We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sushi Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Omakase

Sushi Omakase
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Omakase is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 126 Restaurants in Gilroy
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 152
Transit: Greyhound & Bus Lines, Amtrack & Train station 1 mile away Local bus stop at shopping center
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Around”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We go to Omakase every week at least once. The prices are fare , the service is great. We always sit at the bar with Pim, she makes us feel very welcome. If you have not been start out with a heart attack roll ( unhealthy but delicious ) then try different rolls, the Summertime roll and the my ex girlfriend roll are a couple favorites. .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean K, Owner at Sushi Omakase, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you Steve for your kind words...it really means a lot to us. We hope you continue to enjoy our restaurant!
Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Sushi Place.”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A lot of good sushi combinations to choose from. Good service. Fun place and good food. Have been here twice and it is always busy. That is a good sign. Will definitely be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were trapped in a bad traffic jam on the 152 frwy and after 1 1/2 of driving 2 mph we pulled over for dinner. From the moment we walked in, we received a warm greeting.

We ordered seaweed salads, eel rolls, and unagi rolls. It perfectly hit the spot! I was eating so fast I accidentally lost part of my meal on the floor. The manager saw and instantly ordered a new roll on the house. He was so attentive to his customers and extremely friendly. It was a fantastic dining experience and one we certainly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Soccernetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The place is fairly small and close to the Gilroy outlet mall (one exit South). Great service with a young vibe. I think the owner was there when we went and he was great. They offer a sizable amount of food - we could have shared a plate. Overall a great experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very exciting Sushi dishes.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

They greet you when you enter. The G. Clooney. It is almost always crowded. A little noisy but fun. The wait staff is very nice but busy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Managerlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Omakase also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Omakase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing