We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for litte ones!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
East Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for litte ones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

When I first booked this hotel I thought was booking the one closer to the park so I was a little disapointed when I realized I booked the one farther away. When I arrived however, I quickly changed my tune! This hotel was perfect for families!!

The room: We booked a two room kids suite that my both my kids were impressed with when we walked into the room. They had their own T.V., bunkbeds, AND bathroom. Came in handy when we were all running around trying to get out the door to Disneyland. Our room had it's own door so we could have some privacy and the kids room had a slider with curtains on it so they too had their privacy. The beds were pretty comfortable too for being in a hotel. It also had it's own kitchenette suite complete with dishwasher, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, sink, pots&pans, plates, silverware, etc... Everything you would need to do some cooking (if you planned on it).

The Ameneities: We did not have time to visit the pool so I can't comment on it other than it looked clean. There was also a basket ball hoop too, a game room, and laundry facilities. Neither of which we had time to visit/use but was good to know they were there in case we needed them.

The Food: We could not have asked for a better FREE breakfast. It has the usual toast, bagles, and muffins but also eggs, potatoes, sausage, cereal, waffles that varied in flavors from chocolate to strawberry while we were there (you also make your own so they are nice and fresh!) pancakes, french toast, fruit etc.... That alone easily saved a family of four a lot of $$$ on food in the morning and it was actually pretty decent tasting. There was also a kids area in the dining room with kid size tables and chairs that my 2 yr old LOVED and two T.V.'s that played the Disney channel non stop. We ddin't have a chance to take advantage of the afternoon get togethers but it's nice that they offered it.

The shuttle/park: The shuttle stops right in front of the hotel on the main road and drops you off the closest you can get to the entrance to the park. (Bus 1) HUGE relief at the end of the day when everyone is tired of walking (especially the little ones!!).

The service: Everyone there was friendly and courteous. Whenecer we needed help, they were always quick to respond. We also arrived an hour earlier than our check in time and they offered to watch out luggage if we needed to leave. They also very quickly got our rooms ready after only having to wait about 20 minutes instead of the hour that they quoted us initially.

We have stayed in several hotels and this by far for the value was the best one we have stayed in. We have decided that this will be our hotel that we will book from now on when visiting Disneyland. I highly recommend this place!!!

  • Liked — The great free breakfast and the kids suite!
  • Disliked — The distance away from the park but was not that bad in relation to everything else!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Calorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    392
    120
    45
    28
See reviews for
973
44
14
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

We had stayed at the Residence Inn Maingate last year which was equally as impressive and closer to Disney however their prices had sky-rocketed. So when I booked this year's trip I decided to try this Residence Inn. It was a little further away but it looked like a nice property and we were not disapointed.

Breakfast was available everyday and was delicious. You could have the bagels and muffins if you wanted (the normal fair at most hotels) but you could also get scrambled eggs, sausage and hashbrowns. Waffle makers were available for made to order waffles and the hotel rotated pancakes, french toast, and biscuits and gravy on alternating days. They even had tortillas and salsa for those wanting a breakfast burrito.

The pool and hot tub areas were beautifully maintained and my husband and son enjoyed some basketball playing on the sport court (the front desk has the basketball).

We did not use the laundry, managers reception or the movie nights. There was a calander of events in the room however that listed what was being served at the reception and what movies were being played on Friday and Saturday nights.

The rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed in the 2 bedroom kids suite with the bunkbeds. There were always more than enough towels. The water was softened too much which made rinsing the soap off a little interesting but we did eventually get used to it.

Parking was a little crowded at times but we always found enough spaces in the back of the parking lot.

Disney wasn't far away and the Anaheim Transit started their pick-ups at 7am for just $3 per person for a 1day unlimited ride pass. Our 8yo was free to ride.

We really enjoyed our stay and will be staying here again.

  • Liked — Free breakfast and huge rooms
  • Disliked — Water softener
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fink369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

We just returned from a week at the Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area. For those of you with children under the age of 12, you can't go wrong with this hotel. After a day at Disney, or Universal Studios Hollywood, or Knott's Berry Farm, or shopping, or however you spend your time, take advantage of the pool -our children headed straight for the pool to burn off whatever energy they had left.

It's also a great money saver - take advantage of their free breakfast. You won't need lunch! And their manager's special Mon-Thurs is a good option for dinner. If you want to go out, there are several restaurants nearby - our children preferred Red Robin so much that when we travelled on to San Diego we had to find one there as well!

Yes, the parking lot can fill up quickly but if you are going to Disney use the Anaheim Resort Transit, especially if your children are under 10 - they travel free with a paying adult, which will save you on parking. It's the first stop on the route both picking up and dropping off and buses run every 20 minutes (supposedly; it was more like 30)

Only a couple of minor issues - during our stay, half the washers in the laundry room were not working, which meant a bit of a wait when we did laundry; and on the Sunday morning a power failure hit the hotel and also the Hyatt next door - there were no emergency lights in the hall or in the stairwell. Take a cell phone or small flashlight with you just in case.

We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of emergency lighting during the power failure
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heretodaygonetomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

This was my second trip, staying here, as I have a son in college nearby. I liked the breakfasts here, so I thought I'd give this place a 2nd chance to redeem itself in my eyes.

My issue is with the appalling state of the guest laundry room. If you need to stay in the area for any length of time you'll need to do laundry here, but it is nearly impossible! And it is clear to me that this hotel's managment has NO intention of repairing their facilities, as they have been down for 3 months. (my last stay was Aug. 2007).

Complain all you want, and it does no good. In Aug., the desk clerk told me they were waiting for parts to repair the machines. At this Oct. trip, the desk clerk actually told me it was the guest's fault that the washing machines are broken, as they had been used improperly! I smell a rat, now and suspect they won't be spending any money on fixing their machines!

  • Liked — breakfasts
  • Disliked — broken laundry facilities
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank momziekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

My family of 4 (children ages 10 and 5) stayed at this property for a 3 night stay for exploring Disneyland. We chose the kids bunkbed arrangement which works out well. The separate bedroom and bath for the kids help for those afternoon naps after a long day in Disney.

The hotel is not cheap in high tourist season, but the amenities were great and its convenient having a stocked kitchen. The hot breakfast is more than adequate, but I recommend getting to breakfast before 8am to avoid the worst of crowds.

The hotel could do a better job of containing the noise from the pool and patio revelers at night. Even seven floors up, we could hear the crowds below after 10pm at night.

The commute to Disney is less than 5 minutes. Don't be dissuaded that the hotel is technically in another city.

  • Liked — Great quality rooms
  • Disliked — Pool and patio noise
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Califonia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

Excellent hotel for Disneyland area. Rooms are very clean, very comfortable, well-supplied. Staff at desk, housekeeping, breakfast room very helpful. Management is very responsive. It is the cleanest, most efficient property we have used in the Anaheim resort Area, and we will continue to go there.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort
  • Disliked — Limited parking
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

Went there from August 13th - 17th and we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which faced the pool so it was quiet. Although we had 6 people in our room, it didn't feel that crowded and since we had a minivan...the drive to Disney was only 5 minutes away. Each day we came back to the hotel late in the afternoon for a dip in the pool and refreshments since it was very hot in Anaheim. Then we went back for the evening. The parking in Disney is good for the whole day. The breakfast buffet made life hassle free. We would get up and go down for a big breakfast and could head off to Disney immediately afterwards instead of going to a restaurant, etc. We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for several days the year before and we were pleased since it was half of the price. I do understand the reviewers complaints about parking since we noticed around 11pm that there were not many spots left and arriving after midnight would be a hassle. I would just make sure your room doesn't face the garbage area.

  • Liked — convenient buffet, pool area and rooms.
  • Disliked — Watch out for parking if staying out late.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Address: 11931 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703 (Formerly Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing