We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant For the Morning After”
Review of Brownstone Cafe

Brownstone Cafe
Ranked #133 of 370 Restaurants in Fullerton
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Fullerton CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Restaurant For the Morning After”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I've been coming here once or twice annually for many years, and thought it was time to put in a good word for this place. Brownstone is the opposite of chain restaurants, and that's a plus IMHO. The menu is eclectic, the food prepared with imagination, the service friendly yet businesslike, all in a setting not unlike a big old country house in Europe. Couples will enjoy Brownstone on the "morning after." Today I had the "Very Berry French Toast" - stuffed with ricotta cheese with berries and almonds on top. Unusual and excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Limited menu casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Good soup and sandwiches. Not open for dinner. Open patio, nice atmosphere. Famous for tomato basil soup.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RGBfromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern cal
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood breakfast spot.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Brownstone sits in a quad area that also features The Cellar and Stadium Tavern. It is only open for breakfast & lunch and features indoor and outdoor seating on its patio.

Service her normally is very slow; they never seem to have enough help. They will tell you it is because your food is fresh and cooked to order. Well, the quality of the food is outstanding and the portion are generous. I prefer the meat lovers skillet which is one of several on the menu. My wife prefers one of their many omelets. There french toast is quite tasty and the potatoes are delicious. I would have preferred my sourdough toast already buttered and thus melted rather than having to fight with the wrapped butter pats; minor complaint.

They do serve Bloody Mary's and Mimosas. The price is a little steep; the skillet was $11 but you get what you pay for and you won't be disappointed. Another bonus for dog lovers; dogs are welcomed on the patio.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank exrammfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

They make the best sandwiches I choose squaw bread but you can choose from 6 different breads.They make the best tomato soup. There is outside seating and cozy inside seating. They are always busy .I have had great breakfasts there also.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetpianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tomato Basil Bisque Soup”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This is a wonderful cafe with great food. They are famous for the Tomato Basil Bisque Soup - a must try! The Tri-tip sandwich is a family favorite. Also the dill meatballs are a big winner for our teenagers. They can have parties in the courtyard of the quaint brick building. We have also had them cater a party in our home - they are very accommodating and flexible, along with being a good value.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brownstone Cafe also viewed

Fullerton, Orange County
Fullerton, Orange County
 
Fullerton, Orange County
Fullerton, Orange County
 
Fullerton, Orange County
Fullerton, Orange County
 

Been to Brownstone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing