We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best. Cannot wait to return.”
Review of Beltane Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beltane Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 August 2007

I just read the previous review (mahoneychic) and I literally was about to write the exact same thing. Loved the Ranch--the veranda and hammocks were so relaxing and peaceful. It was hard to leave to go to the vineyards! We rushed home every afternoon to relax on the porch and drink wine. Perfect way to end a trip. Just wish we had stayed longer. We did think the breakfasts were a bit too involved and would have prefered something more simple or options for vegetarians, but the quality of the food was superb. Note--they do not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2007

I booked Beltane Ranch based on other traveler's reviews and was glad that I did. Beltane Ranch was the tail end of a 7 day vacation in California for us. It was the most relaxing part of our trip and the pefect way to wind down before going home. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Sonoma. If you prefer staying on a real working ranch with horses, gardens, a gourmet chef and views galore with no noise whatsoever, this is your place! We often brought a picnic of cheese and wine back to the huge wrap around porch every afternoon and just sat there until the sun set. Breakfast was served on the veranda everyday. What a peaceful beautiful slice of heaven! You won't be disappointed. My one suggesion is that you ask for an upstairs corner room which are much larger and have the views. You have to go to Girl and the Fig for dinner one night and the Benziger family winery has a great little tour and great wine. Kevin, the chef will give you free passes. The ranch is situated a few minutes from town by car, but in the midst of all the wineries in Sonoma.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mahoneychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Our family enjoyed the most relaxing night of a busy 10-day California trip at Beltane Ranch. No televisions, no phone in your room, but a very comfortable homey feeling in a most attractive setting. We had a corner suite of rooms on the second floor, with a queen size bed for my wife and myself, and a day bed in an adjoining eoom for our 16 year old son. We had a full bath, and a hammock outside, and a peaceful setting among the vineyards and hills.

We were advised about intown restaurants, and enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Fig. We had made tour reservations at Benziger vineyard in town, and the Inn provided discount coupons for their tasting room and gift shop.

The breakfast lived up to its billing. It was large, filling and wonderfully prepared by Kevin, who was a character and who also led us in the right direction to seeing the redwoods (no, to Muir Woods; yes to Armstrong State Park in Gurneyville). We ate at one large table with our fellows guests who included three college friends who get together each year for time together, an Air Forces officer and his wife from Washington DC, and a heavily tattooed young man with girlfriend. Quite an unusual mixture, but the variety of experiences made for a fun time.

In short Beltane Ranch lived up to what we wanted: a gorgeous setting, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, and an interesting group of people. It is quiet, and there is no nightlife, but that's not what we wanted. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ticket2ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

We stayed at Beltane in mid June 07. What a wonderful experience. The gardens were exceptional. Big, comfortable farm house, very homey and warm. A delicious homemade breakfast on the veranda can't be beat especially the view. People were warm and welcoming, even the cleaning staff. Fresh flowers on an antique table each morning. Soft bed with down comforter. Everything was perfect from beginning to end. Spotlessly clean. Do not miss this place !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Great, peaceful location away from town but only 5-10 minutes from some nice restaurants. Not luxurious, but very comfortable with beautiful gardens. Good base to tour a few wineries and then come back and take a nap or enjoy a walk.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frozen-in-Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

Friends and I stayed here a week. Wonderful experience, at a fraction of what other B&Bs charge. Gourmet breakfast, beautiful grounds--even fresh raspberries and figs from the garden. Off the road, so it's nice and quiet. Very convenient to all wineries. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Don't pass up Beltane! My first Trip Advisor review, all because it was so lovely!

Porch swings, hammock, lawn furniture in the coziest spots of the yard, refrigerators for your use, tennis courts & racquets, gardens galore, friendly staff...All the touches that say "we take pride in the ranch, and in service to our guests." We stayed in room #5, downstairs corner room, facing front of the house. You'll hear the upstairs guests walking about, so take that into account if you're sensitive. We were delighted with the room - great windows on all sides, small table & chairs on the porch outside our door. Clean, comfortable room, bed & linens. Less than five minutes by car from the restaurants, market & shops in Glen Ellen. And breakfast, of course, was the topper - day 1: scrambled eggs w/chard & basil, hashbrowns w/red & yellow peppers & havarti cheese, fresh fruit - truly fresh, and freshly squeezed juice; day 2: fruit & juice, chicken sausage, zucchini pancakes w/ raspberry merlot sauce & candied walnuts. We ate in the dining room, but they kindly accommodated other guests who wished to eat on the porch. Exceptionally pleasant & peaceful on all counts.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kengl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
1.8 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
7.8 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
7.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.8 mi away
Gaige House + Ryokan, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltane Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltane Ranch

Address: 11775 Sonoma Highway, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Glen Ellen
Price Range: £127 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beltane Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush gardens and ancient oaks, landmark historic Beltane Ranch overlooks estate vineyards, grazing horses and the heart of Sonoma Valley Wine Country. Rooms feature spectacular views, private outdoor seating areas and the opportunity to enjoy the property's iconic highly-acclaimed estate wines while watching the sunset over the vines that grew them. Comfortably appointed with signature linens, private wine cellars and, organic amenities, guest room's interiors feature original historic architectural details along with antiques and modern updates. Stays include a full ranch-grown chef-prepared breakfast served in the dining room or on the porch outside your room. Cheese boards and chef-packed picnics are also available by arrangement. The ranch is ideally located with dozens of fine restaurants and other wineries, shopping, parks and more all within a few minutes in either direction. A six-generation family-owned and operated working ranch and agricultural preserve, Beltane Ranch also produces estate olive oil, grows organic heirloom produce and is home to a bee apiary. With 105 acres to explore, Beltane Ranch offers the unique opportunity to experience authentic, historic Sonoma Valley, the birthplace of Calfornia winemaking. Beltane Ranch is also the winner of Congressman Huffman's North Bay Sustainablity Award and is a 100% Certified Sustainable Vineyard & Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Beltane Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltane Ranch Hotel Glen Ellen
Beltane Ranch Glen Ellen, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing