We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Gilroy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Gilroy
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    41
    62
    46
    40
See reviews for
78
52
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Good for the price. Front desk staff was friendly at check in. Room was clean but was in desperate need of professional repainting wall paper patched in many places and peeling in corners. Bed and furniture were newer and comfortable. Only problem I had was when I got out of the shower in the morning I noticed no bath towels had been placed in the room and had to use a hand towel. The direct TV and new TVs were a nice touch. The outside landscaping was in the process of being cleaned / redone. Overall an okay stay for the price. A repainting of the rooms would really make all the difference in the quality of the rooms

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn G, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gilroy, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear Christopher,

We thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the incorrect towels we will report to our team and have corrected. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Regards,

John Smith
Days Inn Gilroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nv
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked a room for my husband and me at this Days Inn for the annual Garlic Festival. I booked the room in April of this year, and I chose this place based on TripAdvisor reviews of the place. I wish now I had looked at recent reviews (June, July) before we actually traveled to Gilroy.

The motel is in a good location as far as freeway and highway access go. But, it is next to a commercial business that apparently has employees working nights. When we pulled up we were a little taken aback by its physical location and the grounds of the motel. There was trash thrown in the bushes and containers of rotting food that had fuzzy mold on it sitting in the bushes.

We were given a ground floor room in the back of the property. We drove around to the room only to find it was not cleaned (2:45 p.m.; check-in is technically 3:00 p.m.). So, we drove around Gilroy a while until our room was ready. Over all, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the TV was a nice one with DirecTV. The negatives: the door to the room did not seal well and let in aromas (garlic fields, which was not unpleasant), daylight, and night time lights; the walls were paper thin; there were holes in the bathroom wall; water stains and rippled wallpaper throughout the room; bathroom faucet leaked whenever the faucet was turned on and the water ran onto the counter and subsequently onto the floor below; counter top of the bathroom was in bad shape; the bathroom door hit the toilet every time the door was opened; there was moldy stuff growing around the bathtub caulking; furniture in the room was damaged but usable.

During our stay the only ice machine on the premises ran out of ice. The woman at the front desk said she would call us when it was repaired. We never got the call. However, the next day the ice machine was working. The complimentary breakfast served stale muffins. I do not know about the other food items since I only picked up two muffins the first morning and did not return the next morning.

In the middle of both nights we were there we were awakened by machinery at the business next door. As I mentioned, the walls between the rooms were paper thin. Our neighbors must have used TV as white noise to help them sleep. We did not appreciate having to share that "white noise" with them. Perhaps being judgmental, we were afraid to call their room to ask them to turn down, or off, their TV. We did not have the sense that the motel personnel would be helpful either.

This Days Inn is in such disrepair that we would never recommend this place to anyone we know. We will also never stay at this Days Inn location in the future. I wish I had perused the more recent reviews before we made our road trip to Gilroy. Live and learn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godsbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn G, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gilroy, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear GodlyBooBoo from Inclinevillage, Nevada,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We can understand your disappointment and frustration during this very festive and colorful family and visitors oriented Garlic Festival Weekend. It was a record setting heat and it was restless weekend. We apologize for the lack of ice when you needed it and for the cleanliness issues you stated in the bathroom and poor furniture quality that turned you down. It is a high spirited event and the we apologize for the Garlic Smells permeating into your room, it is strong during the festival. We will speak with our neighbors and request if we can improve the work activities timing, they prepare tools for the morning fieldworkers and industries in the area, but we may be able to develop some alternate plan. As far as your neighbors guests are asked to be concerned with quiet hours but you were ok with the white noise nonetheless if it is reported we can make a request.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are truly sorry for your poor experience. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.


We have informed our business neighbors of your feedback.

Sincerely,
John Smith
Guest Relations
408 848 3500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gilroy hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Checked in on a Friday. I called ahead and asked if I could check in early, he said yes. I got there at 2:20Pm. The room he 1st gave me the maid was still cleaning it. So I went back to get another room. Got it! Upon entering the room temp was set just right. Presentation of our room was nice. 4 overly soft down or down alternative were spread diagonally across. Cool 30 in. flatscreen with Direct tv as the service provider.

My purpose to check in early was to enjoy their pool. They got a pool but no lounge style chairs to lay out and sun bathe : ( They had upright sitting plastic chairs. I saw one person lay their towel on the concrete floor to lay down, no thanks.

I ended up taking a nap instead of sun bathing. There would be a strong possibility to repeat this hotel if they had lounge chairs for their pool area. The price I paid for is fair, I booked about 2 months ahead, to make sure I get a room for the Garlic Festival.


They offer free continental style breakfast form 6Am to 9Am. Not an early bird so got there at 8:45Am. There was weak coffee and some mini muffins left. They did have some activia yogurt which was cool, and I had some, Also they offered apples and bananas as fresh fruit. There are alot of hotels in the area so they are as being competitive as best as they can.

Room Tip: Perhaps the 2nd floor may have less foot traffic. People walking across your window and door you wil...
See more room tips
Green Features: Well their toilets aren't water savers. I thought mines may have leaked water whenever I flushed.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn G, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gilroy, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Elaine W

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

John Smith
Guest Relations
Days Inn Gilroy
4088483500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilroy
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Gilroy
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gilroy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
#1 of 13 in Morgan Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Gilroy
Super 8 Gilroy
#7 of 9 in Gilroy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gilroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gilroy

Property: Days Inn Gilroy
Address: 8292 Murray Ave., Near Premium Shopping Outlets, Gilroy, CA 95020 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Gilroy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Gilroy 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-Smoking Facility, Pet-Free, WI-FI, Parking, Breakfast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Gilroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Gilroy
Gilroy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing