We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill”
Review of Garberville Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garberville Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here a couple of years ago and it had good value (decent place at a low cost). However, it is now a dump. It seems to attract a lower class of people (probably because of the low price), and they facilities are old, the rooms not very secure, and it needs more insulation or something as there is a lot of noise. The owner either had a bad day this time or he knows the place is going downhill as he was not nearly as nice this time as he was a couple of years ago.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else, even if it costs considerably more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived late not expecting much but we really surprised by this hotel. It was very cheap - 3 adults only $69. The dogs were an extra 5 each only. The reception was quick (which we were grateful for after a long day) and friendly. The room was large, bigger than some other chain hotels and it had cable and a flat screen tv. We felt safe and enjoyed a good sleep. I would recommend this hotel especially for the price you pay!!!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Bladestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

"very clean, comfortable & spacious room" price and the convenience, you can't beat it. also a awesome location. service is goooood. the best budget stay in garberville. front desk is also attractive,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

No it's not the Hilton, but it is very clean and comfortable. The room was spacious and the water hot. It is located in a tiny town and there are other big named motel chains in the town, but for the price and the convenience, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeKelly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went in this motel not expecting much, after some of the horrible experiences from some Motel 6s. Surprisingly this one had pretty good rooms, free WiFi, no weird smell in the non-smoking room and the layout was nice unlike those long corridors you usually find in motels. Had nice big queen beds and we were able to get a room when we arrived on a Saturday bight on the President's day long weekend.

Thank Dharmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2013

...then this is your place. Two doors down from my room was a group of guys smoking marijuana outside their room. The lobby smells like curry. As others have mentioned, ask to see the room before you commit. Garberville is a place you want to pass through, not stay at if at all possible. There is a reason the Best Western in town is able to charge what they do, but there are no real top choices in this town.

Room Tip: Across the street at the Best Western is a better choice. I was not able to stay there because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Hiddenshutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Arrived in town rather late and needed a room and this place had a vacancy with a room that fit our needs so we said yes. The room was adequate and clean enough for us for one night. There isn't anything convenient close by to eat so we wound up at the local grocery store looking for something to eat.
The desk person was not awfully friendly and had an attitude which was as if we were interrupting something he had going on as we were inquiring about a room.
Later there were people going through the dumpster - I mean inside it looking for something which we thought looked a little strange but the town was full of folks that were in the area to enjoy something other than the local scenery.
Although the room and rate was adequate and acceptable I would not plan on staying at the Garberville Motel or in Garberville on any future trips... but that is just me.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask to see the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BQmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.1 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
0.1 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
61 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garberville Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garberville Motel

Address: 948 Redwood Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3109
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range: £66 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garberville Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Garberville Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garberville Hotel Garberville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing