We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place in Geyserville” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hope-Merrill House

Hope-Merrill House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hope-Merrill House
Ranked #2 of 5 Geyserville B&B and Inns
Felton, California
Level Contributor
740 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good place in Geyserville”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent 2 nites at the inn and it was enjoyable. Great breakfast and we enjoyed Cosette's morning commentary. She knows a lot about the area and the wineries. Gave some good tips and provided a nice map for us to use.

The common areas are nice. Could use a bit of yardwork. Room was OK but the bed was too hard for our tastes and creaked a bit. Was glad for the AC since it was so hot and the running drowned out the early morning road noise. We enjoyed the hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stay here every time I come to Geyserville. Cosette & Ron are very hospitable and are extremely knowledgeable regarding questions I have about the area. The property is beautiful! The gazebo area showcases gorgeous vineyards and a cute courtyard. The rooms all have their own theme, are very clean, and come with wine glasses should you bring a bottle back to your room, from one of the many wineries in the area. They serve breakfast every morning, promptly at 9am. You can tell they put a lot of care into breakfast.There is something for everyone. Everything i tasted was delicious. One of my favorite things was the home made jams and butter with local honey spread across a home made scone or popover. After breakfast Cosette goes over wineries with every one and makes recommendations based on what you like. She hasn't steered me wrong yet! lol... :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Being someone who has stayed in many B&B Inns, this one is the worst one, in shabby condition, that I have ever stayed in. And for the money we spent here??
The breakfast was delicious, and yes the Inn keeper did control a lot of the conversation.
This Inn clearly needs a lot of TLC and our bed creaked just by sitting on it. We stayed in the Briar Rose room. Faded wallpaper, grout in shower crumbling away, and the shower,so small we could hardly turn around to change our mind....as the saying goes.
I wish this couple the best, as there other Inn in town is for sale.
Charming little town though, but will opt to stay at another place next time.
American flag is torn and needs to be replaced on the front of the house too. Seemed disrespectful to me.
Stay was June 22, 2013

Room Tip: Stay in Healdsburg or the Geyserville Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becker474you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I used the online form to REQUEST a reservation for one room for one night. I received no confirmation. The website indicates that a reservation is not made until the request is reviewed and a confirmation sent by email. I received NO confirmation and thus assumed I had NO reservation. Apparently I was wrong as they billed me for two rooms, not just the one I requested AFTER the reservation date. I didn't have any issues getting that email. I called and left multiple messages to discuss. I emailed, no response and no returned call. These people are frauds! They will charge you for no reservation and have false advertising. I'm also filing with the Better Business Bureau. Do not book there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurelai41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently finished the 2 nd weekend of our "pick and press" stay at Hope Merrill. Our first weekend was in September to pick and crush grapes to make our own wine. We shared this project with 3 other couples.
Last week we went back to taste, blend, bottle, and label our wine. Not only was it a great time, but our hosts Ron & Cosette were great! Ron took us out to the grapes on the property, to pick and press the grapes, then instructed us in the art of wine making.
Then came our hostess Cosette! What a gourmet experience she provided us! Legendary breakfasts and remarkable dinners.all of this on the grounds of a restored Victorian 1870's mansion. Need a recommendation for you free time? Cosette was there to point you to whatever you were looking for. We also received "VIP" tours of a different local winery each trip after experiencing a private tasting from the wineries personnel the night before at our dinners. Oh ... And all the tasting was included. ,!
All in all a great experience

Room Tip: Take your pick, it's wallpaper heaven. The Stirling suite is the premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

From our check in to our departure we were treated to a unique experience by proprietors Ron & Cosette. Their friendliness and knowledge of the area were true assets an added to our enjoyment of the weekend. Room was very nice, large and well appointed. Comfortable bed. The town is small but close to a number of areas with just about anything one would need. Our stay included a pass to free tastings for a huge number of local wineries. Breakfasts were almost too much but excellent in variety and quality. Even made gluten free for one of the other other guests. Local eateries are limited but Rustic at the Francis Ford Coppola winery is close and outstanding. Many more in Healdsburg, about 8 miles away. Hard to say when the opportunity to return might come around but we would definitely choose the Hope Merrill House again and would likely adjust our plans to stay there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Victorian Room is at the front of the house on the street however, traffic is almost nonexistent so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTouchOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Geyserville is the perfect location for wine tasting in the Dry Creek Area. Quaint town and friendly town folks. Checked in and were rudely treated by Innkeeper Cosette. I agree that she is odd and judgmental. On a very busy weekend event Annual Winter WINEland the four of us were the only ones in the Inn. Very bad sign. This place should of been all booked. Bedding dated, carpet dirty, very long wait for hot water. I understand with a fully booked establishment we would have to wait for hot water. With only 4 people in the Inn this should not of been an issue. At breakfast we were giving the wine tour lecture. She scuffed at the wineries we had planned to visit. She was rude to her husband and admonished him in front of us. I have never had this type of experience in my life at a B&B. The breakfast was the only thing that was great. We all laughed about it and did not let her ruin our fab weekend in Sonoma County. Come to Sonoma County just pick a different B&B

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blueoceandesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geyserville
0.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
6.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
16.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope-Merrill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope-Merrill House

Property: Hope-Merrill House
Address: 21253 Geyserville Ave, Geyserville, CA 95441-9542
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Geyserville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geyserville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hope-Merrill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing