CA on Saturday and Sunday, June 7/8, 2008 in Rooms 171 & 172.
In searching the Internet for a motel/hotel that met our needs at the best value, I came across ABVI. Never having utilized this chain before and not being a member of the Value Club program I did a little research and joined the club.
We booked two rooms directly with the Inn manager, Mr. Nick Patel,on 02/05/2008 at a rate of $59.00 per room per night, a Summer Special Rate at this location.
Reservations, pre-arrival, check-in and check-out went off without a glitch. Final billing was accurate.
The exterior of the Inn was pleasant and the pool and grounds were clean and well cared for.
We found the two king bed ground floor rooms, close to an entry to be very satisfactory and as requested. They were very spacious, very clean, without lingering odor, well maintained and very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. My wife, who suffers severe COPD is very dependent on these conditions as she requires 24-7 oxygen and the use of a walker or electric scooter.
The bath and vanity area were clean and water pressure and drainage in the tub/shower and basin were great.
Room temperature in one room was easily controlled and all appliances and lighting in the rooms functioned properly.
The desk staff was very congenial. knowledgeable and helpful and, in fact, oxygen tanks which had been ordered to be delivered to the hotel, had already been placed in our room by the staff prior to our arrival.
The complimentary breakfast, served from 6:30/9:30 am was ample, well handled and delicious.
The local Fresno Bee newspaper is complimentary at the desk.
All in all, this was an above average stay and, if this Inn is representative of your other properties, they have found a loyal customer who will be utilizing ABVI in the future.
The most likeable features of this motel are:
it's value; cleanliness; location; and it's breakfast.

The least likeable features are:
the temperature in West facing rooms in the summertime is very difficult to control;
the very short in stature housekeeping staff prevents them from cleaning the high and far reach into spaces;
this location caters to tours of foreigners who oft times, unfamiliar with our ways, pay no attention to breakfast waiting lines, talk loudly and smoke in the hallways and mill about the driveways and parking lot without regard for traffic.

  • Liked — location; cleanliness; breakfast; comfort; staff friendliness & service
  • Disliked — West facing room temperature difficult to control; motel caters to foreign tour groups unfamiliar with US motel/hotel rules and American ways
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredRidgecrest_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castro valley
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We checked in late and Frank was very helful. We asked to see the room and was impressed with the recliner lounge chair and space of room. The hotel rooms were spacious with king size beds. Had a nice starter breakfast was which include waffles and variety of other items. We will back next time we visit.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — length of stay of my trip
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zippycastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#30 of 64 in Fresno
522 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Fresno
The Hotel Fresno
#49 of 64 in Fresno
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
University Square Hotel
University Square Hotel
#38 of 64 in Fresno
175 reviews
3.6 mi away
Motel 6 Fresno - Belmont Ave
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Fresno
Motel 6 Fresno
#48 of 64 in Fresno
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 4141 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93726-3808 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you as our guest on your way to or coming from experiencing all of the natural beauty to found as you explore Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park. For your convience Walmart Superstore is just accross the street. Feeling like testing your luck? We are a short drive from Table Mountain Casino and Chukhansi Casino. These are just a few of the wonderful adventures and experiences that await you as a guest of the Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway. Take advantage of Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway's relaxing outdoor pool (open from April-October). All rooms are 100% non-smoking and complete with free WiFi, a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and work area. Also, enjoy a microwave and 32" LCD TVs in our newly renovated rooms. We have a conference room for your business meetings or our business center is open to assist you with any needs. We know it will be hard to leave, so late check-out is available. Enjoy complimentary coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby. Don't feel like going to a restaurant? Relax and take advantage of our order-in feature. If you are traveling for business, for fun, for nature, the Red Roof Inn Fresno-Yosemite Gateway is here to welcome you to Fresno and welcome you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Water Tree Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing