We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Garberville Motel(Garberville)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn of the Lost Coast(Shelter Cove)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
414
202
82
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
202
82
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesterrace roomeel riverstone bridgedecanter of sherrygolf courseantique furnitureno elevatoroverlooking the rivernice patioredwood countrystep back in timeromantic getawaylawn areaavenue of giantsqueen roommain building
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the way home from a wedding in Trinidad, we stopped at the Benbow Inn because the location is absolutely beautiful overlooking the Eel River. Enjoyed an Iced Tea and dessert while enjoying the sunny patio and beautiful weather. Our server, Adrian was especially attentive and easy to chat with who suggested our dessert. It was perfect! Thank you for a great place to rest before heading back to the Bay Area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Terrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Benbow has been very famous for decades. Movie stars and rich and famous have stayed there. Over the years, we have stayed and/or dined. It's the perfect place to stop when you are driving from San Francisco. Once, a freak snow storm crippled HWY 101 South and we gladly overnighted at Benbow. Very relaxing and fun to be in such a historic site.Yes, small rooms...part of the charm.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We in an entire group of about 70 on a car rally stayed at the Benbow Inn. It’s like a grand hotel one would have been in during the 20’s and 30’s. The foyer has overstuffed, period sofas to just relax in, a river runs by it, and it’s surrounded by giant redwoods. The grounds are impeccably maintained. The food served was outstanding. Be prepared for smaller rooms, but worth it as not much has changed. It is a well-maintained hotel. There is a new section, but having stayed there before, my wife and I opted for the older, more traditional one to be able to absorb the “flavor” of the surroundings...including the view of the river and/or the wonderfully maintained gardens and deck. Friendly and warm staff are there to serve everyone’s needs! While it is definitely more expensive than any nearby motels, it is definitely worth the money, even if you stay only one night. But, remember that the Benbow isn’t just a place to stay, it’s a place to have a delightful “experience!”

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I desperately wanted to give this hotel a better rating. It’s a wonderful old historic building located in a truly beautiful river side setting. However, for every positive experience we enjoyed during our three day stay a less memorable moment would subsequently offset the final score.

PROS
The building is well maintained and it’s historical integrity has been largely maintained after several years of extensive renovations. The new annex recently added to the building is surprisingly seamless when viewed from the rear but a little less so from the front entrance.

We stayed in one of the original rooms. Yes - these older rooms are small by modern standards but are very typical of those found in historical inns elsewhere. Despite this the hotel has worked hard to get maximum utility out of each room’s limited space. You won’t find a historical hotel doing it any better in Europe!

We also booked the unique balcony Queen room that gave us a sizeable and reasonably private outdoor space with superb views of the grounds, river and old stone bridge nearby. This room is highly recommended.

The central terrace overlooking the Eel River was a wonderful place to dine or enjoy a drink. We ate both dinner and breakfast here on several occasions.

There was a major fair happening across the road from the hotel on the day we arrived. However the hotel had staff at the entrance monitoring its parking spaces to ensure registered guests always secured a parking spot within the hotel grounds.

CONS
Sadly reviews on TripAdvisor regarding inconsistent service in the restaurant proved to be our experience as well. Service was always painfully slow. Order errors were made on several occasions during the course of our stay. The same side dish we ordered on separate days was served in dramatically different portion sizes and without any condiments on the second day. We even had to get our own coffee refills one morning after waiting 20 minutes for the breakfast server to return to our table.

The wifi service was a nightmare. It took us literally two days to get all of our devices logged on. However once they were connected the wifi proved stable and reliable. We were offered the premium service at no cost after complaining about these failed connections. However this too would not connect our device.

It was disappointing that staff never bothered to check in with us to confirm that the issue had been resolved. We heard other guests reporting the same problem at reception more than so there was clearly something awry with their network. The indifference of staff at reception was surprising given that multiple guests were reporting the same experience. Staff were clearly not capturing this information and passing it on to the next shift.

The complimentary coffee was a poor quality blend and on two separate mornings when we went to prepare a cup the urns were empty. Staff never seemed to check them regularly. In fact on the second day we watched and waited more than half an hour to see just how long it would take before someone refilled them. There were plenty of staff buzzing around during this period. It’s clear that a little more training on attention to detail would dramatically improve this hotel’s history of “hit and miss” reviews.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but felt we could have easily been wowed by the venue had an array of minor details been managed more consistently.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AXSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We stayed at the historic Benbow Inn for three days after talking with several others who had been there in years past. No question it is a lovely historic inn, but attention to detail is lacking, especially considering the rates. Our room was clean, albeit small, with period pieces and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was very small with little room for cosmetics, tooth paste, etc. However, we did have a problem with the dining situation. Our first morning we had to wait at least 20 minutes to be seated at 10am (were there there during the week in mid May so not a lot of people). Our breakfast was overcooked and the waiters stressed, as they said they were short staffed. We ate dinner there only once and the meals are expensive with limited selections. The grounds are lovely, but the grass needed to be mowed and weeds removed. On the positive side, the large deck is wonderful for relaxing or having a drink and there are many common areas to read, play games or just sit by the fireplace.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank jhenry921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews