We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable for overnight stop between NPs”
Review of The Hotel Fresno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Fresno
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable for overnight stop between NPs”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We visited last week between our visit to Sequoia NP and Yosemite NP just to break up the drive as we are travelling with a 21month old boy. We booked via price line and received a very good price (via the bidding process) as it was mid week and not a busy period - about 40% discount to current available price elsewhere on expedia etc. When we arrived, the receptionist was friendly and even gave us an upgrade (as there were no other ground floor rooms available) to a deluxe king patio room which was quite large and overlooking the outside pool area.

Room was modern with all the typical Park Inn furnishings (bed, 2 person sofa, single sofa seat, tv, fridge etc) although it is obvious the hotel is an older style as the bathroom still had older fittings, but nevertheless, it was all well maintained and kept clean. The bed was very comfortable.

We had a swim in the pool which was very refreshing and enjoyable after our driving trip, and relaxing to laze on the deck chairs in the sun. The pool area is actually very nice, with cabana area and a few deck chairs and table/chair settings.

The location is more industrial and lower end of Fresno, albeit it did not bother us, as we didn't leave the hotel from the time we arrived in the afternoon until we left for Yosemite the next morning. Additionally, the hotel has a few buildings, most of which are situated at the back of the property rather than facing the busy street, so you do not hear any of the noise nor exposed to any of the possible happenings out the front. Parking is right near the building entrance, so that was very convenient. Each building also has key card access only, so felt safe.

We also visited the Smugglers restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The staff were friendly and chatty, and food was reasonably tasty and good value, though nothing great.

I would strongly recommend this hotel for an overnight stop for good value room and reasonable food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building at the rear of the property, overlooking the pool area. We were in Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metcalf-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    113
    98
    64
    65
See reviews for
103
90
33
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We booked a king room at the Park Inn by Radisson in Fresno via Priceline. The reviews I had read after I booked weren’t the best, but when you book via Priceline you can’t cancel, so we opted to try our luck and stay the night. We arrived right around check-in time, 3PM and there was no one in the lobby when we got there. The lobby is pretty big and looks like it was recently remodeled. It kind of looks like a living room how they have it with a big TV and couches to sit on. The lady who checked us in was nice and the process was relatively easy. We were given room 228 in the Jamaica North section which is somewhat towards the back of the hotel.

The king room we stayed in was spacious. In addition to the king bed, there was a chaise lounger, a big leather recliner chair, a coffee table, wrap around desk and chair, flat screen TV, and dresser. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept on, but for me it was on par with other hotel beds, but my boyfriend did say that his back hurt in the morning when he woke up. The bathroom was pretty standard, although there is a nice vanity area in front of the bathroom with a mirror and stool to sit at if you want to do your make up while someone is in the bathroom. The vanity area also had a coffee maker and a small refrigerator for our use. The view from the room isn’t much, it’s just the parking lot, so we kept the curtains closed the entire time we were there.

We thought about using the hot tub so we walked out there to check it out. The pool/hot tub facilities are gated and there’s a couple of cabanas to lounge on while out there. Although we did not end up using either facility, when we were out there we asked some people in the hot tub how it was, they said it gets really hot and then cools down. We did not visit the restaurant on site, so I don’t have a review for that.

The hotel building seems older, although they probably have remodeled the interiors of the rooms within the past couple of years. The walls are pretty thin and you can hear other room doors closing and people walking around in the room directly above. If you’re a light sleeper, you might want to think about bringing ear plugs!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in Fresno for a wedding. Picked Park Inn because of the nice woman (Stacy) who I spoke with when making the reservations. Professional, patient and answered all my questions (security, early check-in possibility, getting three rooms by each other). She was SO nice. When we arrived Stacy, her Manager and another woman were all at the Front Desk. Each one had a big smile to greet us. Now that is what I like to see. The Lobby is very nice and the grounds are clean. Our King Bed was firm just like my husband wants it. Lots of hot water for the shower and a small fridge too. A big desk was in the room too for our computer work. That was nice. And a big flat screen tv. The only complaint would be the bath linens. A little thread bare. If the towels/wash cloths were upgraded I would have given Park Inn 5 starts. But, again, the best part was Stacy and her "gang" there at the front desk to help us every step of the way. Thanks, Stacy!

Room Tip: On a busy street, so ask for a room in the back off the stree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UCDavisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights, while visiting Sequoia and Kings Canyon Parks. The hotel is in Fresno outskirts, so we didn't happen to visit Fresno itself. There is not much to see or do in the hotel area, there are some fast foods and some malls. I'm actually not sure whether it is a safe area at night. Our room was nice, in the standards of the hotel chain. The nicest thing I remember is the swimming pool that was quite a relief in the warm evening. On one evening we had dinner in the hotel restaurant, there was not much choice but the food quite good and not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaxyHitchhicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Airport shuttle driver and front desk staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Excellent everything.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernandezmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have stayed in this hotel before and we have always been satisfied; however, this time was a different story! The area in which it is in is not safe. Our car was vandalized the first night we stayed there. The room had a musty smell to it, the towel and bedding were paper thin, the light outlets in bathroom did not work and the bathtub floor felt like it was going to give in at any moment. I can go on and on however, it is sufice to say this is not a place I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: don't stay there---not safe! Very shady area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed here twice, both for leisure trips booked with points. The staff was accommodating and helpful, especially when we came in with a big group just finishing a weeklong backpacking trip (extra soap, anyone?). During our first stay, we were even offered free breakfast vouchers. The buildings look like motel buildings, but the rooms were all nice with modern upscale furnishings. The pool area and landscaping was beautiful.

The neighborhood was a bit sketchy and we witnessed a flight on the street a few blocks from the hotel, but we never felt unsafe on the hotel property. It was quiet and peaceful outside, even at night.

We've stayed elsewhere in Fresno, and the choices are pretty limited. The Four Points is a solid choice and a good deal when booked with points.

Update: looks like the hotel is no longer bookable on spg.com. Did it change names?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#30 of 64 in Fresno
522 reviews
2.5 mi away
University Square Hotel
University Square Hotel
#38 of 64 in Fresno
174 reviews
2.7 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#9 of 64 in Fresno
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#25 of 64 in Fresno
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Village Inn
5.4 mi away
Motel 6 Fresno
Motel 6 Fresno
#48 of 64 in Fresno
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Fresno

Property: The Hotel Fresno
Address: 3737 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93726-5307 (Formerly Park Inn)
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Fresno 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Fresno Hotel Fresno
4 Points By Sheraton Fresno
Sheraton Fresno
Four Points Fresno
Fresno Sheraton
Fresno Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing