We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrific place for a economical stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Riverside, California
1 review
“terrific place for a economical stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We didn't know the area that well but they helped us with getting around to restaurants. Rooms were large and had nicely decorated. The pool was large nice and refreshing as it was hot summer day. They served a nice continental breakfast wich kids loved with fresh waffles and bagels. They also had high speed internet at no charge which kept kids busy playing games online. We would stay here again for price and its convenient location to yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yatin023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    18
    24
    48
See reviews for
39
40
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
337 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

I stayed here just a few days ago and did not have any problems. The front desk let me check in before their official check-in time, and the room was quite large and comfortable. It has the feel of a Holiday Inn from the 1970s (there was a rotary phone in the bathroom) that was never updated, but which has been kept clean and in good working order. The staff were polite. I paid approx. $66, including taxes, for a night, and I thought this was a very good deal for a no-frills overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank westernfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

if you like mold, bad smells and disrespectful management

this is the place for you

place was a best western but has fallened into disrepair

( we have been using this hotel for over 10 years )

over the last 90 days

we have experienced car breakins, security issues

mold in the room and ADA issues

mr patel is the new manager

and threatened me for filing a claim with his insurance

he then ordered me to never return in writing

PLEASE HEED MY WARNING

and take mr. patels written advice

do not return to this hotel

remember

bad smells, staff smoking in the lobby, mold

and non ADA compliant

mr. patel, thank you for doing me a favor

claim and potential lawsuit pending

contact best value inn corporate office if florida

if you have a similar complaint from this best value inn location

learn from my big mistake

take it down the road to the clean and friendly

best western hotel

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kai2dar, public relations manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2009
The hotel is newly remodeled with new flooring and bathroom. All rooms are presently upgraded with new carpeting and are large spacious clean. As from the past reviews our staff is helpful and friendly. We still proviide full amenties and daily security as we have done in the past. Our staff make every effort in making our guests feel comfortable during they're stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fresno hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

The rooms are large and comfortable and well equipped with fridge and coffee maker. The breakfast is excellent.

However, they turn off the airconditioning between November and April. If the weather is still warm the rooms become very hot and airless. I measured 82 degrees in the room and no fans are provided. Their suggestion is to leave a window open but on the ground floor anyone could simply step through the window into the room during the night. After complaining, we were moved to an upper floor room but with the window open, the train whistles kept us awake much of the night.

Avoid this hotel during the winter if the weather is at all warm.

This is a very nice hotel but badly run.

  • Liked — Large comfortable rooms - great breakfast
  • Disliked — No air conditioning in winter
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kai2dar, manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2009
Due to climate changes in the central valley we cannot control outside weather. We try our best to make you stay comfortable and have added fans into rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

We were on a trip to Kings Canyon and then Yosemite park and were looking for a place to stay for one night. There are really few reasonably priced hotels near these parks. In fact there are few at any price near these parks. That pushed us out to Fresno where the number of hotels were much more numerous. I read the review for the Water Tree Inn and decided to try them.

We found the room to be very large, the mattress was comfortable but average, the picture on the TV was unusually dark, the hotel was older but clean. The hallway had an slight odor but the room did not. We selected a smoke-free room via Travelocity and that is what we received. One nice feature is all vehicles that park in the hotel parking lot have to drive past the front office that is manned 24 Hrs/day. Gives you a sense of security. Neighborhood is older but clean.

Good wireless internet connection. Easy to set up. They offered a breakfast that we did not take advantage of. Instead we had breakfast at Denny's. The hotel is in the heart of town near a Vons grocery store, restaurants, and gas stations.

This hotel offered us a great value for our money. We spent one night at this hotel. Checked-in, watched a little TV, surfed the internet on the laptop, went to bed, woke up, showered and hit the road to Yosemite. If that is what you are looking for this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Older hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank klokeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

Staying at the Water Tree Inn was a pleasure. Friendly staff greeted us when we arrived and the room we found was clean and spacious. We had a room next to the pool. And although many people used it (since it was 100+), we didn't hear any noise from outside.

The room was well maintained, clean, cool and came with a reclining chair.

North Blackstone can be a busy road with lots of traffic. You'll find many places to eat there, but for everything else you want to take the '134'. Even if you're going to the River Park Plaza at the end of it (which btw comes recommend for shopping and dining).

You get to stay at the Water Tree Inn for less than a hundred bucks, and it's really worth the money.

  • Liked — clean, spacious room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

Whole family (2 parents, 3 teenagers) stayed for 1 night on way to Yosemite in August 2008. Arrived at 10.00pm and left at 7.30am next day.

Hotel is basic but clean. Air con works and beds are fine. Had 2 queen beds per room.

Breakfast simple but adequate considering the price.

Nice and easy to find, just off the motorway and the right side of Fresno for a quick getaway the next morning travelling to Yosemite.

  • Liked — Easy access and price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Milnthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Fresno
The Hotel Fresno
#44 of 64 in Fresno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Village Inn
3.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fresno - North
5.3 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#26 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 64 in Fresno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 4141 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93726-3808 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway)
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you as our guest on your way to or coming from experiencing all of the natural beauty to found as you explore Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park. For your convience Walmart Superstore is just accross the street. Feeling like testing your luck? We are a short drive from Table Mountain Casino and Chukhansi Casino. These are just a few of the wonderful adventures and experiences that await you as a guest of the Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway. Take advantage of Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway's relaxing outdoor pool (open from April-October). All rooms are 100% non-smoking and complete with free WiFi, a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and work area. Also, enjoy a microwave and 32" LCD TVs in our newly renovated rooms. We have a conference room for your business meetings or our business center is open to assist you with any needs. We know it will be hard to leave, so late check-out is available. Enjoy complimentary coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby. Don't feel like going to a restaurant? Relax and take advantage of our order-in feature. If you are traveling for business, for fun, for nature, the Red Roof Inn Fresno-Yosemite Gateway is here to welcome you to Fresno and welcome you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Water Tree Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing