We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck. Dirty. Old. Seedy. Smelly.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yuck. Dirty. Old. Seedy. Smelly.”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Need I say more? It looked like a seedy motel, nothing like a typical Ramada. They must lease their name? The sheets were so rough it almost hurt. Seriously. The towels were even worse. The room
Smelled like an old ladies house, musty and in desperate need of an open window. It did have a microwave and fridge, but the room was so not clean that no way would I have used it. The drain had hair in it which is nasty. The hot tub was disgusting looking. This place is terrible. Pay a few more bucks and get a place that isnt awful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRod717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    85
    77
    26
    28
See reviews for
85
70
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and were delighted. The room was clean, in perfect order. WE were placed in the back, away from the road noise. Even thoiught the hotel is old, the room didn't reflect that too much. The desk clerk was very friendly. We definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back right by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 938eunices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Five night stay. Very friendly and helpful manager ( and son). Housekeepers did every thing necessary to freshen up room each day. Great location for shopping or eating. Easy access off of Hwy 101. Older motel but reasonably clean. Very good breakfast facility. Good prices for Gilroy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back of motel to get away from parking lot or road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great deal for the money. Clean and friendly, with great location. Just next to 7-11, across street from Black Bear Diner, on same side of street as Outlet Mall. A great pit stop hotel room at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaGilroy, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento,Ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here in mid September for the Renaissance Faire. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and clean. The pool area was clean and operational. Towels were scratchy, but that is a common issue at almost every hotel I've stayed at and not exclusive to this hotel. This was a great deal for the two nights we stayed. No issues or complaints.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank placerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaGilroy, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed 2 nights here for a job interview, and had everything I needed. I got a very low rate thru hotwire. I had none of the problems mentioned in negative reviews here and elsewhere. My single-queen room overlooking the small pool was clean, spacious and comfortable. The only smells in my room came from cleaning products, including what was most likely a recent carpet cleaning. The heavy curtains darkened the room nicely at night. The single-pane windows let in significant traffic noise, but that is part of the price you pay for a convenient location. Some of the fixtures show their age and cheapness, but everything worked and nothing was unpleasant or uncleanly. The breakfast is basic prepackaged cereals and yogurt plus some breads and pastries you can put in the toaster. I received friendly, efficient service from the staff, who do appear to be a family. I didn't get to use the pool or spa, but I saw a few families using them and everybody was laughing and smiling. I noticed that my door did not always pull to completely from the inside if I wasn't paying attention, which might explain the problem the one reviewer had with their door standing open. An older gentleman staffing the desk was unsmiling until I gave him a smile--you do get what you give, sometimes, especially when it comes to courtesy. The only problem I had with the room was a torn "Do Not Disturb" sign that would not stay on the handle, and this was immediately corrected with a brand new one. I would stay here again if my travels take me to Gilroy and I'm on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaGilroy, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have stayed at the hotel twice last year when we visited Gilroy theme park. It is looked like a family business. Staff was helpful and friendly. The main concern is rooms qualities. A smell was terrible. A carpet was so dirty that my sons' feet became black after walking barefooted. In general, the hotel needs to be remodeled. I stayed there because I wanted to save money. But next time I would pay more and stay at different hotels

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gilroy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilroy
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gilroy
Days Inn Gilroy
#9 of 9 in Gilroy
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gilroy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
7.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgan Hill/San Jose Area
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gilroy
Super 8 Gilroy
#7 of 9 in Gilroy
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 360 Leavesley Rd, Gilroy, CA 95020-3607 (Formerly Ramada Limited Gilroy)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Gilroy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Gilroy Hotel Gilroy
Gilroy Ramada
Ramada Gilroy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing