We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent RV Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benbow KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garberville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benbow KOA
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent RV Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 for several nights. The resort was our home base when visiting the Redwoods. The staff is helpful and friendly and the resort was spotless. There was construction going on in the back of the resort but that did not detract from our stay. The resort was quiet and a lovely location to enjoy our evenings. Would stay here again when traveling in this area. Because we were sightseeing during the day, did not use the pool but it was clean and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow KOA, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Retire T,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Valley RV Resort to park and stay during your visit to the Redwoods. We are pleased to know the construction did not keep you from enjoying your stay. We hope the next time you pass through you will choose us again and maybe enjoy the pool. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
24
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent a weekend here and very much enjoyed the area. Park was clean, in process of building a very large play area for kids, large pool with small water park attached. We are not golfers but many others staying were - seemed like an ideal setup for golfers. We enjoyed the quiet area and the avenue of giants nearby. There are a lot of permanent people but it was still very clean compared to others we have been too with permanent campers. They also have a large hall for reunions etc. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow KOA, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Debi Y:

Thank you for choosing Benbow Valley RV Resort for your visit to the area. The fact that you were able to find and enjoy some quiet time is wonderful. We are happy you noticed the expansion of our kid-friendly area currently under construction. We appreciate your comments on how clean you found our facilities. We hope the next time you are in the area you will choose us for you stay. Thanks Again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stop here annually and I can't believe I have not reviewed this hotel before. We always enjoy our stay here. It's an historic building that's a welcome change after motels and B&B's on our trip through the Pacific Northwest. Though it's only a few feet from the Interstate, it manages to be quiet and peaceful with beautiful grounds. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed - though a bit small. The staff is very friendly and efficient. We always have dinner and the food is generally very good. It's location, at the southern end of the redwoods, is perfect.
There are a couple of reasons that I gave it 4, rather than 5 stars. One is that it refuses to install elevators or any kind of assistance for handicapped or elderly persons needing to get luggage up to the rooms. The second is that the rooms are a bit overpriced. Overall, though, it's an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had reserved two nights here in July to see the Redwoods. We arrived at 3 p.m. and 93 degrees and discovered substantial steps to get to the lobby and then steps to the third floor room. We cut out one day. An elevator is in the works but not certain. Also there was a tour group of 60 the same night. However, the hotel did a good job of staggering the dinners of the group and the morning all together was quite short. So especially older couples beware.
That said, the food was very good and later evenings were wonderful on the patio which is the view shown in the picture on the website of the hotel. Mornings were cool and we would have done well to stay for the nine hole golf course but after our stair experience were anxious to get back to the coast.

Room Tip: High room looking over the back patio and hills seem best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband & I have been passing by the Benbow Hotel for years as we traveled up & down on highway 101 & always say we need to check the place out, we finally did! We stayed for our 32nd anniversary & since we have a new puppy (8 month old German Shepherd) he came with us. We were so surprised that they accepted pets in a few of their rooms & we were concerned as to how the room would be, but you would never know that pets had ever stayed there! There was a $30 pet fee & they have a strict pet policy as you would expect in a place like this. The room was charming with furnishings that made you feel like you stepped back in time, but with modern touches. We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne & a card wishing us a happy anniversary hard written & signed, nice touch. We had dinner & breakfast & the food was delicious, after dinner the chef came out to chat with guests, also a nice touch! Service was a bit slow, but who's in a hurry in a place like this?! We look forward to returning, but without the dog!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet ask for room 103. Beautiful grounds & view of stone bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveling3500
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Nice RV Park, Big Rig Friendly, Dog Friendly, Cable TV , Wi-Fi, Nice 9 hole golf course.
Don't play golf in early morning, wet- wet grounds. Tea and Scones at Benbow Inn at 3 pm
VERY NICE IDEA. Will stay again. Nice location to Visit Redwoods. Pool for Kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellng3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Inn on July 4th -- met up with daughter & family and her in-laws who are staying at the RV park. The inn is lovely -- rooms historic, disability access is something they are working on. You have to walk up a bunch of stairs to get to registration and then more to your room -- so be aware. We spent the afternoon at the RV park; nice BBQ and gorgeous 4th of July fireworks. It seemed like a really nice place to camp and hang out.

We did not get to try the restaurant at the Inn, but enjoyed their warm scones & jam at tea time on the afternoon of the 4th before heading to RV park. Had a yummy lemon fizz and my husband enjoyed a margarita with his instead of tea :-)

Room Tip: We understand you can bring your small dog but you have to request a special garden room. Our daugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
0.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbow KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow KOA

Property: Benbow KOA
Address: 7000 Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3603
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Garberville
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benbow KOA offers full hook-ups, pull-through RV sites with cable TV, tent sites, 7 luxury Park Model Cabins, 9-hole golf course, putting green, pool, Jacuzzi, splash park, playground, kid's train ride, sport-court, clubhouse, general store, WiFi and 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benbow Hotel & Resort, Rv Garberville
Benbow Hotel And Resort, Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing