We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, NS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our four children (15, 13, 9, 7) during the week between Christmas and New Year's and were so pleased with our choice. It is a perfect choice for a family stay. The hotel staff are pleasant and accommodating, the rooms were spotless, and the breakfast buffet tasty and plentiful! Our youngest child has food allergies, so we appreciated the full kitchen and made good use of it while we were there. The pool, basketball court, and games room were a hit with the children and there were always plenty of towels on hand. Located about three km from Disneyland, it was a straight, easy walk to the parks. The shuttle for us would have cost $32/day, so we walked. We had a fast pass for the 10:00 World of Color show one night, so we took the public transportation bus which was only $12.

On the advice of the staff, we spent sunset on New Year's Eve at nearby Huntington Beach with our feet in the Pacific Ocean. When we got back to the hotel we spent the evening around the pool and in the hot tub and the front desk staff gave us party hats, noisemakers, and a bottle of sparkling cider.

We would definitely recommend this property and would return if we get back to the Pacific Coast another time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgraviaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill_AGMResidenceInn, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for having been our guest. I am very happy to hear that you and your family had such a great time with us and that our staff gave you such great suggestions. There are not very many places where you can usher in the New Year with your toes in the sand, but sunny Southern California is definitely one of them!

Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you and your family again on your next trip to the Anaheim area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    395
    122
    46
    29
See reviews for
981
44
15
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
langhorne, pa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel while in Anaheim for a hockey game, not Disney. After flying cross country and driving down from LAX it was a nice touch to have full coffee service available all day. The check in was easy any and fast and the front desk staff was great. The two br suite was very clean and spacious and gave us room to spread out and relax. There were only 3 of us but definitely would work for more people for a longer stay. The manager's reception dinner and full breakfast are great touches adding value to the stay. The only downside of both, and this is NOT the hotel's fault, is too many unsupervised small children at the food and drink stations and carrying and spilling all over the place and being underfoot. Overall it was a great experience and great value and we would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tammilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill_AGMResidenceInn, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you and your party had such a great time with us. As you pointed out, Anaheim has more to offer than simply the park with NHL and MLB games so close to the hotel. Hopefullly, on your next trip to the area you will be able to take in a baseball game as well! Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Page
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After an amazing stay a couple years ago, it was a no-brainer on which hotel we'd choose for our Disney vacation this year. Once again, we were pleased beyond measure! The friendly staff, clean large rooms, evening reception and amazing breakfasts, great pool, close proximity to Disney... there's nothing this hotel doesn't do right! Thanks again and we can't wait to be back!

On a side note, we did have a bit of trouble with the ART shuttle... the drivers kept missing our stop, even after we spoke directly to them and pulled the cord. Finally got the hang of it the last couple days and just stood up and hollered until they stopped! Lol!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room on the north side to see the fireworks from Disney!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thelofings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill_AGMResidenceInn, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
I am thrilled that we were able to have you and your family at our hotel again! Thank you so much for being our guest. I am glad you found our staff, rooms, evening social hour, breakfast and pool as exceptional now as it was during your first stay.

We thank you for being our guests and look forward to seeing you and your family at the Residence Inn Anaheim Resort again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My family and I have visited Disneyland about once a year for the last 7 years. I had always stayed at another Marriott but was using points so I tried this one. Best decision ever! Close to the park, clean rooms, great complimentary breakfast and dinner and the best staff anywhere.

Very clean food area with multiple attendants always on hand for any special needs. One night we walked in from the pool and my 5 year old was shivering and they went and brought him some hot chocolate. The variety and quality of the food was very good. My kids loved the huge breakfast choices, something for everyone.

The pool area was nice, plenty of chairs and tables. It has a shallow wading pool for my 3 year old and a full size pool for the older kids. There is a sauna as well but I didn't really use it. For once in my life, plenty of towels all over the pool area! Made it so much more enjoyable. Immediately adjacent to the pool area is a gas fire with chairs to sit around.

Rooms were clean, the kitchens were fully stocked with all the dishes, pots, pans, etc. The beds were very comfortable, even the pull out sofa bed. I slept on it all 5 nights and didn't have the slightest problem ever.

Google maps will show you this hotel is 1.5 miles from Disneyland Maingate but I can tell you, it's an easy walk. Straight down the road and on the same side of the street as the hotel. Took us about 15 minutes each way walking with two kids and a stroller.

During one of the dinners I saw the Assistant GM, Bill Evans walking around and he stopped to ask me how everything was and I told him that I had traveled for work for about 3 years and had stayed all over the country in hotels and I was blown away by his staff and hotel. He took the time to tell me about their other room types and bed options for my next trip. All of the staff; frontdesk, housecleaning, food prep, everyone was just awesome to us. My kids are still talking about the nice lady that gave them balloons at night.

This is my new Disneyland hotel and I recommend everyone stay at this hotel if you want a great family experience.

Room Tip: Get a fireworks view room, you can see the fireworks even if you don't happen to be at the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I am very lucky to have a staff full of great people like Bill working at this hotel. Our staff genuinely cares about our guest's experience and we will always go out of our way to ensure that every guest has a great memorable stay. Both our daily breakfast buffet and the evening manager’s reception are an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel was fantastic, all the staff are helpful, friendly, nothing was too much trouble ! I reviewed this hotel and choose it from tripadvisor, and all the good reports aren't wrong. I stayed with my husband and children for a week in December we did Disneyland and some shopping trips based out of here, the hotel was clean & comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom suit with 2 bathrooms and it worked perfectly ! The room had a kitchen, if you require one, everything was there! The breakfast the hotel supply was terrific ( coming from Australia the kids thought waffles for breakfast was a real treat ! ) But also plenty of cereal, fruit, eggs - perfect !
The bus/ shuttle to disney isn't long at all and a great way to have a chat & meet people from all around the world in the 10min or so trip. As a family hotel couldn't fault anything ! Go there and enjoy your stay, you will without a doubt !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44happytravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill_AGMResidenceInn, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other TripAdvisor members! Our entire staff works diligently to ensure that all of our guests needs and expectations are tended to. I am very pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great stay and that the waffles were such a hit with you and your family. Thank you for being our guest and I sincerely hope that we get to see you and your family again on your next trip to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were at a different hotel and were cramped and someone mentioned the Residence Inn so we looked at a room and decided to move here as it was great. It is designed for families and is a great choice. You get 2 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom. The kids room either has bunk beds or 2 single beds. There is a living room/dining room/kitchen in-between the 2 bedrooms. For a family going to Disney or the surrounding area this is the hotel for you.

There were 7 of us so we had 2 different bookings, one had 2 adults and 2 kids in a 2 room apartment and the other had 2 adults and one kid, also in a 2 room apartment. Each bedroom had its own TV and the living had a TV as well so everyone was happy being able to watch their own shows when we relaxed. The kitchen made it easy to store food and drinks and have some simple meals in the room.

The rooms show a little bit of wear and tear. The mattresses were not high-end like I am used to, a bit soft and the windows were paper thin so you could hear all the noise outside. That being said I slept well every night. The breakfast was really good. Only downside from other properties nearby is that you can't have a custom meal cooked (i.e. omelet to order) but you have to eat what they have out (i.e. scrambled eggs). Still a great variety for a family.

Well that was the negatives, now the positives. The lobby and main common areas are so well cleaned you could eat off the floors. I have stayed in super exotic 5-star luxury hotels whose lobby was not as clean as the Residence Inn, it is a credit to the staff that they take such pride in the property and how they keep it clean with all the kids around I will never know. The pool area is great. The pool is heated so the kids got to swim despite it being winter. Having basketball court and table tennis was also great for the kids. The location is great for Disney. Also multiple restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel so food is no issue (tip - if you use the room service that comes from a third-party restaurant it can be very expensive, just order to-go form one of the ones close by and pick it up yourself).

If you have a family and you need somewhere to stay this is where you should book. Look nowhere else. It is a family oriented hotel that does a great job making the place a great fit for kids. Anytime I travel with my family again in this area I will stay here. You also can't beat the price, very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZTVLR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
It means a great deal to us to receive such a positive review from a seasoned traveler like you. We are happy that you found our newly renovated rooms comfortable and clean. We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on this website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here at the end of our world trip to spend the last 4 days at Disneyland. It was a 1 bedroom, self catering apartment with a clean bathroom, comfortable big bed and ok sofa bed. We didn't have a chance but the pool area looks like a good place to spend a few hours on a warm day also. The kitchen is fully equipped and Target is across the road which also has a supermarket in it :) The hotel offers a complimentary shopping service where you list the items you need and they go buy it whilst you are out. The cost is simply added to your total at the end. The shuttle for Disneyland stops right out the front, regular schedule through to the last pick-up from Disneyland at 11pm each night.
Breakfast is included each morning and a couple of nights a week the manager offers a light dinner (beef nachos when we stayed). This is great as a filler for little tummies after a full on day at Disneyland!
The staff assisted us with a couple of things we had arranged separately and it was no problem for them to make a couple of calls.
The only complaint is the water pressure is terrible. But, it had hot water so shouldn't complain.
Overall, it's a great family hotel. Even though we could afford to spend more money for a swanky hotel much closer to the entrance of Disneyland we will stay here again when we return in Dec 2014. You can't beat the value for money, cleanliness and the great attitude of the staff. Well done Marriott.

Room Tip: Request extra bedding for the sofa bed. It's no hassle. It gets a little cool at night with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRB B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
I definitely agree with you we are great for families. Our spacious two bed room two bathroom suite is the best value in Anaheim. Our staff works hard everyday to provide a clean and enjoyable hotel thank you for noticing our efforts. I hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Address: 11931 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703 (Formerly Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing