We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, historic hotel perfect for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benbow Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming, historic hotel perfect for relaxing”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Celebrating a birthday was the perfect excuse to get away from the city and drive up to Benbow Inn for the weekend. I love historic hotels with charm and character and the Inn does not disappoint. Since it was for my birthday, there was a half-bottle of champagne chilling in our room when we arrived – very nice touch! The Benbow Inn is a place to slow down and relax, enjoy delicious meals in the dining room, take long walks through the tall redwoods, meet someone new over afternoon tea and scones, stop for a moment and work on the puzzle by the fire, and enjoy a martini on the deck. It was so gorgeous sitting on the veranda that one night, we simply ordered dinner there instead of going to the dining room. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khj532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We're delighted you celebrated your birthday with us. Many of our guests from the bay area prefer the Benbow Historic Inn experience to the hustle and bustle of larger chain hotels & resorts. We hope you will return this summer and enjoy live performances and dinner under the stars on our outdoor terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    180
    73
    35
    25
See reviews for
135
426
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a great time at Benbow; even though we only spent one night there we loved it. The building and rooms are well maintained in their historic state. The room was large and spacious with a modernized bathroom. The lobby area was the perfect place to explore and talk to other guests. We also had a great meal in the restaurant. Our server was very helpful and accommodating and the food, although pricy, was delicious. Definitely recommend this great inn if you are in the area - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wjones6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. Hopefully you will have the chance to spend more time with us during your next visit. Our lobby continues to be a favorite with our guests, especially during our daily high tea and scone service. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Came here on a motorcycle trip. Lovely historic inn. Tiny rooms and bathrooms but oozing history, charm and friendliness. Grounds are gorgeous. Updates underway. Large common area with reading materials, puzzles, games. Guests congregated. Spent a few hours at a puzzle, drinking a delicious gin and tonic, with a stranger. I love this kind of experience. Dinner in the bar with locals, guests, a potpourri of folks. Only slight disappointment- breakfast- in the dining room. Beautiful space. Expensive omelet that was only fair. Still would head back there, no questions asked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We appreciate your comments. We hope you can join us for the annual Redwood Run motorcycle event June 13-15.We're pleased that you also enjoyed our lounge - it's quite the spot during our weekday happy hour. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent a night here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary road trip. Always one of our favorite Inns to stay at, and we were once again so happy to be back. Must be our 6th, 7th…8th time staying! Love the terrace rooms with sitting on the back patio with a glass of champagne…wait, I'm booking us again!

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are a hit, but the interior historical rooms are just as fun. All in the eyes of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annejmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and joining us on your anniversary. Now that the weather has warmed up and the Eel River level is high, the Terrace Rooms are a great place to relax and enjoy the back lawn and the redwoods. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Benbow is a very pretty historic inn near Humboldt Redwood State Park. The rooms are very nicely decorated, and for being a historic inn they are in very good condition. The bathroom has very nice bathroom products. The beds are very comfortable, but the walls and floors are very thin. You will hear your neighbors, but people that stay here are quiet for the most part. We had a very nice room designed for families traveling with children. It had a king size bed and a small room with bunk beds. If you are staying here to visit the Redwoods, I would suggest that one night is sufficient. We ate dinner in the Benbow Inn's restaurant and the food was very good, but very expensive. They did not have a children's menu and there really wasn't anything on the menu my 12 year old wanted to eat. This might be a problem for families traveling with children. The following morning we decided to save money and eat in Garberville. We ate at a great place that is open for breakfast and lunch, The Woodrose Cafe. The town of Garberville is a bit scary and has a lot of homeless people drifting through. Also, watch out for the very different gasoline prices in town. Avoid the Shell station with inflated prices.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but I would pick the top floor so you do not hear the people above you walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Our menus change with each season and our kid's menu includes many favorites for our younger guests. We have also recently completed a new kid's sport court in addition to our splash park that opened in July of last year at the Benbow KOA. We also liked your photos. We look forward to your return to Benbow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Love this hotel! We always look forward to staying here. We've stayed in several of the rooms, and each has it's own charm. The food in the restaurant is incredible, and the desserts are out of this world! As always, we look forward to afternoon tea, with the outstanding scones, the sherry in each room, the staff that has become almost like family, the antiques, the beautiful bridge, the wonderful décor. And, if you get a chance to go in December, the Christmas decorations are worth the trip alone!

Room Tip: We've loved every room we've stayed in. Of course, the honeymoon cottage is the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful review. We look forward to your return and are anxious to get your comments on our new Terrace surface that includes the entrance to the Cottage. We also enjoyed the wonderful photo of the Christmas Tree in our lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My family has always gone here on an annual or biennial basis.

We stayed here recently on an off season package. My parents had the Garden Cottage and my family had a room in the main hotel. Everything is as it should be, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - especially the sherry!!! Loved the decor in the main lobby with the antique lamps and statues.

Restaurant was terrific, and we got to spend time with one of the chefs who took time to visit with us and some of the other guests who were there.

We didn't get a chance to check out the Eel river as it was a bit chilly. We did go into Garberville which is as odd as ever...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Many of our guests enjoy the off-season at the Inn when the area is less crowded. We hope you will soon join us again and are delighted that your family stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
15.2 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
56 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Property: Benbow Historic Inn
Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1926. 55 Recently renovated rooms. On the National Register of Historic Places. Member of Historic Hotels of America. A beautiful country inn with fine dining serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Outdoor dining available in the summer. Next to Benbow KOA featuring golf, gas-powered carts and putting green. Located on the Eel River in the heart of the redwoods near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. Benbow Historic Inn is your California Redwood Retreat. Amenities include daily complimentary tea & scones, free lobby newspapers & WiFi, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, sport court, playground, meeting space, wedding venue, hiking & biking trails abound. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. 199 Miles north of San Francisco in Southern Humboldt County. Numerous music and art festivals during summer months. Up to two (2) pets are allowed in our pet designated rooms, pending availability. The Benbow Historic Inn charges a $30 pet fee per visit. Those planning to bring furry companions MUST speak with a Front Desk Agent prior to making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing