We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great baby-back ribs!”
Review of Big B's Barbecue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big B's Barbecue
Ranked #89 of 374 Restaurants in Fullerton
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Placentia, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great baby-back ribs!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Always great ribs, meaty and fall-off-the-bone. Friendly staff, prices a little higher than I'd like, but O.K.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddog_Marty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ in Fullerton California”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Big B's BBQ is an off-shoot of Brian's Beer & Billiards which is a local hang-out for students from Cal-State Fullerton as well as sports fans all over Orange County. The BBQ storefront is right next door to the bar but has it's own entrance. First time I walked in I was suprised how small it was. It really is more of a take-out joint that a sit down restaurant although there are two tables that can sit about six each plus a side counter that can maybe seat another six. Maybe.

Although the inside is a bit 'rustic' the food is outstanding! The ribs are fall-off-the-bone tender and the chicken is moist and flavorable. I believe everything on the menu is made on-site including the rolls and all the salads (potato, pasta, Cole slaw). Try the Beckett's Beans, they are wonderful and the perfect side to the ribs!

Although I have yet to try it they now serve breakfast on weekends from 9:30 - noon. All in all, Big B's is a great BBQ joint. Well worth a drive if you're not local to Fullerton

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchieMYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Potatoe salad.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I used to go here when I lived closer but hadn't been in a while. Went today for lunch. Sort of run down inside, but I still love their ribs and their homemade potatoe salad is to die for! Not your normal smoked ribs. I believe they boil them and then throw them on the fire when you order. I love their BBQ sauce on the ribs and on the side to dip the ribs in. Has a nice tang to it. No real smoke flavor to the ribs, but the meat simply falls off the bone.
If you are thirsty, the same owner owns Brian's Bar next door. In fact, you can order your food in the bar, watch some sports and have a cold one and they pass the food through a little pass-thru window between the two places.
I will return.
I will be back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Barbeque in California?”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Don't be fooled by the small storefront and limited seating... This is some of the best barbeque you will find in the OC. Big B's is a favorite "take-out" location of the locals, and a popular spot with students from Cal State Fullerton. While you are waiting for your order, (which is always prepared fresh), step next door for a schooner of beer at Brian's Pub...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelMummert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I don't usually give 5 stars to take out but this food is incredible!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I don't usually give 5 stars to take out but this food is incredible!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Big B's Barbecue also viewed

Fullerton, Orange County
Fullerton, Orange County
 
Fullerton, Orange County
 
Fullerton, Orange County
Fullerton, Orange County
 

Been to Big B's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing