We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Hat Special Bargain Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Hard Hat Special Bargain Stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I chose the Hyatt Regency Orange County because I had a four day conference at the Anaheim Convention Centre. The hotel is currently undergoing massive renovations and were offering a hard hat special of $69.00 per night which was amazing. I got upgraded to a newly refurbished kingsize suite for $10.00 a night more. The hotel is the same as all the big name Anaheim hotels but its location is not ideal. The area surrounding the hotel looks very depressed and it is a bit of hike up to the convention centre each day.

I was very happy with my stay. When the renovations are complete I think it will have the best eating and bar areas of any of the hotels. It is virtually impossible to get a decent meal anywhere in Anaheim. Other than Disneyland it must be one of the most boring places on earth with fast fat food outlets littering the streets. I find Anaheim a totally soul-less place but the Hyatt felt like home and I appreciated the friendly staff. Of course most people come to Anaheim for Disneyland or to attend a conference.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the value of your stay in one of our newly renovated suites. We hope that the next time your travels bring you back to Orange County, we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    1,090
    351
    135
    60
See reviews for
1,628
392
73
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schererville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

There really isn't much to say about this hotel. Parking is of course expensive like everything else in the area. The hotel is huge. It was kind of a haul from the parking lot through the hotel to the front desk. Rooms are fine, nice bedding & toiletries (even special Hyatt Aquafresh or something toothpaste).
My only real gripe was the girl at the front desk that was socializing with friends while a line was forming to check-in. But our check-in went fine when someone else picked up the slack.
I'd stay again when in the Disneyland area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on the hotel and services. Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Orange County, and we hope to have you back as our guests again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

So we stayed in one of their nicer rooms. It was a 3 room suite- a large livingroom with a huge sectional sofa with a pull out bed, 42 inch flat screen TV, Desk, microwave and small fridge. The bedrooms were very nice and were at either end of the livingroom so there was some good seperation which I liked. The kids room had a large bunk bed, it's own bathroom and 42 inch screen TV. The Masterbedroom also had a 42 inch screen TV (3 total for the room) and a nice, NICE bed with feather pillows, down comforter ect.

Overall, the room was great. The staff was very professional and friendly. They are very accomodating. We ordered room service several times and the food was very good. No complaints there. The portions were so big that on our second day, we ordered only one egg breakfast for our four kids and a shortstack and we still had pancakes left over. Try the steak breakfast- delish!

The only thing (or should I say THINGS) that bothered me was the nickle and diming that seems to go on there. For one, they charge you $19 a day for parking. They also charge $9.95 a day for internet. There is a Starbucks in the lobby but it's crazy expensive- think $5.00 for your regular $3.00 latte. There is a $2.50 charge for "delivery" on the room service bill in addition to the 20% gratuity that they also charge you. Then, they leave the TIP line empty on the charge draft that you sign so you end up adding another tip to the bill if you're not paying attention (which my husband was not unfortunatly). We paid $35 in tips for breakfast alone on day one. I didn't want to call down and have the extra tip removed because I felt like it was petty, but buyer beware.

They have two pool areas and the pool is supposed to be heated. No. It was cold- not my idea of heated in any way. The pool at the Embassy Suites is a heated pool. This place- no. We did the jacuzzi instead which was fine.

There are in room movies that you can buy but they are $13.99 each. Some of them are still in theaters so I get it but the regular TV selection isn't that great so you kind of have to get a movie if you're gonna have a night in. There are NO kids channels. We flipped through and found a Disney channel only to realize that it was some Nascar channel. We called the front desk and they said that their service provider yanked their cartoon channels?

Overall, I would say it was a pleasant stay but if you want GREAT value, do the Residence Inn next door. The rooms all have a full kitchen, there's an amazing hot breakfast buffet every morning included in the price of your room, they have kid's channels and parking is free. They also have free dinners on some nights down by the pool. Next time we'll go there when we want a more kid friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilypad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s guestroom and service, and appreciate you letting us know about the other concerns that you had. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to have you back as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My husband and I stayed three nights visiting two of our children at area colleges. Our 19 year old son spent one night with us in a newly renovated two bedroom suite. The suite was spacious, the beds very comfortable, the hotel quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The drawbacks, breakfast buffet which was in a conference room due to renovations (soon to be complete) and the construction - which we knew of when we booked. The construction crew made every effort to be quiet and as unobtrusive as possible. We has some marvelous sunny weather and spent time at the pool at the south tower and working out in the fitness center - a really well equipped one. It was just a perfect afternoon! We'd love to stay here again whenever we visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siskelandebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 17 March 2010
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s staff and amenities during your recent stay with us in a newly renovated suite. The renovation will soon be complete, and we will have a brand new restaurant, TusCA, that you will have to try for breakfast during your next visit. We look forward to having you back as our guests, and thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I absolutely love this hotel! My wife and 2 yr old daughter fly down to Disneyland all of the time and we make a point of staying here. The staff is always super helpful, your close to tons of great family friendly restaurants, the shuttle is so convenient, the rooms are upgraded and always spotless, and the kids suite is awesome! My only gripe would be the cost of parking (pretty standard in the area though) and the fact that their two pool areas lack any real imagination. We're hoping that the huge remodel they are in the midst of will help that problem.

This hotel has always been a super value (hopefully that won't change after the remodel) and we always take advantage of the upgrade to a kids suite.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _derekboyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the newly renovated Kids Suite, as well as the hotel’s services and staff. Our renovation will be complete next month, and we look forward to having you and your family back as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2010

The hotel was below what I expected to come from the Hyatt. The room was below expectation with a regular old CRT TV that you would expect at a Super 8 but not at a Hyatt. The service was average and the required valet parking was overpriced. I wish I would have stayed in Valencia for Six Flags another night instead at the Embassy Suites Valencia where the service was spectacular, free parking, 42" flat screen HD TV's, 2 room suites standard, managers reception with open bar, and heated pool. WOW, what a difference. How is it possible these two hotels are the same price? Hyatt, I'm very disappointed. Plus, I almost forgot to mention waking up to the sounds of hammers and drills below my room from remodeling at 5:00AM. Ridiculous, and the response from the front desk when called was "Sorry we are remodeling and there is nothing we can do." Well what you could have done was put us in a room away from the construction area?!?!?!?!?!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superchargedhummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay at the hotel. We hope that you will come back and visit us once the $25 million renovation is complete in April, and allow us to provide you with the Hyatt level of quality and service that is expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Bathroom was dirty. We asked to have it cleaned and it clearly was not. It was straightened but not cleaned. The hotel was also under construction, but there was no indication of that when making the reservations. Parking was expensive too. The online reviews called it a 4 star hotel. I wouldn't give it 4 stars, 2 or 3 maybe. We've stayed at a number of Hyatt's and liked them all, but this was the first bummer. The refrigerator was $25 extra and the hotel is right next store to a night club that was loud and had a bunch gang bangers spilling out into the street and into the hotel parking lot.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnmlevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
We apologize for any frustration that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about these issues, so that we may address them. The property will be finishing our $25 million renovation next month, and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as our guests again upon completion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#27 of 118 in Anaheim
1,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Property: Hyatt Regency Orange County
Address: 11999 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing