We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel out of 5 on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Rhinelander, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best motel out of 5 on our trip”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our room was very clean , the bed was comfortable, great pillows& bedding . Bath nice with two sinks . Free wine & cheese was a treat . The breakfast had everything you needed , very good , everyone who worked there treated you kindly , I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    327
    108
    68
    43
See reviews for
291
319
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Bay, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is located in a sketchy area with too few parking spaces and poor lighting in the parking lot. We arrived around 9 pm and wanted to grab a bite to eat preferably someplace close within walking distance. The desk clerk suggested a place a block away but after walking there, we found that every restaurant in this part of town was closed already. Along the short walk from the hotel, we were approached by no less than 6 or 8 (presumably) homeless folks sacked out in the doorways of closed businesses. Most were 20-somethings with backpacks, hanging out with others. There was no aggression, but it was a bit intimidating for my wife and I to run into this in a tiny town as we walked along the poorly-lit street.

Back at the hotel, we settled into our room. It was furnished nicely, but not particularly clean. There was hair in the ice bucket - ugh! The hotel appears to be a 'home away from home' for many contractors. There were many contractor vans and pickup trucks in the parking lot. In turn, very early the next day the noise of diesel trucks starting at sunrise woke us up much earlier than we would have preferred.

One further note... after a stressful 8 hr drive through torrential rain we were looking forward to using the hot tub at this hotel. Unfortunately, it was closed. In summary, if you are looking just for a bed and shower, this place will do. However, if you want a clean hotel room in a nice, walkable town followed by a lazy morning wake-up, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Arrive early in the day to grab a parking space in a safe area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
637 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We had a good stay at Best Western in Garberville. We found staff were friendly. The room was larger than average and the rate was good. We found the hotel to be clean. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was better than most and the wine and cheese was a nice touch. Good location and and the only draw back was although there are plenty of lunch places most of the local restaurants close by 3pm so getting dinner can be a challenge.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were in room 205A in the front building. Nice spacious room with balcony overlooking grassy area and view to mountains. Room was modern and very clean. A nice touch was the complimentary wine and cheese served from 5:30 to 7:30 every evening. There were plenty of selections for breakfast. There were eggs, sausages, biscuits and gravy, cereals, fruit and juices. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVlasflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After a beautiful day driving through the Redwoods along the Avenue of the Giants, we came to Garberville, CA and the BW Humboldt House. Our experience was nasty and we were very anxious to leave. Ants and flies in the cheese holder on the wine and cheese display, ants climbing on the inside window next to our table, ants in our bathroom on the floor, sink and counter, filthy carpet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Barb528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I visited 10/21/2013 I am staying 3 nights while on a photography journey and considering the area of Garberville this is by far your best bet for lodging on the middle tier scale. The rates are acceptable and the room nicely appointed as evidenced by the upgrades including Flat Screen TV...great wireless connection and exceptionally clean as well as the grounds and pool area being maintained.

I encountered no problems with check-in or the hotel staff.

The breakfast is the bonus so take advantage of the offerings. Both hot and cold foods that cover all the breakfast wants and of course excellent sausage gravy. The Garden Room is clean and inviting. The cheese/wine reception late afternoon is a great way to meet fellow travelers.

The only thing I should warn folks about is more about the area than the hotel. If you are planning on eating dinner in Garberville I would suggest eating before you arrive or heading north to Eureka, another hour north. There are simply no acceptable places to have a nice dinner and I don't want you going to bed hungry.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Staff were friendly on checkin, the room rate was good and the room average. The lighting in the room was poor and we had to turn every light on just so we could read. The bed was comfortable though. as people were smoking on the landing we could not have a window open. The hotel was ok for a one night stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
673 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
55 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
Address: 701 Redwood Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Humboldt House Hotel Garberville
Best Western Humboldt Hotel
Best Western Garberville
Garberville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing