We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Respite After a Long Day on Hwy1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Geyserville B&B and Inns
austin
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A Wonderful Respite After a Long Day on Hwy1”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This was the destination for Friday night - had a spontaneous trip to the Bay Area with a friend and decided to explore Highway 1, then a tour of Sonoma. The Hope Bosworth hosts were gracious and advised us well on how to best spend our very limited time. I'm a fan of restored Victorian homes and prefer the Hope Bosworth to the hip austerity of some of the new hotels - our time here was far too brief. Saturday breakfast was a delight - good conversation with the other house guests - mom & daughter celebrating the mom's birthday & a sweet couple from Washington state.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cococontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Although the grounds seemed neglected, the charm, the personable and
informative owners made it all better. Each room at this Bed and Breakfast
Inn is tastefully furnished with antiques and each is given a name. Check
out the attractive eye-catching website and all is plainly seen as it is so well
put together. The breakfast was great as was the conversations after the
meal with other guests. The owners were well versed as to what attractions
were in and around town. Peace and quiet, tranquility all wrapped into one.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed for three nights in the Bradbury Room and had a wonderful time. The house is stunning through and through. The location was fabulous as there are plenty of wineries and restaurants within a short distance of the B&B. Cosette, (we barely saw Ron) was a wonderful host. Each morning, after a wonderful breakfast, she's sit with us and recommend wineries to visit and map them out. She called a winery on our behalf to book a tour. My wife is a vegetarian, (she eats dairy and seafood) and is low-key about it. When Cosette found out, she made sure that meat wasn't on my wife's plate the next morning. She even e-mailed the inn-keeper at our next B&B that a vegetarian was on the way, now THAT'S service!! We would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2010

This was our last stop after a 2-week road trip, and we certainly saved the best for last. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were so comfortable--the houses were old enough to feel like staying at grandma's house, but way better mattresses, linens, service and silk-screened wallpaper (run your fingertips over the surface, ooh la la). No problems with sinks or toilets, in case you were wondering. The 2 inns are across the street from one another, and every afternoon there's a wine tasting. Here we were, in the backyard among the flowers and the garden, so very relaxing, interesting conversations with fellow travelers. We got to take the rest of the open bottle back to the room with us. Afterwards, the pizza at Diavolo (all we had clothes for) was really really good and the mussels, well, they went so fast we had to have a second round. Each house has breakfast promptly at 9. You don't sit down at the table until then, and what a loaded table it was. I haven't had a breakfast like that since I don't know when. Homemade jams and tortes with fruits from the garden and breads and what about that sausage and...It was an inspiration. I was holding a family reunion for 30 at my house a week after coming home and I had all the meals covered except the breakfasts. Now that's how you do it if you want your guests to be happy. PS. A famous basketball player had stayed in the room my teenage boys stayed in. I bet he liked the low-key personal attention too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UR2Muchness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We had 4 weeks to find a new location for our wedding, reception/dinner, and lodging for 10 couples after our original location lost its license. We were so fortunate to find a real gem in the Hope-Merrill House B&B. It far exceeded our expectations, and anything that our original location could have done.

The innkeepers, Ron and Cosette, are every charming and helpful. They worked with our caterers to get the best use of the property. And the property is so beautiful, perfect for a casual yet elegant wine country wedding. We were married under an ancient walnut tree at the back, had an out door cocktail reception by the pool, and dinner for 30 among the vines, by the gazebo. The property accommodated all of this without any sense of crowding at all.

The rooms are more beautiful than the web site shows, and the houses (there are two, across the street from each other) are elegant and beautifully furnished. Breakfast is for all guests together, and sumptuous. Almost everything served is home made, and uses ingredients from their gardens.

The Hope-Merrill House is a wonderful B&B, in a great location for wine lovers. And the innkeepers Ron and Cosette make it a personal and warm place to enjoy a few very special days. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaccoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Nice place, the William Morris theme is a bit overwhelming, but amazing at the same time.

Don't think all rooms have TV so if that's important get the right room. Swimming pool out back looked nice (but I didn't bring my trunks).

Breakfast was very nice - single sitting and you got what you were given. This happened a coupde of times this trip and it almost makes you feel you have to eat - whether you want to or not!

Geyserville itself is not a place to head for but there was a very nice Italian restuarant and nearby bigger towns (6 miles) offer plenty of options

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-Neddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This was our third time staying with Cosette and Ron spanning a seven year period. Each time has been WONDERFUL! This time we splurged and booked the Sterling Suite - what a romantic place to celebrate a birthday (mine) plus my retirement. The suite was spacious, spotless, and well decorated with a comfortable relaxing feel. My wife loves to swim in their heated pool. Cosette's breakfasts are THE best of any B and B anywhere - gourmet to the max. We went wine tasting at our 3 favorite wineries: Silver Oak, Ridge, and Preston which are a short distance. Dinner at Santi's down the street was fabulous. Can't say enough good things about the entire weekend and the hospitality of the Hope Merrill House!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawg_launcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geyserville
0.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
288 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
6.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
486 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
570 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 21253 Geyserville Ave, Geyserville, CA 95441
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Geyserville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geyserville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in Geyserville, a small town in the fertile Alexander Valley, where the traveler will enjoy some of the most spectacular views of the wine country in California. Nothing is more beautiful than the vineyard scene, and the vineyards of the north coast of Sonoma County are some of the most magnificent in the world. The Inn offer a grand view of Geyser Peak, the worlds largest geothermal field, and the steam clouds rising from the Geysers are prominent above the surrounding hill area. Guests enjoy the rural atmosphere and wine buffs can take advantage of the wine tasting at small wineries located along the back roads of the Russian River Wine Trail. Other diversions await the guests -- the river, the redwoods, Lake Sonoma and Warm Springs Dam are just a few miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing