We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant, non-corporate option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Inn and Suites
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
los angeles, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pleasant, non-corporate option”
Reviewed 5 September 2009

There's no hiding that this was once a Howard Johnson's but the new owners beautified the place with an amazing wealth of fruit trees and other plants. If you need anonymity and uniform soul-less service, stay elsewhere. There's no wireless, gym nor USA Today on your door. However, there is wonderful, home-grown fruit for breakfast and a kind, homey feeling.

Also, it's right next door to the awe inspiring, quirky Underground Gardens.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    32
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
36
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Was expecting this to be just a safe place to lay our heads down for a night's sleep. It was definitely that, but so much more --turns out it's a flower-lover's paradise. The grounds sported blooming tulips (3000 of them!), roses, cycads, citrus, callas, palms... on and on. Our patio was sheltered behind a kumquat tree, affording privacy and cheer. The room was spacious and light and the bed was very comfortable. Management was friendly and helpful, the continental plus breakfast included waffles and sausages as well as the usual toast, bagels, and cereals -- all in all a delightful surprise! Oh, and it's right next door to Forestiere Underground Gardens

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bionicwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

The owners/managers were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel didn't look like much from the outside, but they put us in a double room around the back (past the pool) which was very nice. There are numerous fruit trees, rosebushes, and grapevines. It's very pretty. Free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

This is our third stay at The Garden Inn & Suites in Fresno. The staff is friendly and helpful and the grounds are immaculate and beautiful with their many many fruit trees and rose bushes. The rooms are clean and contain everything you need. Nice free breakfast in the AM.
There is a Costco and a WinCo just down the street. Thanks for your time.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We came across this hotel from the AAA book in 2005, and when we called around 11:30 p.m. they welcomed us immediately. We have since stayed there three more times, and each time has been great! The rooms are spacious, and while not decadent, they are very comfortable. The owners are extremely nice and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The grounds are luscious with fruit trees and flowers everywhere. The pool is nice and usually empty except for our family. We had no problems with bugs anywhere as reported by another user. Each summer we travel three exits out of our way to stay at this charming hotel on our way up the coast.

  • Liked — the spacious rooms, the owners, the free breakfast!
  • Disliked — location is farther than we need to go, but well worth it!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slwcsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2006

This property has a lot of foliage which we think might have contributed to the "bug" problem. Right off the bat, the entryway was dirty. Don't look up or you'd see cobwebs and other unidentifiable things. We found a cockroach in our bathroom (which is never good) and while using their pool, many of us were bitten by some bugs which left bug bites for days. The continental breakfast was decent but that's probably the only good thing I can say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jagal310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#9 of 64 in Fresno
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#24 of 64 in Fresno
265 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn and Suites

Property: Garden Inn and Suites
Address: 4949 N Forestiere Ave, Fresno, CA 93722
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small unique courtyard condominium setting hotel. Surrounded with flowers and fruit trees. It feels like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Garden Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing