We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great suite & staff, convenient location for Disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great suite & staff, convenient location for Disneyland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

The purpose of our trip was to visit Disneyland in celebration of our daughter's birthday. We were traveling with adults and teens.

Although this Marriott Residence's physical address is Garden Grove, don't let this mislead you ... it is still just a few blocks from Disneyland, but we thought kind of nice to be removed from the hustle and bustle of the area within a block of Disneyland.

The pictures on the website are an accurate representation of what the actual rooms are like.

This was our 4th trip to Disneyland over the last 10 years, or so. We had stayed at various other hotels in the past, one of them being the Candy Cane Inn.

For this trip we had originally booked a room at the Candy Cane Inn, but upon arrival it had gone downhill since our last visit, and was loud, unhelpful/unaccomodating staff, crowded pool, and other problems ... Candy Cane was so loud and lacked any kind of quiet area that w/in an hour of checking in we decided to hop in the car and drive around to a few other hotels to see if we could find somewhere better that had a room available (hard to do since it was Spring break and 2 days before Easter) luckily we found the Marriott Residence Inn, and were able to get out of our reservation at Candy Cane.

When we first spoke with Walter at the front desk at Marriot Residence, we explained our situation with the other hotel and that it was my daughter's birthday so we wanted to be able to enjoy our stay. He had a suite available and let us take a peak inside. It was a nice, bright, clean, welcoming 1 bedroom suite with living area and kitchen. All we had to do was open the door and peak in to know we wanted to stay there. However, before booking it, we had to make sure we could get out of our other reservation so he assured us he'd hold the room for us for a while. It took longer than planned to deal with the staff at Candy Cane (had to go through 3 different, unfriendly Candy Cane staff members)

Upon returning to check in at the Residence, with a smile on his face and a pleasant, friendly demeanor, Walter informed us that he had changed us to a room that was different from the one we had viewed earlier and there were some changes he hoped were to our liking. This got our curiousity up.

Upon entering the room, he had upgraded us to an 8th floor (top floor), 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite ... it was great! Especially since we were traveling w/ my daughter's mixed gender friends and another mom (5 of us total). It was a nice, unexpected surprise and really helped us feel better ... although we know we would have been happy in the 1 bed/1bath suite too.

Everything was clean, all the staff were helpful, friendly, and seemed to really enjoy their jobs and being there. The pool was large enough to actually swim in. Other guests for the most part were friendly, and all were considerate.

If you're the type of family who allows your children to scream and run around totally out of control, this would not be the place for you. This place had guests who were more respectful, calm, and quiet.

The breakfast which is included in the price was very good and included scrambled egg, sausage, tortillas & salsa to make breakfast burritos, various cereals, oatmeal, fruit salad, fresh whole fruit, and even everything you need to make fresh belgian waffles.

While it's too bad that Candy Cane Inn has gone down hill, we were glad to have found this Marriott Residence. It's a great place for the traveler who wants a hotel to return to for some peace, quiet, and relaxation. After spending the day at Disneyland, we really looked forward to returning to the hotel (after midnight) where we all had a good night's sleep in a quiet room. We recommend it as a nice, peaceful place to stay and we will plan to stay there again.

For our group, we all said we'd prefer to stay somewhere like the Residence which is a slightly further distance from Disneyland and ride a shuttle or drive a few extra blocks and park at Disneyland, than to stay somewhere closer that's not as nice ... that's probably the one thing for other travelers to consider.

  • Liked — friendly, accomodating staff; clean well appointed room;
  • Disliked — parking lot got pretty full late evening/night
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DeFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    394
    121
    46
    28
See reviews for
976
44
15
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

Our family (Mom, Dad, and three kids ages 5-7) stayed at the Residence Inn for our winter vacation this year (last week of February). Last year we stayed at the Embassy Suites for our vacation and my husband and I stayed at the Hyatt a few months later when he had a conference.

For a family our size, the Residence Inn is the best choice. We originally had reservations at Homewood Suites, but changed for the larger suite option here. It was only $10 more a night! The rates at Embassy were much more than what we paid last year, so the Residence Inn worked out both in price and size.

The suite is standard for a Residence Inn. I would not stay here for business or if I was not traveling with children; however, it offers everything you need for family travel: bunk bed and separate bath for kids; living/dining/kitchen area; and master bedroom with bath.

The breakfast is perfect for families as is the evening light meal. It's the typical Sysco fare, but is part of the rate. For us, having breakfast included is a big plus. Our kids get up early so we didn't have issues with crowds, but the dining area does get busy. They have a kid dining area, but it doesn't have TVs like the main dining area (which is set to the Disney Channel).

We generally ate a late lunch or went out to one of the neighboring restaurants (Buca di Beppo; Red Robin, Joe's Crab Shack, Outback are all in walking distance), but they offer salad, a dish, and then coffee or soda. They don't offer milk in the evening, which bothered me.

However, I did see a lot of families filling the beverage container that is in the fridge with milk during the breakfast hours. Target is also across the street for snacks and other items (i.e. we made PB&J sandwiches to bring with us to Disneyland).

The hotel staff were not as knowledgeable or helpful as they could have been, but I didn't expect much after they greeted us on check-in wearing Hawaiian shirts. There were some issues with our room, but they were fixed shortly after we called the desk. Important to note: they will print boarding passes for free at the desk. The hotel does not have a kiosk.

We used the ART bus service to travel to and from Disneyland. While the service is great once you board, it is unreliable ... there are only a few drivers and they sometimes cover each other's shifts. This causes confusion between difference bus lines. Having been through this last year, we balanced our travels between the Marriott (#2) bus and the one that stops at the Embassy Suites (#1).

The #1 only travels between Disneyland and the Embassy Suites. The #2 stops first at the Residence Inn and then goes to Homewood Suites/Marriott Suites. There was a crowd every day waiting at that stop. The #1 was always less crowded and arrived earlier, so we found ourselves taking that one a lot. It's just a short walk through the parking lot.

We also had problems getting passes. ART offers, via their website, a 5-day pass for adults for $12 (a one-way, pay as you go fare is $3). We didn't order them online (they say that they will deliver them to your hotel for free) since the website said that they could be purchased through the hotel kiosk.

The hotel kiosk, however, only sold 3-day passes for $12. My husband ended up walking to other hotels to buy the 5-day passes -- then got old style tickets because they didn't have the new ones. Some day they'll figure out what they are doing! BUT it is cheaper than parking ($11/day) and if you do park, it takes longer to get from the lot to the parks then it does to take the bus from the hotel.

It was not very warm when we were there, but my kids and husband went to the pool nonetheless. Its an outdoor pool with a hot tub. They seemed to like it despite the weather.

My guess is that we will probably stay here again if we go back to Disneyland because of the size of the suites, the price, the breakfast, and the option to take either the #1 or #2 bus :-)

  • Liked — Suite size
  • Disliked — Average hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

Our family of six (two adults, four children ages 3 to 9) really enjoyed our 7 day 6 night stay. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful to us; in fact, I cannot recall any hotel stay where I’ve been treated better by the staff. We booked a family suite which contained two bedrooms. The room was very clean, quiet, and overlooked the pool area. The kid’s room had bunk beds and their own full bathroom (tub, shower, toilet, and sink). There were plenty of drawers for the kid’s clothes and their room had a sliding wood/glass door for privacy. The living area included a television and a hideaway bed. The kitchen included a full-size refrigerator/freezer, oven/stove, microwave, dishwasher, utensils, plates and glasses, and various baking and cooking pots and pans. We had our own room with a locking door which contained a king size bed, full bathroom, closet, 4-drawer dresser, and television. Wireless Internet was available in the room free of charge which was very convenient.

The breakfast buffet was great! It included scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with cheese, sausage patties, breakfast potatoes, fresh fruit, bagels and muffins, waffles, cereal, milk, and juice. We typically went to breakfast between 7:30 and 8:00, and there was always plenty of food. It is more crowded between 8:00 and 9:00, but there is plenty of seating and the hotel employees would clean a table immediately after a family was finished with their breakfast.

The laundry area was clean and all machines were working except for one washing machine. I don’t remember the exact count, but I believe there were about 6 to 8 washers and 8 to 10 dryers. Laundry soap was available at the front desk and it cost $1 per box. Each box did one load of laundry. Next to the laundry room is an arcade with several games and a business center.

There are several restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walking distance, including Coco’s, Red Robin, Joes Crab Shack, and Outback Steakhouse. There is also a Target that is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. It’s not a Super Target so it doesn’t contain the full grocery store, but it does have milk, soft drinks, cookies/crackers, chips and the like. This hotel also offers a convenient grocery pickup service. We drove to the Disneyland parking lot which is less than 10 minutes away, but there is a shuttle service available. Parking at Disneyland is $11 for passenger vehicles. It is also about a 30 to 40 minute drive to Laguna Beach from the hotel.

We only had a couple of minor inconveniences/complaints. The first is there are only two elevators which were always busy, so there was always a wait. The second is the parking lot would fill quickly and the parking spaces seem to better accommodate compact cars, not vans or SUV’s. These were only minor issues and pale in comparison to the excellent service and other accommodations provided by the hotel. We will definitely stay again at the Residence Inn at Garden Grove the next time we visit Disneyland!

  • Liked — Enough room for the entire family
  • Disliked — Waiting for elevators, limited parking
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Arinosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

This was our second visit to Disneyland. This was the first time our family of four stayed at the Residence inn . we stayed from February 10-21st of 2008. We stayed in a 2 bedroom kids suite. The master bedroom had one king size bed with it's own bathroom . The kids suite had bunk beds. i found the bunk beds to be very comfortable to sleep on. Having our own bathroom attached to the kids room was a nice perk. The suite is very well laid out and has a nice and homey feel. The staff there was nice especially Bill. If you have any questions to ask, he's ready to answer them and takes the time to show you or look up for you the malls or flea markets you might be interested in going to. The breakfasts here are absolutely amazing. it was a tough decision what to have as there were so many options. i would highly recomend you go to the sundowner socials that they run in the lobby area from monday thru thursday between 5-7 pm. the food that they serve there is awesome as well. When the elevators here worked they were great, however they seemed to have one of them out of service every second day. The ART system works fairly well and comes fairly consistently. The one drawback is that not all staff is knowledgable. Nothing is more frustrating than trying to find out information from people who live in california but know nothing about where they live or something is located. especially when we asked the neighboring hotels. even they had no clue where to catch the ART(Anaheim Resort Transit) system. If Starbucks is your thing then there is one located at the Hyatt just behind the Residence Inn. Very handy for those who like a really good coffee in the morning. The pool here was awesome. All in all our stay was very good and we would definetely stay here again.

  • Liked — the rooms felt roomy and homey
  • Disliked — the elevators always on the fritz
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianGirl735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2008

This was our first trip to Disneyland. We loved the Residence Inn. When we first arrived, we realized that our room was too small for our family. The front desk helped us relocate to a very spacious 2 bedroom room that had bunkbeds for the kids, with their own bathroom, and then our own bedroom and bathroom. the breakfast is huge, everything is clean and nice. We had just stayed at a Ritz Carlton a few months prior on the other side of the nation, so the Residence Inn was up against some tough competition. Of course, the Ritz is spectacular, but you have to pay for it. This hotel, for the price and amenities, is a great deal and perfect for families that want to enjoy Disneyland. We are going again this summer.

  • Liked — Size of rooms, quality of hotel, breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — not enough parking spots at peak times
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracylovestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2008

This was our third time staying at this property and I'm impressed that they've maintained their high standards of service.

Any staff I've encountered has been friendly and professional without fail, and they go out of their way to resolve any issues fairly and quickly. So-called "full service" hotels could definitely learn from their example.

We stayed in a family suite which, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, provided ample space for our family.

True, it is not the newest property and shows a little wear, but it is quite well maintained for such a high-traffic property. Catering to families and groups as it does, there are admittedly some caveats (elevator service can be slow, and the lobby can be noisy, especially during peak times such as breakfast) but these are minor quibbles. Also, at busy times it may be difficult to find parking in the lot, although they do provide for overflow parking at the Hyatt next door.

The location is great, a short drive to Disneyland (although down the street, not walking distance), walking distance to several family restaurants, easy highway access, and a Target across the street.

I wouldn't consider any other hotels for my future stays in the area.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Deekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

I will admit that the hotel is in a good proximity to the parks and it being a Marriott is always a good thing. The hotel lobby was nice, the staff wasn't all that knowledgeable or helpful (maybe because it was late? 3rd stringers on shift?). Our room was a 2 bedroom suite with furniture so beat up and stained that we had to put towels down on the furniture before sitting. The couch was bowed and really dirty...thank GOD we didn't have to open it up. The worst part was the food containers from the previous guests left behind the furniture which we discovered while changing the tempature in the room and notice the floor was SOAKING WET. When we called down to explain we basicly had a swamp happening in our room they said they would be up... but never were. The next day returing to the room their was a giagantic fan blowing in the room right in the center of the living area. No note or message explaining what the deal was. Add to this the dirty bathroom (hairs and such) and the complete lack of tissue and soap that was never replenished (and yes we did tip).
So in short, yes.. good location, pretty decent price for 2 bedrooms but not quite the Marriott standard you will be used too. Although... could have just been my room and bad luck. If asked if I will stay at this location again when visiting in November? No.

  • Liked — location to theme parks
  • Disliked — dirty furniture and soaking wet carpet.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrobinhhalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Address: 11931 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703 (Formerly Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing