We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Couldn't have any complaints really. The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean. It is in a good location for getting to Disney.
The only two things that annoyed me slightly were
-having to pay $10 a day for internet access, but from what I gather this is standard in most of LA.
-having to get a member of staff to escort you to your safe everytime you need to open it.

It really is a nice hotel and I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone. There is a nice roof area and depending which side of the building you are on you could get a view of the fireworks in Disney every evening.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and staff during your recent visit with us. We are currently in the process of updating all of our guestrooms, and once completed, all rooms will be equipped with an in-room safe for your convenience. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future, and appreciate your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,698
    1,075
    346
    134
    59
See reviews for
1,602
386
71
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for a week in a 10th Floor 2 bedroom suite. The room itself was perfectly adequate with two en-suites and a large lounge. Although the room was tired, it was clean and large enough for 4 adults. I understand that the Hotel is about to undergo a facelift which is definately needed in the rooms to bring it up to the standard we see in Europe.

We found the concierge staff to be very helpful and were on first name terms within a day or so.

Apart from the "tired" nature of the room, we couldn't really fault the hotel or staff and with the free shuttle bus every 30 mins to the gates of Disney the location couldn't be much better.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Essex_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the staff and the complimentary shuttle service to Disney. We hope that you will come back and see us once we’ve completed remodeling our suites and guestrooms to make your stay even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We have now stayed in this hotel twice and are planning on a return towards the end of this year. The service was outstanding.
The first time we stayed at this hotel we got to know Angela, a concierge, and when we came back (four years later) she recognised us all and was very friendly, this made our stay all the more enjoyable.
The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy and we had a very comfortable stay. We put the shuttles to and from Disney to good use during the daytime and night time.
I wouldn't wish for any other hotel to stay in.
Thank you hyatt!!
p.s If you are looking to stay at Hyatt then i strongly advise it!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyattsbiggestfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
We are happy to hear that you had another pleasurable stay with us! We look forward to having you back as our guests again in the near future. Thank you for choosing Hyatt, and for providing such wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed here for a week during the 4th of July and overall it was awesome. The hotel seemed very kid friendly and the ability to take the shuttle back and forth to Disneyland was a definite plus.

We had a kid suite and my 8 and 4 yr old loved the bunk bed with their own TV. Intially when we checked in we had a room on the west side of the hotel on the 5th floor it was ok but then we found old food and trash near the bed so we notifed the front desk and it was Jason. He was awesome! He said that was not acceptable and put us in a fantastic room on the north side of the hotel on the 8th floor where you could see the fireworks from disney each night!

The furniature was a little beat up but that was ok being that this was a kids suite. The room was clean except for the carpet it looked pretty dirty. The cleaning staff was really nice. The fridge didn't have a freezer so we couldn't keep any ice cream. The pool was suppose to be heated but it sure didn't feel like it, but if you sat in the jacuzzi long enough it was a refreshing way to cool off for a little bit.

Oh and don't forget you are going to have to pay for parking and internet service but after staying at 3 different 4 star hotels during our trip in July thats pretty much the same thing for all the hotels!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boobootravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
We really appreciate your feedback, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and staff. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Orange County, and we look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
740 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

There is everything to like about this place.

1) Huge beautiful lobby. Nicest in the Disney area. It is a huge glass facade that brings in a lot of light.
2) Staff is helpful and cordial.
3) The bar is a really cool bar that would look great in a more urban hotel.
4) The pool area is nice and there are some great extra perks, like a really great tennis court!
5) The rooms were decent, but could use a bit of an update. They are clean though...

If you are staying in the area, there are 2 places to stay, the Embassy Suites next door or this Hyatt. This is a really great place with lots to offer at VERY low prices for what is offered!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback that you provided. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our hotel, and hope that we have the pleasure of having you back as our guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

we had a family wedding coming up and wanted a nice place with large rooms. almost 2 months before the wedding i checked out their website and noticed they offered a king smoking suite. i booked this suite knowing that family members that i hadn't seen in years would be comfortable visiting. i also called the hotel directly..not once, not twice, but three times including the day before check in, just to make sure that we were getting the requested suite. was assured that the king smoking suite was there for our 2 night stay. after fighting traffic, tired and hungry, and needing to get my diabetic meds in me, we arrived. went to the desk to check in, and were very rudely told, we don't offer smoking king suites. the lady seemed to take great delight in telling us this. never said "i'm sorry", never tried to make any kind of resolution, even though i had confirmation paper clearly stating "smoking king suite". she was perhaps the rudest person i had ever come across. on a very busy weekend we were sent off looking for a different hotel. was a bad move on hyatts part, due to the fact that over 300 guests at this wedding heard this story and was completely stunned. thanks to hyatt our 2 day family weekend turned into a nightmare where we had to change hotels and were lucky enough to finally find a room elsewhere. our guests had to sleep on a pull out sofa, and the floor, due to the fact that every other hotel was sold out. the people at the hotel where we stayed were amazing. they listened to our story and went above and beyond in trying to make us as comfortable as possible. needless to say because of hyatt our weekend with my family was ruined. we cut our stay short because it was hard staying in a small room with so many people. i would never recommend hyatt to anybody EVER. rude, snotty and a bunch of liars. i feel extremely cheated by their bait and switch way, and i plan to find every site possible to give a review on this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadedSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

March 28, 2009 my wife and I just got married that night and chose this hotel to celebrate our first night as husband and wife. We got a 2bdroom suite and had our bridal party join us in the room after the wedding. Hotel security comes charging in and acts like we're a bunch of high school kids having a party. They had the audacity to tell me The Best Western is down the street, which was the most unprofessional thing that could've been said. When I replied by saying that a complaint will be filed with management, they snickered and said, "go ahead". They disrespected my wife and I and all of our bridal party. They demanded the extra guests leave at once. At that point my wife and I refused to stay in a hotel that would treat us with such disrespect.

I've dealt with 3 people with Hyatt, and all of have been a nightmare. They would not issue me a credit for my whole stay and put the blame on me for allowing too many guests in my room. They agreed to issue 1 nights credit and I have been going back and forth with them for the past 3 months and they still can't figure out how to issue me a credit.

I have refrained from posting a comment about my stay but after 3 months and no resolution I'm tired of the run around. All of my family and friends have heard the story, some witnessed it, and they will never step foot in another Hyatt. I've filed my complaint with BBB to hopefully speed up the resolution process.

I rate this hotel AWFUL for the bad service and lack of resolution.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 03wrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Hotel Management at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 24 July 2009
While we can understand your frustration with your wedding night, you must understand the need for a hotel not to have large parties in guest sleeping rooms. Please understand that we cannot allow large, loud parties in our guest sleeping rooms, especially when the parties disrupt other guests. It is never the hotel's intention to have to evict a large party, late at night, however we also have to ensure that disruptive behavior in our guest rooms does not occur for the safety and security of all of our guests.

We apologize how this situation has left a negative impression with you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management of the Hyatt Regency Orange County
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#46 of 118 in Anaheim
4,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Property: Hyatt Regency Orange County
Address: 11999 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing