We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RV Park review only... mediocre park”
Review of Benbow KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garberville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benbow KOA
Hood River, OR
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“RV Park review only... mediocre park”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We only stay in these large parks on occasion. We typically stay at state and federal parks. However, we will stay in places like Benbow to use the laundry and let the kids use the pool as we are passing through an area. Benbow in general is tired, but I can live with that. What I dont understand is why the staff that we encountered were so grouchy. The older guy who checked us in and worked the front counter obviously didnt want to be there and was really unfriendly. The grounds were fairly well kept. The laundry room was clean and the bathrooms and showers were dirty. If you are passing through the area and need a place to stay, Benbow will do. But dont make it a destination, its not worth your time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed a week at the RV resort. The first day there we found we were about 5 feet short on our sewer hose. Went to the Inn for a cocktail and to see where was the best place to go get more hose. Meet John Porter there and he had someone come by the following morning with the hose for us to use!
WHAT SERVICE!!
Everyone was very nice! The sites are a little pricey( we were there over the 4th July) but the imenities were great!

I dont golf, but my husband and boys do and they liked the convience of having the course right there! It was a bit rustic according to them.

We will definately go again!
THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Benbow was a very nice place to visit there is lots too do or just enjoy the the peace a quiet right off 101 there's golf ,swimming or just relaxing in the jacuzzi staff very kind and helpful thank you Cathy for your help to make our stay so pleasant hope to see you soon

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2forty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed a week at the RV Resort over the 4th of July Week. The price for our family of 5 was $67.00 a night. I thought that was way over priced! They charged extra fees for the kids. I think $45.00 - $50.00 would have been more what it was worth. The schedule of events thru the holiday were fantastic! They had a few ice cream socials, bingo games, glow in the dark golf, fireworks, crafts for the kids, a bike parade thru the park in which the kids decorated their bikes with red, white and blue streamers, hot dog lunches. There were small fees on half of the activities, for instance $2.00 for ice cream social. As for the park itself, it was nice, but just okay. The spaces were just average. Not sure why they called the premium sites "premium". Nothing to write home about. The pool was well kept, but older. If you like to golf, the facility was very convienent with golf carts sitting right by the office ready to go. We stayed here as a hub to see Ave of Giants, float the Eel river and do the normal sight seeing around the area. I didn't see a nicer RV park than this one within the area.

Room Tip: Sites further away from HWY 101 were quieter and the sites near the dumpsters stunk bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slaughter beach, de
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

After traveling across the country to see the Redwoods, this is the worse rv park we've stayed in on trip-rundown, dated. Park was less than a 1/3 full probably. Our site #92 is muddy. Paid for a prime site, which has extra table & chairs- which r to dirty to use. Laundry room is the worse we've seen, washer's dirty. We cetainly wouldn't use them. Wifi intermittent, desk had several excuses....Was expecting MUCH better! Road noise bad @ times, right off 101, a lot of truck noise. Golf course looks nice, pool area too. Nonchalant help @ desk. Location is this places saving grace. We had a wk booked, but r leaving after only 3 days. Tea & scones @ Hotel were nice, tho hotel is in need of refurbishing & good cleaning from what we saw.
So long Humboldt. Avenue of Giants is 1/2 a joke too! This area must rely on one time visitors. Fort Bragg area much nicer & accommodating!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expectanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

No 50 amp

tow car parked in the street

RESTAURANT average and over priced

keep driveng

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulterville, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed 2 days at Benbow RV Resort in our travel trailer. Benbow has everything...their own golf course right at your front door...level, full hookups...pull-through and back-in spaces...a fenced doggie run...store on grounds....river...you name it...the Lodge restaurant is nearby...just a mile or so from Garberville, in the California Redwoods. A great experience...very quiet and well run...totally first-class maintained...a five-star experience. As nice as it gets! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
0.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
692 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
68 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbow KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow KOA

Property: Benbow KOA
Address: 7000 Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3603
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Garberville
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benbow KOA offers full hook-ups, pull-through RV sites with cable TV, tent sites, 7 luxury Park Model Cabins, 9-hole golf course, putting green, pool, Jacuzzi, splash park, playground, kid's train ride, sport-court, clubhouse, general store, WiFi and 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benbow Hotel & Resort, Rv Garberville
Benbow Hotel And Resort, Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing