We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Benbow Historic Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$180
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garberville Motel(Garberville)
US$87
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn of the Lost Coast(Shelter Cove)
US$269
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Inn(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$167
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
407
195
79
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
195
79
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesterrace roomeel riverstone bridgedecanter of sherrygolf courseno elevatorantique furnitureoverlooking the rivernice patioredwood countrylawn areastep back in timeavenue of giantsmain buildingstate parkking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A very welcoming historic inn with beautiful grounds and friendly staff. Well decorated and very comfortable and clean. Great hospitality and the breakfast is wonderfully delicious! Try the French Toast!

Room Tip: We slept in the room that had two twin beds and it was perfect for our mother- daughter getaway.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy9091929498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sandy909...

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a great mother-daughter getaway and were able to explore the Avenue of the Giants - it is truly an amazing gateway to the redwoods and is a favorite day trip for the majority of our guests. We hope that you will both be able to join us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in the cottage room, and it's the closest room to Hwy 101. If you're a light sleeper, the zipping big rigs will keep you awake. The wifi was also unreliable from this room. The service was great, as they (no questions asked) let us out of the 2nd night reservation so we can move to another hotel and get sleep. I suspect others have had the same issue. The live music at night was wonderful during dinner.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the cottage if you're a light sleeper due to the Hwy 101 noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aridon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Aridon99

We appreciate your feedback and comments. Our location is a double-edged sword. Not only do we have our own unique exit off the redwood highway (Benbow Exit 636) we are a convenient stopping point for guests traveling between the bay area and the Pacific Northwest. If we were to build a new property in Humboldt County, lodging industry consultants would stress the importance of easy highway access and visibility. While we do get some traffic noise, we are always happy to move our guests to the Historical Building or amend reservations as we did in your case. We hope that you will return to give us your assessment of a Premium King room on the west side of the Inn that overlooks the Eel River and a large grove of redwoods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just got back from a week long stay there. We had the terrace room 115 with a beautiful view. The food was great. The staff is really nice. The grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers. They had live music on the terrace. I love this place and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Lisa B

Thank you for spending the week with us and your lovely review. Our staff takes great pride in their level of service and we all look forward to reading the comments from our valuable guests. We hope to see you on your next visit to the redwoods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Old hotel that's very close to the start of the giants of the redwood forest drive. staff was accommodating and responsive. We had a cooler with us and as it's an old hotel with a lot of stairs they upgraded us to the terrace rooms for $20 more a night (worth it.). The terrace rooms were added in the 60's, have a view of creek with an outdoor seating area. There's a small fridge in the bath room and two sinks. The rooms are old and oversized. This was something in the 20's-30's and you might just catch a glimpse of a friendly spirit or two. It can be a bit chilly at night and they do provide wraps at the restaurant. You also have use of the KOA/golf facilities across the street (walking distance with a tunnel under the road). There's a KOA type of pool there with washer dryer, store and a few pinball machines.

Room Tip: upgrade to the terrace for an easier walk and a private outdoor seating area with views of the green area and creek.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Paul M

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are often asked about the friendly spirits here - aside from the wide selection in our lounge. We're pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will soon return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Preparing to depart for an annual trip to Northwest California a colleague suggested an overnight at a favorite of his, the historic Benbow Inn. Not having been there in too many years to recall we decided on a whim to check it out on our way north. What a really wonderful, first rate experience. Great staff, rooms, grounds and countless amenities and recreation options. I was thoroughly impressed with every aspect of the hotel including dinner in the beautiful main dining room. We look forward to another visit soon. Not to be overlooked if you are planning a trip anywhere along the highway 101 corridor north of San Francisco

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Our staff and management appreciate your review. We are very fortunate to host numerous repeat visitors that stay with us on their journeys to Portland, Seattle and Canada. We have also experienced an increase in guests from the San Francisco bay area that require a conveniently located charging station for their electric vehicles en route to the Pacific Northwest. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews