We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok...maybe slightly better than ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“It's ok...maybe slightly better than ok...”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Homewood Suites in September 2012. We chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews from Trip Advisor, and this was the first time that I was a bit disappointed in my 'trip advisor choice'.

The hotel is in a good location. It is not far from Disneyland (but too far to walk), and has a shuttle going on the half-hour ($4pp). There is also a charge for parking of $12/night. In the walking-distance vicinity you will find several restaurants that are good - Outback, Starbucks, Red Robin, and a nice SoCal Mexican place across the street called La Casa Garcia.

The daily breakfast was okay, not terrible, not excellent. The selection included daily make-your-own waffles, fruit salad, yoghurt, granola, toastable items, plus a different hot food each day like eggs & bacon, or bisuits & gravy, or breakfast muffin round eggs & sausage. Although it was not outstanding, I found the value to be excellent...considering the cost if we were to eat out.

The rooms were updated and reasonably clean, but not great quality - I think pretty average for what you would expect for a 3-star hotel. The corridors were in terrible shape, the wallpaper was scratched down the corridor, the carpet was stretched and had wrinkles in it. We used the elevator a couple of times, then chose to use the stairs to/from the 3rd floor for the rest of our stay as it felt like we were taking our life into our own hands while in it.

The pool area was okay, a bit worn around the edges, but the chairs were in good condition. The pool itself had quite a bit of chlorene in it and our kids only swam in it once because of this.

The staff was VERY nice, every one of them, and if I could have given the rating a 4 for staff only I would have...otherwise it was all just 'ok'.

Would we go back...nope.

Would I recommend it to someone...depends on what they are looking for...if you're looking for a really cheap place to stay then yes, it is better than average. Otherwise I'd recommend the Candy Cane Inn, which we stayed at on our last Anaheim trip, and found it to be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northwestfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    399
    153
    86
    64
See reviews for
1,002
92
23
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The title says it all and that means a lot since our first stay was great! Stayed for six nights on an extended road trip.

I'll start with the only negative thing that happened. When we got into the room and unloaded everything my wife took off her shoes and stepped into a big puddle of soda that had soaked into the carpet. I can see why housekeeping missed it because you couldn't see it at all and if you had shoes on, you probably wouldn't notice it. A call down to the front desk and they moved us into the next room over. They even waived the parking fees for us haveing to pack up our stuff and move!

Otherwise, everything was great. Food was good, pool was warm this time and the front desk was as helpful as ever.

We will be back in April!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the North side on the top two floors, you can see the fireworks from your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Nice, clean rooms. Great breakfast choices. We always went down every morning at 6:30 and never had a problem with the breakfast crowds. I noticed between 8:00-9:00 the breakfast are was crowded. Well worth getting up a little earlier to avoid that. The staff was very friendly. My only complaint was there was no towels by the swimming pool. We came inside and asked for them three separate times within a two hour period. They kept saying they would bring them out, but they never did. Finally it was time to come in, so my kids walked through the hotel dripping wet. They do have a shuttle, but we decided to park at the Disneyland parking and pay a few dollars more. I am glad we did. The hotel shuttle is shared with other hotels and we didn't want to make all of those stops. Target is right across the street and there are a lot of restaurants close by. The mattress on the couch bed is not very thick and is best for kids not adults. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenShake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fremont
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We chose this hotel for it's location to Disneyland. An added benefit was the wonderful staff and amenities. Our suite was big enough for our toddler to roam around, the furniture was very stylish yet durable and practical, beds and linens were comfortable and clean, pool was great, and breakfast was just right to get us going in the morning. You can walk to restaurants, Starbucks for you coffee lovers, and Target, If we had any issues or problems, Connie, Barbara, Ben, and Byrum were there for us. They made sure the issue was addressed and handled appropriately and in a timely manner. I really appreciated the service we recieved from them as well as the rest of staff. It made our mini-vacation stress free. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our latest stay here.
Thanks to the great staff!
This is the only place we stay at when we visit Disneyland. I can't believe someone in another review criticized the kitchen for using plastic cutlery. Are you kidding me?
It would be dangerous to use anything otherwise with the amount of unsupervised children running furiously around the kitchen!

And what is it with people taking back enough food to their rooms to feed a neighbourhood?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caaaaaaaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

If you are visiting Disneyland, this is our HOTEL of choice! This is our second visit and it was even better than the first. The hotel staff is so genuine and courteous and ensures your stay is enjoyable. The hotel is about 2 miles south of Disneyland, but never fear, they have a shuttle for about $2 per person per day that will take you back and forth. It's a steal and no hassle! The complimentary breakfast is delicious, and I look forward to making my own waffle. This is a great value for the hotel and a huge perk if you are hitting the theme parks. We went as a couple, but this is great for familes as you have a nice large suite with mini kitchen. This is now our hotel of choice when visiting Disneyland. I have stayed at many around the area and this one is our new home. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azcam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I cannot praise the staff enough, nothing was too much trouble their customer service second to none. The hotel was really clean with our rooms cleaned daily. Our son celebrated his 40th birthday during our stay, the staff joined in the celebration by giving him a birthday cake and singing happy birthday to him, while we were sat on the shuttle bus, a memory that will remain with us for some time!
The pool was fantastic we had 5 children with us and they loved every minute of their time in the pool, which was clean and well cared for.
Thanks to all at the Homenwood Suites for a lovely holiday I would recommend the hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Orange County/Garden Grove
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing