We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind the Stairs”
Review of Benbow KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garberville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benbow KOA
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mind the Stairs”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had reserved two nights here in July to see the Redwoods. We arrived at 3 p.m. and 93 degrees and discovered substantial steps to get to the lobby and then steps to the third floor room. We cut out one day. An elevator is in the works but not certain. Also there was a tour group of 60 the same night. However, the hotel did a good job of staggering the dinners of the group and the morning all together was quite short. So especially older couples beware.
That said, the food was very good and later evenings were wonderful on the patio which is the view shown in the picture on the website of the hotel. Mornings were cool and we would have done well to stay for the nine hole golf course but after our stair experience were anxious to get back to the coast.

Room Tip: High room looking over the back patio and hills seem best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband & I have been passing by the Benbow Hotel for years as we traveled up & down on highway 101 & always say we need to check the place out, we finally did! We stayed for our 32nd anniversary & since we have a new puppy (8 month old German Shepherd) he came with us. We were so surprised that they accepted pets in a few of their rooms & we were concerned as to how the room would be, but you would never know that pets had ever stayed there! There was a $30 pet fee & they have a strict pet policy as you would expect in a place like this. The room was charming with furnishings that made you feel like you stepped back in time, but with modern touches. We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne & a card wishing us a happy anniversary hard written & signed, nice touch. We had dinner & breakfast & the food was delicious, after dinner the chef came out to chat with guests, also a nice touch! Service was a bit slow, but who's in a hurry in a place like this?! We look forward to returning, but without the dog!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet ask for room 103. Beautiful grounds & view of stone bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveling3500
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Nice RV Park, Big Rig Friendly, Dog Friendly, Cable TV , Wi-Fi, Nice 9 hole golf course.
Don't play golf in early morning, wet- wet grounds. Tea and Scones at Benbow Inn at 3 pm
VERY NICE IDEA. Will stay again. Nice location to Visit Redwoods. Pool for Kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellng3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Inn on July 4th -- met up with daughter & family and her in-laws who are staying at the RV park. The inn is lovely -- rooms historic, disability access is something they are working on. You have to walk up a bunch of stairs to get to registration and then more to your room -- so be aware. We spent the afternoon at the RV park; nice BBQ and gorgeous 4th of July fireworks. It seemed like a really nice place to camp and hang out.

We did not get to try the restaurant at the Inn, but enjoyed their warm scones & jam at tea time on the afternoon of the 4th before heading to RV park. Had a yummy lemon fizz and my husband enjoyed a margarita with his instead of tea :-)

Room Tip: We understand you can bring your small dog but you have to request a special garden room. Our daugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Excellent service and food. We've stayed almost every June for the last 10 years, and we love the Benbow. I have also stayed at the campground/RV park next door, and it's top notch as well. They are putting in some small cabins for travelers. Friendly, attentive staff, Maggie in the dining room is a GEM! June, 2013 sees upgrades all around--very nice! Your pleasurable stay is their top priority. The 2 times I've had minor issues, they have taken care of them immediately!

Room Tip: No TV is a plus! Step back in time and enjoy the simplicity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Benbow Inn has beautiful grounds in a beautiful setting. It would just be a little more perfect if it was not accented with the noise from the highway that it sits right next to.. The building is very old and for the history buff is probably a joy to tour. To go along with the age of this hotel is the fact that there is no elevator. For those staying on the third floor like us, and some the second, the trek to your room can be a workout in itself. The staff are friendly and will assist with carrying bags to your room. We were here for a training that my husband was attending so I was left on my own for two days. Let me say, thank goodness for wifi. There are no tv's in the rooms, the closest town with anything decent for shopping is at least an hour away. All in all this hotel was not for us. If you are looking for a quite getaway, enjoy nature and historical buildings you may enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTBokor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The building is 80 years old and the public areas and restaurant are quite lovely esp. if you like old architecture. The exterior of the building and patio area have a rather run down look.

We checked in on Friday afternoon Memorial Day weekend and were welcomed by hammering and sawing sounds. When we had made our reservation no one mentioned that the Inn was under construction. We were escorted upstairs through the 2nd floor construction site to our room on the 3rd floor. Our room's renovation was complete and the room was small, average with a very small bathroom and lots of dust from the ongoing construction one floor below.

We went straight to the on-site bar to drown our disappointment, where we had a difficult time getting the bartender's attention as he was busy visiting and sharing details about his new hot young girlfriend with the locals and construction crew (who had thankfully just ended their work for the weekend).

We then spoke to the front desk staff about our concerns and disappointment. The staff was super friendly, un-surprised and responsive. We were offered an upgrade for a nominal fee to a much larger Terrace Room (outside the main building) where hallways also showed evidence of construction work... obviously a work in progress. Our Terrace Room's renovation was complete and the room was large, average, dark like a cave, with a few nice antique pieces.

Our dinner that evening and breakfast the next morning in the hotel restaurant were very good and the service was very good as well.

I recommend visiting the Benbow Inn if you are in the area for a meal and/or drink in a nice setting. I felt the lodging was quite expensive for very average rooms and so would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrotfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
0.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
700 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
68 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbow KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow KOA

Property: Benbow KOA
Address: 7000 Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3603
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Garberville
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benbow KOA offers full hook-ups, pull-through RV sites with cable TV, tent sites, 7 luxury Park Model Cabins, 9-hole golf course, putting green, pool, Jacuzzi, splash park, playground, kid's train ride, sport-court, clubhouse, general store, WiFi and 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benbow Hotel & Resort, Rv Garberville
Benbow Hotel And Resort, Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing