We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Meaning of Soft Serve Discovered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Italian Ice

Joe's Italian Ice
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Meaning of Soft Serve Discovered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

On a recent business trip to Garden Grove/Anaheim, we stopped at Joe's Italian Ice because of the reviews. In addition, it was very cold outside, and there was a line. Thus, it appeared very popular. However, I had to try it myself.

Initially, I thought I had ordered something plain, which was soft serve vanilla. Holy Toledo Batman, the soft serve was like nothing I have ever had before. The soft serve was tasty, creamy, and smooth. I finally discovered the true meaning of soft serve.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    27
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not Hawaiian Shave Ice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I had the horchata and the wifey had blackberry of the "Joe Latti". The ice is a dense version of shave ice, thick but not crunchy. Flavors were excellent. The soft serve they use to layer in the cup was not to our liking. My best description is that it had an oily mouth feel and the flavor bland.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaanapaliguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I come here after Disneyland all the time with my wife and it's always great, Smurf Poison is the best ice flavor ever!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rseguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ummmmmm ummmmmm ummmm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Joe's is the place for water-ice (as its called back east). They hand make all the flavors just like we like them out in New York and you can get it in Garden Grove, ca down the street from Disneyland. Try the Joe-laté, soft serve cream and Italian ice together living harmoniously in a cup---ooooooooh! Something about the soft serve that comes from the east coast...and They even make their own ice cream sandwiches. Check me out. FYI: they r soon moving down the street to a bigger location they r that good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelSINado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

There are plenty of flavors to chose from and you can sample it. It is the creamiest ice cream I have ever had. Gelato from Italy has nothing on this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bacong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Italian Ice also viewed

Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Been to Joe's Italian Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing