We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, no frill no thrill Hotel/Inn”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gasquet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Patrick Creek Lodge and Historical Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gasquet
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, no frill no thrill Hotel/Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Peace and quiet at a beautiful location is what I wanted and is exactly what I got. If you leave the windows open, you can hear the Patrick Creek flow by.
Plain and clean rooms, no TV no Radio only nature to serenade you. There is heat for cold nights but no A/C for warm ones. As I said, plain rooms with bathrooms attached, all clean and smell good in the non smoking section.
The owners were pleasant, helpful and friendly. The food is good and the restaurant is situated with lovely views. Full service bar for serious drinkers, all drinks are reasonably priced.
I don't think it is a good place for young kids and dogs because there are no TV, no reception of radio or cell phones (unless you have sattalite) and there is a large family of ducks who live on the property that seem to be so mellow, I don't think they could out run a dog.
There are lovely walks by the Smith River and redwood forest near by, and oh, yes, there is a swimming pool too.
The best thing about the place was it's peaceful quietness, take a cup of coffee in the morning and sit by the Creek in one of the chairs and just take in nature.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahuva_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    12
    1
    9
See reviews for
10
21
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cutten, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

We have stopped at Patrick Creek Lodge to eat many times over our 40 years on the north coast. It just gets better as time goes by. Their food is GREAT!
It's worth a car trip to this awesome part of the state to find a journey's end off Highway 199, at Patrick Creek Lodge.
Beautiful grounds, excellent food and service. Very peaceful and comfortable.
Melinda was our evening desk clerk, bartender, waitress and host. Her charming personal history and real appreciation for the lodge is endearing, entertaining and most delightful.
Desperately needing a total escape from work, house and life, we choose to stay in the cabin for our 35th wedding anniversary. It was quiet, private, comfortable and perfect!
No TV, NO computers, NO work - for 3 days!!
Satellite TV was advertised but it didn't work and we were glad to leave it, and we didn't even mention it to the hosts. At night the only sound is the last wild river, the Smith River, tumbling through the ravine where Patrick Creek joins it's journey south west.
We were a little disappointed when we found out that the Sunday Champagne Brunch doesn't start until May 1st, but breakfast was available (*schedule?).
On Easter Sunday's they will serve their Champagne Brunch.
When we were leaving on Monday morning, there was a sign saying they were closed Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. We expected to eat breakfast before driving back to the coast. Oh well, I made note to ask more specific questions next time I call to make reservations.
If you love natural beauty, peace and quiet, this is the place. Plenty of activities nearby, swimming, boating, kayaking, fishing, hiking, touring. And it's near the most awesome redwood groves in the state, Jedediah Smith State Park, Prairie Creek Parks, Big Lagoon, Crescent City, the Oregon Caves, Crater Lake, and the Trees of Mystery, all historical places of beauty that everyone should visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lareka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

The current owners of this place have ruined it. The lodge is in a beautiful setting, which is why we stayed there twice. The first time we overlooked the run down grounds and rude (drunk, actually) owners and the highly overpriced, poor quality food.

The second time we stayed the place had become even more run down (there was a water snake in the dirty swimming pool, the pool table that our kids loved was in tatters and without balls, the hallway toilet was plugged, and every time I turned on a light, a bulb blew). The worst part was the owner who was so rude to my mother she hurried up to our room, grabbed her suitcase and left our family trip in tears because he was so mean to her.

Do not stay here. Read other reviews and judge for yourself. Make sure you pay with a credit card that will dispute charges, because this place will add unauthorized charges to your bill. Beware.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gasquet hotels

northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

After reading some of the earlier reviews I was a little apprehensive about staying here for two nights. I found the accomadations to be a little rustic but clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and attended to our needs. The location of the lodge is remote and people looking for a lot of attention from staff won't find it here. I could best describe the atmosphere as very "laid back". I think the owners do the best they can with the limited resources available. The food was a little pricey but the quality was excellent. i would return here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyfisher31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed at the campground which was nice except for no showers, then expected to go over to the Lodge for dinner on Saturday since we hadn't planned to cook outside and had no supplies for that night, however when we hiked over to the Lodge we found no one wanted to wait on us, were told that they just had to set up a table for our party of 7, we were looking at a already set up table for 8 which would have suited us just fine. While we waited in the horribly hot lobby we watched as people tried to check in to the Lodge, one poor lady with three little kids was thrown the keys to all the rooms upstairs and told to "go pick one out", which she did, then came back to check in only to be ignored as the rest of us were waiting for a dinner table. She finally sent her kids up to the room to open the windows-no air and about 90 degrees inside the Lodge-while she waited and waited, she finally just went on up herself without checking in at all. When we finally were seated we got up and got our own menus, which upon checking the prices and the waitress informing us "there might be a piece of prime rib left, and maybe some fish" we all cringed and tried to decide if we even wanted to stay. My husband said "I'd have a beer but at these prices I could probably buy a whole half-case", at which time the waitress/busboy/hotel clerk said under her breath "yeah, probably". At that point we all got up and went back to camp and dined on smores and chips. Never again will we go back to that poor service and rudely run Lodge! Too bad, it's a beautiful setting and with the right management could be a marvelous place. By the way, they lost about $250 in business when we left, we like to eat!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ronsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

We recently stayed at the the Lodge on our way to portland thinking we would have a rustic yet cute stop along the way at the lodge. Instead we found a place that is rundown, dirty, unorganized and looking to penny pinch their customers as much as possible.

As soon as we got there they made sure to charge us for our SINGLE room and then promptly remind us if we lost our key it was $25. Calm down, it's a key with a wood stick, don't get crazy over it. This is of course after they tried to push a "cocktail" on us before we even walked up the stairs.

The room itself was old and run down. NO air conditioning, which would have helped considering it was about 90 degrees at 5:00 pm. Our room was connected to another room, which we found strange since we paid for a single, but the door was open and unlocked so we felt that perhaps they were being nice and giving us a double.

Not thinking twice about it, we ended up gently using the sink and taking a nap on the bed. Well as soon as we leave the lodge, we get a notice that we were billed an extra $25. I called and they said it was because we used the extra room and that they could have rented it out. RENTED IT OUT..the door to our room was open and you're telling me someone was going to come into our room and close the door if they rented that room out!

When I called to complain to say we were basically tricked into that charge and that it wasnt our fault that the room was left open and that we shouldn't get charged, they were rude and basically told me to take it up w/my credit card company. RUDE

We also ate in their restaurant, which had spider webs and was WAY overpriced for that area. $26 for a piece of fish in the middle of nowhere! and then to top it off, they had FIRED their wattress, so they had someone filling in who was a hostess, waitress, bartendar and bussed the table. She was running all over the place and we were very nice and understanding with her.

The owners of this place are rude and the lodge is run down. The outside lawn is unkept, you can't even sit on the chairs along the rive because they are filthy with mud. I think this place has a lot of potential but the owners seem to be penny pinching everyone without any concern about RETURN BUSINESS! i guess $25 was more important to them then pleasing a customer.

Do yourself a favor and stay in Crescent City, camp or continue driving. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fizzleSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

We thought the private "cabin" sounded quite nice, so we called to reserve it. When we arrived, around 6:00 PM, We found a frame-build "house" up in the area above the utility buildings for the lodge that had been left to the elements without much maintenance for, apparently, years. No air conditioning might not be a problem if there were screens on the windows or doors to allow us to air the place out. That the television didn't work might not be a problem if there was a selection of movies to watch. Sitting outside would be nice if the "management" thought to water the grass and plants that seem distressed. It would have been nice if the fireplace worked. The word "dump" comes to mind. My wife would not sleep under the covers. Get the picture? When we complained (which I HATE to do) we were met with truculence and the advice that if we didn't like it we could have left - even though this place is about 30 miles from any known alternative. There is apparently no pride here - or shame for that matter.
By the way, I only had to send my steak back once, and would it kill them to have some sort of vegetarian fare available?

  • Liked — History and Location
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gasquet
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
19.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
20.5 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
19.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patrick Creek Lodge and Historical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Creek Lodge and Historical Inn

Property: Patrick Creek Lodge and Historical Inn
Address: 13950 US Highway 199, Gasquet, CA 95543-9611
Region: United States > California > Gasquet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gasquet
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Patrick Creek Lodge And Historical Hotel Gasquet
Patrick Creek Hotel And Historical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing