We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really a very good pub”

The Claddagh Irish Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #31 of 127 Restaurants in Gilroy
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really a very good pub”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

When you walk in, the building doesn't shout "pub" but don't let that scare you off. These people have pub in their hearts. Excellent selection of beers & ales whiskies, etc. and the food is very good, I have had the BEST Calamari (yes, calamari) there, better than at seafood restaurants in SF or Monterey. Banger sandwich is excellent and the burgers are good too. Lots of tvs for sports watchers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food might be good...but the service is NOT!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Arrived at the pub with a date and was excited for a nice evening and good food! Seated our selves and waited and waited and waited. People were being helped all around us, but not one of the 5 waitresses there, so much as acknowledge us. Not a hello, can I take a drink order or even a smile. A full 20 minutes passed and we walked out! The food might be good, but the customer service is the worst I have ever experienced! Very disappointed and I would never suggest this place to anyone! FYI, good customer service is everything!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacamento ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Flavorful food and atmosphere for a fun St. Patrick's Day lunch.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I walked in at lunch and was able to find a seat at the bar immediately, which was great because it was St. Patrick's Day. I had to wait a bit for the bartender to acknowledge me, but once he did the service was very good. The cornbeef was very tender and tasty, but there was too much cabbage & potatoes for a lunch portion (he did warn me the portion was large). I ordered the bread pudding to go and it was very good.

I like the Irish pub atmosphere and know I will go back another day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“deeeeelicious”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This place is overall a great place to eat. I see the owner on a regular basis getting fresh ingredients for his menu at the grocery store. (unique thing to know- nothing is ever frozen, only cooked fresh).

I have to admit i am a sucker for their shepards pie. Its pretty amazing. Their fish and chips is also great with large portions. The owner is Irish, he is very friendly and cares a lot about his costumers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachstrick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub far from home...”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I had lunch today at The Claddagh and came away very impressed - and very full. Large comfortable area - a bit large for a real pub "feel" but was nevertheless tastefully decorated. Large portions, very reasonably priced and varied menu makes this place a winner and "the owner's husband", Mike, stopped by several times to check on things. Great, attentive staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Claddagh Irish Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Claddagh Irish Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing