We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Beltane Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beltane Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Absolutely loved our stay at the ranch. We stayed in cottage 6 and had our own little garden table and chairs. This place is utter bliss, you sit on the grass and look out onto acres and acres of stunning scenery, it's just so quiet and relaxing.

The breakfast here is delicious and the service is nice, not too over the top but leave you to do your own thing. Also, great location, within driving distance from all the major attractions.

Room Tip: Room 6 - one of the few that offer your private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    24
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at Beltane Ranch for 2 nights during June 2012 as a base to explore Sonoma valley and it was perfect, definitely the best place we stayed during our 3 week trip around California. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was beautifully decorated and breakfast was amazing! The ranch was lovely to walk around and the location was excellent for exploring the valley. We only wished we'd booked a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKP2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My friend and I were there for four days just last week for wine tasting and sightseeing. We were not disappointed! The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. This is an older home, but nicely decorated. There are five rooms and a cottage. The breakfasts every morning included eggs from the ranch , and raspberries from the bushes right out the front door were made into luscious muffins dusted with powered sugar..Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 10:00 Guests can choose to eat in the dining room or at the outdoor seating area that each room has . We spent part of each day just sitting outside to read and enjoy a glass of wine. Also, homemade cookies are available in the afternoon. The ranch had two Clydesdale horses that were so friendly, they would come to the fence and eat pieces of apple right out of your hand, so sweet!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthieb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Right off Highway 12 beautiful Beltane Ranch has it all for a romantic stay, winetasting and exploring the stunning landscape of the wine country. The upstairs rooms open to a veranda overlooking parts of the farmland and a small valley between Kenwood and Glen Ellen. Be sure to reserve an evening out there with a bottle of the excellent estate-grown Sauvignon blanc. The gardens abound with flowers and berries you are invited to pick. Our favorite spot was a hammock in a lush and quiet part of the garden. Could have relaxed there forever. Everybody was very helpful and friendly but unobtrusive at the same time. Fresh cookies were available every day and somebody was always ready to equip you with a bottle of wine, glasses and a cooler. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

An attractive older house in a rural setting with friendly staff. Beautiful well furnished rooms. Needed to have slightly better access to 'out of hours' hot beverages - staff were very happy to leave a 'thermos' of hot water in the kitchen but there was no provision for boiling a jug or using the stove ( perhaps this reflects concerns about liability not seen elsewhere ?).
The breakfast was good but only just on a par with 'full' breakfasts served in the UK or Australasia ( it comprised coffee, juice and a plate of cooked food - no offer of cereals, fruit or toast/pastries)

Room Tip: Ask for one on the front (we had one of the downstairs 'cheaper' one s but it was still very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Beltane Ranch in Sonoma County. The home, staff, and breakfasts were absolutely wonderful.

We were met upon arrival by a wonderful staff and home-baked cookies. They were able to give us some wonderful suggestions for wineries and restaurants. You should check out The Girl and the Fig Cafe in Glen Ellen.

The grounds at Beltane Ranch are beautiful with fragrant flowers and gardens. I could have spent the day there just relaxing and walking the trails.

Our room was the smaller of the five at the ranch (Room #4), but it was a good size for two people. The bed was comfortable and the room had fresh flowers from the garden.

The breakfast at Beltane was one of the best BnB breakfast I have ever had. One morning we had sweet potato pancakes and the other morning we had a wonderful veggie quiche with roasted red pepper sauce. They had me spoiled and I didn't want to leave.

Well done Beltane!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place is magical, to say the least. I found myself constantly taking pictures as everywhere I looked there was beautiful detail after beautiful detail of this historic B&B. I have posted only a few of these pictures, but wish I could share them all.

The property:

This is a working ranch. When we pulled up, we were welcomed by an old stone fence, spanish moss trees, and two beautiful horses. We parked our car and walked through a lovely white terrace with pink flowers drapped over it. The lady checking us in was very sweet and accomodating. The ranch house is historic and charming, older, but very clean. The wrap around porches, both upper and lower are white washed with white wicker chairs. The community table is beautifully set at all hours of the day. There was a fire in the fireplace one night in the community living room. The house is surronded by beautiful gardens and a white picket fence. There is a large hammock in the side yard and really nice tennis courts. Behind the house is a matching yellow barn, more horses, and a road that leads you to a country road for a secluded hike through the spanish moss covered trees and old vineyards.

The room:

We were in room number five on the front corner. It had french doors that opened onto the side garden. We felt like we might have had the most privacy of all the rooms, except the cottage. The queen bed was very comfortable and the linens were fresh. Good size for two people. The bathroom was very clean and the little changing room connected was a good size. The ONLY criticism of the room is that the bathtub/shower could use an update with updated fixtures. The shutters on the windows added to the charm.

The breakfast: We stayed for two nights so were lucky enough to have two breakfasts. They were both VERY good. One was a quiche-like dish with goat cheese and asparagus, sausage (unlike any I have had before), two heartshaped cornbread toasts with jam and fresh fruit. (Pictured). The second was a really tasty breakfast burrito with pico de gallo and avacoda salsa with a bowl of fresh fruit. We decided to eat both breakfasts on the front porch despite the rainy/cold weather. The view was just too good to miss.

Misc: Other things that made our visit so special was the cookie jar in the kitchen - filled with the BEST homemade chocolate chip cookies that you could grab at any time; the wifi service was free, good and easy to use; the ranch produces its own sauvignon blanc wine and it is worth taking home; it rained most of the time we were there and the place was so good that we didn't even mind it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntBee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
1.8 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
8.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
646 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltane Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltane Ranch

Property: Beltane Ranch
Address: 11775 Sonoma Highway, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beltane Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush gardens and ancient oaks, landmark historic Beltane Ranch overlooks estate vineyards, grazing horses and the heart of Sonoma Valley Wine Country. Rooms feature spectacular views, private outdoor seating areas and the opportunity to enjoy the property's iconic highly-acclaimed estate wines while watching the sunset over the vines that grew them. Comfortably appointed with signature linens, private wine cellars and, organic amenities, guest room's interiors feature original historic architectural details along with antiques and modern updates. Stays include a full ranch-grown chef-prepared breakfast served in the dining room or on the porch outside your room. Cheese boards and chef-packed picnics are also available by arrangement. The ranch is ideally located with dozens of fine restaurants and other wineries, shopping, parks and more all within a few minutes in either direction. A six-generation family-owned and operated working ranch and agricultural preserve, Beltane Ranch also produces estate olive oil, grows organic heirloom produce and is home to a bee apiary. With 105 acres to explore, Beltane Ranch offers the unique opportunity to experience authentic, historic Sonoma Valley, the birthplace of Calfornia winemaking. Beltane Ranch is also the winner of Congressman Huffman's North Bay Sustainablity Award and is a 100% Certified Sustainable Vineyard & Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beltane Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltane Ranch Hotel Glen Ellen
Beltane Ranch Glen Ellen, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing