We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering Joining the Cult of Off-site Disney Vacationers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pros: Very Friendly, helpful staff; great breakfast; room was located next to an elevator and heard very little noise from other guests or lobby; spacious, clean room; beds that were so comfortable I contemplated skipping the parks and staying in bed all day; hotel was clean and welcoming; housekeeping efficient Cons: Elevators crowded at peak times (mornings especially) and slow (recommend a lower floor and using the stairs if possible); shuttles ran consistently but small size of transportation meant a long wait after Disneyland closed for the night (recommend driving to Toy Story lot and using the bus system there -- very painless and cheaper for some families/groups). We only used a lightweight stroller (no diaper bags, etc.) for this trip, so our solutions worked fine for us but could be difficult with families traveling with smaller children/babies and more baby gear.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Courtney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Recently spent four nights at this hotel as our base for an LA/Long Beach and Anaheim vacation. Property is easy to find, exterior is clean and well manicured. Found mostly good things here, but some not so good.

Pros: The property has plenty of parking and has food inside the hotel as well as a restaurant in the parking lot and several within less than one block. Check in was quick and pleasant. and we were greeted warmly. All the services available were explained and right away we found the Disneyland information desk. They can provide information, tickets and can make dining reservations for any day in the future but not the present day. Room was very clean and entire property seems in good repair. Air Conditioning worked well. Hotel has free breakfast including custom made omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, cold cereal. Multiple beverages. They also have an evening reception with beer, wine, snacks, etc.

Cons: This is a large hotel with convention/meeting rooms. During part of our stay there was some type of meeting, which made the lobby crowded almost all the time. This includes long lines at the breakfast buffet. The breakfast, while free was nothing really special. The scrambled eggs were the worst of it, resembling powdered eggs. The omelets were better. Breakfast is crowded as mentioned, and the omelets stop at 9:30 while the rest of breakfast continues until 10:30. I would normally not mention something this small, but while the breakfast is passable, the coffee served at breakfast is vile. After day one we couldn't even stomach it. We ended up walking next door to the Hyatt with the Starbucks in the lobby for coffee. Probably the biggest downside was that apparently the smoking area of the hotel is at the entrance to the convention/meeting area. Every night that we returned to the hotel, we were greeted by many smokers here, even on nights when there were not meetings in the hotel. Finally, when we received our bill, we had been charged a "suite fee" on top of the charge for the room. I inquired and was immediately told this was wrong and it was removed, but had I not inquired, it would have added $60 to the overall bill. Finally, a word of advice, this hotel charges a parking fee per night to keep a car in the lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel, that is the side away from Harbor Blvd are more quiet than those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChincoteagueWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay last summer, though there were some issues...decided that the good outweighed the bad and came back. They've changed their policy on internet charges, allowing free internet, but instead charging for parking--this is a big plus for a family with kids who use devices needing Wi-Fi. As usual, service was great, check-in was a breeze, maid service was friendly and timely. The breakfast and happy hour as always are family friendly, although there continue to be lines...the waits were minimal and the choices were worth the waits. The only issues we had were with the fact that we came at a time that there were a number of high school grads visiting--really noisy neighbors but that's not the hotel's fault. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBart40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

When visiting Disneyland, this location is excellent. close enough to drive to the park or take the shuttle. The complimentary breakfast makes getting the day started easy and gets you to the parks earlier.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A great place to stay. Clean, comfortable and wonderful service. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast choices were good. Close to Disneyland if you wanted to take the kids there. Close to the Anaheim Convention Center.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Checking in was easy. Rooms work out really great. Two families of four with conjoined rooms made things conviente. We all enjoyed breakfest at hotel, shuttle ride to Disneyland and having a Birthday dinner at Bucca De Bepo. As my five year old birthday granddaughter said to me " Best day ever Papa ". Family memories forever!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Vince T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are back for our every-couple-of-years-until-the-kids-get-older trip to Disneyland. Last time we stayed at another hotel (2012, Residence Inn) but this time we wanted to stay a bit closer. I know that this ES is one of the hotels you can see Disneyland's fireworks from - if your high enough.
So, "good but just shy of excellent". All the things you can expect, no matter where you stay near Disneyland at this time of year: long lines, crows, noise, everything taking twice as long as you planned it would, were frustrations during this stay, this is not stuff the hotel can be blamed for. This Embassy Suites has some really good things going for it: great staff, neat - kid friendly - breakfast/dinning area (even has an animatronic lion perched up on a fake mountain in the middle of the dining room - our girls loved it!). The only thing that keeps this hotel from earning an Excellent for this trip is the room. We went way out of our way to book early and paid a premium to get a corner suite (billed as bigger) we could see the DL fireworks. The room could really, really use a remodel. The housekeeping staff did a terrific job keeping it clean, really clean, you can only hide the need for a remodel only so long buy a great housekeeping staff. The only other area I found odd was their was no shade around the pool. No patio furniture with shade built in - nothing.
The only other weird thing was the TV. No on-demand movies, pay per view - nothing but a cheesy laminated channel list more in line with a Motel 6 (even they would have, probably, had a better one).
Beds were good but not great. Not sure if they were the new kind Hilton has been advertising Their was nothing in the room that said they were - that I saw. The pull out bed was REALLY bad. Although, they all are REALLY bad.
So - get out and enjoy Disneyland - you cannot go wrong with this hotel, however, if you ever hear they have remodeled their room, run - don't walk - to make a reservation.

Room Tip: The fireworks view was really worth it - the kids really loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiiJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#3 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Address: 11767 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range: £113 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Anaheim - South hotel is located just one mile from Anaheim's Disneyland Resort® attractions. This all-suite hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening manager's reception. Shuttles are available in from of the hotel to take guests to all of Anaheim, California's recreation parks. The Embassy Suites also features an on-site Disney® Desk with information on Southern California and Disneyland® Resort attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Hotel Garden Grove
Embassy Suites Garden Grove
Embassy Suites California
Garden Grove Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Anaheim South Hotel
Embassy Suites By Hilton Anaheim - South Orange County/Garden Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing