We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for the Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fresno
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here during August 2011. I requested a room away from the elevator and away from the streetside. My request was honored, and I recieved a terrific nights rest. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was also very good. I was very satisfied with my stay at the Comfort Inn in Fresno. The hotel is closely located to many restaurants and near the Interstate. I definitely recommend this hotel and will be back again myself.

Room Tip: Very quiet and clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot-n-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. We do our best to provide excellent service and fullfill every request our guest have. I would like to thank you for staying with and we hope to see you very soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
57
43
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here on Aug 5 for about $85. Hotel was clean inside and out. Pool area was nice, but closed by 9 or 10. Front desk employees were friendly too. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Shaw Street in front of hotel can be a bit loud at times and room A/C controls need a fan mode to provide light noise, but not a real big deal. What ruined our stay was the rudeness and laziness of breakfast workers. I checked at 9:05 and there were next to no eggs, sausage, etc. I figured I'd come back in ten minutes to see if they put out some food. At 9:20 there was still no food or waffle mix put out. At 9:25 I asked the ladies in kitchen if they could get food out. She said, "It is 9:30. Breakfast is closed." I told her there had been no food for the last 15 minutes but she did not respond. Wife tried getting a yogurt and the lady rushed to the fridge and locked it b4 she could open it! We left hungry as did at least 4 other guests that I saw. We checked out and stayed at Best Western Plus down the road on Shaw Ave. We highly recommend them instead of Comfort Inn, and they are in a nicer neighborhood and not directly on Shaw Ave.

Room Tip: Booked the room on comfortinn.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Famof4Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
I would like to thank you for staying with us while in Fresno, CA. I do apologize for our breakfast attendant not extending excellent service. This is very unusual for our attendant but I assure you, we have looked into the concern, addressed it and this will not happen in the future. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Check-in was friendly and efficient and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were a bit disappointed that it was right by the lift, as we thought the constant ‘dinging’ and clatter would be disturbing later on. The hotel was full, so although the lady on reception was sympathetic, there really wasn’t anything she could do. As it turned out, however, even though the hotel was full and so presumably there were people using the lifts, it was very quiet through the night and didn’t disturb us at all. Neither did the nearby highway. There’s an excellent range of restaurants just a couple of minutes drive away for dinner. Breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs and sausages on offer as well as the continental options. A really nice touch was the small packets of dried cranberries on the reception desk at checkout.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
I would like to thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments. I am happy to hear your had a great night sleep even with the lift being so close to your room. Our hotel is built solid and with the guest restful nights in mind. We do our best with cleaniness and happy to hear it pays off. You make our jobs a joy and allows us continue encouraging one another to keep up the hard work. Please come again and have a wonderful 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We arrived in this Comfort Inn on the trip from Yosemite NP to the coast. The man who checked us in, was extremly polite and very helpful. He showed us some places to eat, and gave coupons to several closeby restaurants. We had room 115, which was a room with amenities for disabled people. So lots of space in the room and bathroom, which were both modern and totally clean. Refrigirator and microwave also present. Lots of places to eat, and a few large supermarkets also a few blocks away. The outside pool is reasonable in size, and towels are provided. Breakfast had all standard things, no surprises here. Nothing bad to say about this place really.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for the great review and comments. Breakfast is a good starter for the day but yes, a clean room is the lease we can provide our guest. I am please to hear you have experiance the wonderful central valley and its beuty. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel in 2008 while visiting family in Fresno. It was adequate but not great.
We were in town again in June 2011 and were trying to stay close to family and participate in the Choice Hotels summer reward program so we selected this hotel again.

I noticed it looked nicer when I entered the lobby. The general manager was at the desk to greet us. Victor was very nice, very professional. He asked what brought us to his hotel and we told him we preferred Comfort Inns and this one was close to the family. We mentioned we had been here in 2008. He told us they have started upgrading and making improvements to the hotel.

He said 12 rooms had been renovated so far, all new furnishings etc, flat screen TV's. I was glad to hear this and said, "I hope ours has a flat screen."

With that, Victor said, "just a minute. Let me check on that. I'm giving you an upgrade for being a loyal customer."

Our room had a king bed, a full couch and coffee table, an eating table/chairs, refrig/microwave, wetbar, coffee pot, and the flat screen TV! It was freshly painted and all furnishings were very nice compared to our previous stay.

The only criticism I have is that the coffee was not fresh in the morning at the start of breakfast (6:30 a.m.) Eventually, there was fresh coffee but it didn't get placed out until around 8 a.m. (I think that was a personnel issue, someone who doesn't understand coffee drinkers - eek, we lose our minds when the coffee isn't there!)

I think the GM would be disturbed if he knew that happened. He wasn't at the desk when we checked out so I hope he reads these! Otherwise, I was pleasantly surprised by out stay here this time and was very comfortable. (The AC was awesome and that is important when it is 104 degrees outside!)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldgeekswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you so very much for your stay!!! I am happy to hear you were greeted by the new GM. Victor is a great asset to our team and spearheading the upgrades on our property. I thank you for informing us about the coffee and it has been addressed. When coming in the morning at various times, the GM, our Regional Director of Operations and myself check on the freshness of the coffee. As a coffee drinker, I KNOW the importance of fresh and hot coffee. Please stop by anytime and enjoy the fruits of your comment. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you very soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We have just returned home from a fabulous weekend staying at this hotel. We loved the hotel and had so much fun there this weekend! The breakfast was wonderful, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was exceptional.

Everything was so easy from check-in, room choice, and finally check-out. We really enjoyed staying at this property and would highly recommend it to anyone, from an individual to a large group. You definitly get the most bang for your $$$.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123OnTheGo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for a great review!!! We are happy to see our hard work is paying off. We enjoy providing a great product at a great rate. Please come back and enjoy the continued upgrades and service.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norco, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Very polite employees. However, not a clean facility. Upon check-in we found two roaches in our room. One in the sink and one in bath tub. Then upon returning home we found one in our luggage. Luckily we located the one in our luggage before it decided to expend its family in my nice very clean home. I was very upset and would not recommend staying at this comfort inn. I'm sad to have to give a review this poor however, had someone gave a review like this one on the site I went to I would not have booked a room their. So should you decide to say their I would recommend shaking out all your things before checking out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glooww27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for your comments and I do apologize you were not happy with your stay. On occasion, we have guest track in unusual things into a hotel and in this case, it appears someone brought in insects. We did take this issue very serious and took measures to inspect and correct the problem. We had pest control inspect our entire facility with no findings of any roaches. It may have been a one site one room incident and chose your suitcase as a method of transportation. I do apologize for the inconvenience but again thank you for your feedback. As you can see from many other guest’s reviews, we keep our hotel very clean and offer a great value at a great price with great service.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#26 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#19 of 64 in Fresno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#8 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Northwest
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Property: Comfort Inn Fresno
Address: 5455 W Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93722-5035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting the Yosemite/Sequoia National Parks or attending an event at the Selland arena, you'll find our modern, family-oriented interior corridor hotel perfect for your next business or leisure trip to Fresno CA. We are located off of HWY 99, in the Northwest Fresno, just blocks from Island Water Park and Forestiere Underground Gardens. Enjoy all the comforts of home at our 69 rooms hotel with rooms in a variety of formats - from king rooms to lavish suites with jetted tubs - we offer accommodations to suit all trips. Each room has the amenities you need to get refreshed and ready to take on the day. Room amenities include WiFi internet access, flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, safes, irons, ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary Hot buffet breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Fresno Airport(FAT), Fresno State University(FSU) and the Riverpark area are within 12 Miles. Fresno Zoo, Riverside Golf and various Restaurants and Department stores are less than 5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing