We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slipping a bit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slipping a bit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have stayed here at least six or seven times, maybe more and have always been very happy. However, the last two times things weren't quite as good as they have been in the past. Two months ago we got a room with several things wrong. There were sugar ants in the bathroom and the shower curtain rod was broken causing the shower curtain to hang in the tub, the door between the rooms wouldn't close completely. The front desk was super apologetic, and quickly switched us to a new room which was fine. This time there was an earwig in the shower. It wasn't that big of a deal, bugs happen, I figured it would just wash down the drain and that would be the end of that, but there was another one the next day. There was mold in the bathroom,up high on the wall paper, and around the drain in the tub. The caulk in the shower was starting to fail, and just looked bad. There were tiles coming loose in the bathroom area, and once again, the door between the rooms had issues. We also found an empty liter soda bottle behind the sofa when we swept the room to leave.

We didn't complain about anything and I'm quite sure they would have made it good, but I would say that someone in authority needs to make a sweep of the rooms now and then to check the little things. They shouldn't have to rely on patrons to point out things that are wrong.

Their customer service is still the best I have ever experienced. Super super people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poodlepuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
First of all, I want to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and assure you that we are addressing the items you have mentioned. I personally inspect our suites and have found instances of the shower curtain rod issue you mention and we are checking all suites for this. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    386
    142
    85
    61
See reviews for
945
86
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Anytime we are staying in the Disneyland area, this is our first choice for lodging. We have stayed here so many times that for the kids, they say it feels like coming home and they know the property by heart!

Highlights for us at this property are the generous size accommodations with the separate bedroom from the family room and almost a full kitchen. I personally love the "L" shaped couch because it's conducive to family time if we want to watch a movie one evening and just cuddle with the kids. I love the completely separate bedroom so we can put the kids to bed and watch TV and have a little Mom and Dad time before we head off to slumber.

The pool at this property is always a delight and we intentionally arrive early the day of check-in so the kids can have some pool time. I would describe this pool area as particularly nice and beautiful for a smallish hotel. I have checked out the pool area at the very expensive Marriott next door and it is nothing compared to the Homewood suites beautiful landscaping, generous size pool, lots of comfy pool furniture, Jacuzzi and they even have a kiddie pool which is almost unheard of at a hotel that is not a full service resort. During the week when they have their complimentary dinner (with free wine and beer by the way), we have a routine. The kids are swimming and we usually are just watching and visiting with each other, enjoying a book or the sunshine or both. At 5:00 when they begin serving dinner, I will go in and get the kids their plates of food, bring it out to the pool area (since there are tables with chairs and umbrellas), kids get out, dry off and have dinner pool-side, then get back in for another hour or so while my husband and I have our dinners with wine, relax and continue to enjoy the good life! Quite nice.

Recently the hotel renovated some of it's soft furnishings like new drapes and the hallways all received new carpeting and wall paper I think. The rooms feel very clean and fresh every time we have stayed here. Our stays are usually very smooth and enjoyable but I recently had a minor issue that was dealt with by the general manager Gary in a very prompt and satisfactory manner. He was highly interested in me being a happy and returning customer. He even took the time to call me personally to see how to best resolve the minor issue. What customer service! The front desk staff have always been very friendly and can usually fulfill any reasonable request.

I truly wish there were more Homewood Suites around the country and I also wish they would extend the complimentary dinner to seven nights a week, then we wouldn't hardly stay anywhere else! We can't wait to return to this property and once again come home.

Room Tip: On nights there are fireworks at Disneyland, ask for a high floor room facing the park and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applejanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to post your very kind comments about your recent stay with us. We look forwartd to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have stayed at a few Homewood Suites in other cities and have enjoyed our experience. However, this location was not up to our typical Homewood Suites standards. Rooms were fairly clean, however, we found a used dirty towel in one of the drawers. There was no iron or blowdryer in the room so that had to be requested. Phone was broken, walls are thin so we could basically hear our neighbors all night long, and the list goes on and on. Location is convenient to restaurants, Disneyland, and the Anaheim Convention Center, however we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis v, Guest Service Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I truly apologize for the suite condition during your visit. I thank you for sharing about your stay and we deeply regret any inconvenience this might have caused, we will make sure to utilize this information to ensure it does not happen in the future, and Please feel free to contact me if there is anything else that you would like to share or if there is anything else that I can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This Hotel and staff are so great they are awesome and treat us so well 4 times this year on family fun time and each time is a pleasure I want to live here at this hotel LOL but really we look forward to our next visit and see the staff I think we are counting the day's until we return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis v, Guest Service Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are really excited to hear that you are planning on your next visit already. Thank you giving us the pleasure of accommodating you and we would love to have you and the family live here with us, on behalf of the Homewood suites we definitely look forward to see you again and please feel free to let us know if you need anything before arriving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This was the most quiet stay that we have had so close to Disneyland. The options on breakfast and dinner was ok. The good location of being in the same parking lot as Joe's Crab Shack and red robin was great. The staff were all very friendly. Even the people that cleaned the rooms. We will be back!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Traveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis v, Guest Service Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for sharing about your visit to our Hotel while in the area. We are happy to know that the location was great for your trip, as well as the staff being helpful. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is excellent for families. We travelled with our four and six year old children. The breakfast each morning offered a pretty good selection for the kids to start the day off before going to Disneyland! While the dinners were okay, there is a good selection of restaurants very close that were family friendly. Also, there is a Target just across the street that has groceries too. A good value for family travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis v, Guest Service Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the amenities we offer and most important that the family had a good time while visiting Disneyland. Once more thank you for sharing about your visit and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights - The room was set up very nice. Dinner and Breakfast were super. Used the shuttle and just relexed when I wasn't in Company Traning. Nice area resturausts close by and even a Target accross the street. Had a Great time. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis v, Guest Service Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We are really happy to know that you had a great time while in the area.Thank you for giving us the opportunity of serving you and we hope to see you again if your travel bring you back for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Orange County/Garden Grove
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing