We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Olea Hotel for the first part of our honeymoon and we can't stop raving about it to our friends and family. Everything was perfect - clean, updated, gorgeous and everything the website says it will be. The staff was amazing - Kent and Julie brightened our day every morning and gave us all of the information and knowledge we needed to have an amazing day in Sonoma. The breakfast (included in your stay) was the best we've ever had at a Bed and Breakfast and the portions are a great size. I really can't say enough amazing things about this place. We stayed in one of their cottages and everything was top notch - the bedding was gorgeous, the fireplace was perfect, the heated bathroom floors were the best things we've ever experienced and it was cozy and adorable. You must stay here if you are heading to the Sonoma area. The staff will take great care of you, you will be rushing to breakfast in the morning to see what treat is waiting for you and you won't be able to wait to go back!

Room Tip: The cottages are great for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    47
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
356
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while exploring Sonoma valley wine country. The atmosphere was peaceful, quiet, relaxing, everything you want for a couples getaway! The staff was so friendly and helpful. I have to mention the comfortable beds and amazing breakfast. Def a must stay in Sonoma!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a hidden gem in the Sonoma area! You must go. It's in a small town (Glen Ellen) and if you go, you must eat at Glen Ellen Star (super cute, hip local place!).
My husband and I stayed only one night Sunday-Monday recently in August and we absolutely loved the hotel.
First, it is small...only about a dozen rooms.
Second, it is small business and not some major Marriott chain, very quaint, but it's not your run of the mill grandma style small B & B and I think a young family owns it.
What we LOVED the most is that it is newly built, very modern, chic, and comfortable. All the comforts of home.....cute, very updated rooms (kind of a mid century modern but has a cozy comfortable feel) that are very private (you can practically park your car in front of your room), little sitting area in front of each room ....and tons of relaxing romantic sitting areas throughout the property; hot tub, fire pit, outside lounging areas, etc.
Some of our favorite things about Olea:
1. VERY friendly staff (we met Gretchen and Julia)....almost too nice!
2. If you ask the staff at the desk, they will hook you up with a free wine tasting pass for a ton of Sonoma wineries (yes, free!)
3. Super quiet property
4. Plush, thick towels
5. Incredible water pressure in showers (!!)
6. Comfortable, pretty, very updated rooms/bathrooms
7. Uber clean!
8. Incredible morning breakfast (comes with the room price).
9. Lots of comforts and complimentary amenities (high end wine, coffee, tea, lemonade) so you can sip and lounge by the fire pit, hot tub, room, etc. Free wifi.
10. Super cute and cozy feel to the place....the lobby was adorable with dvds you can take back to your room, books, board games, soft acoustic music playing and through breakfast.
11. The people who stay there are couples or small groups of friends.....quiet and friendly people, no loud party types, no children, etc.
We LOVED it!

Room Tip: They are all good, we liked room 4, it was in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeacherGirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautifully imagined and executed, this gem of a hotel is noteworthy for its attention to detail in both its service and surroundings. In the lexicon of hospitality, operators sometimes keep track of their guests' "intent to return" and "intent to recommend". I will gladly do both.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed four nights at the Olea Hotel. I wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived until the time we left everything was perfect. Gretchen and Julie were so welcoming and helpful with providing recommendations and making reservations for restaurants and interesting places to see. The hotel grounds and rooms were clean and beautiful. I would have been happy to just spend the day on the lovely patio area sitting on a lounge chair reading a book and sipping wine. Each day we had a wonderful breakfast which provided a great start to the day. We ended the day soaking in the hot tub which was set in a very lovely somewhat secluded setting. Such a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere it really did feel more like we were staying in a B&B rather than a hotel. It was wonderful and I would not hesitate to recommend. I hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent service and attention to detail rarely seen. Little cottage (room#10) offered lots of privacy and quiet. We had a wonderful stay with fantastic breakfast every morning. We did not want to leave! We will definitely return on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a friendly and welcoming Hotel. We thought this was a perfect combination of the privacy of a hotel and the personal attention of a B&B! As we were driving from Napa, we called to schedule a couples message for the following morning and recommendations for dinner that night; Gretchen was extremely helpful and accommodating. We were in CA for our 10th wedding anniversary. Gretchen offered us complimentary Champagne in our room when we returned for the evening. We enjoyed it just below our room in the jacuzzi under the moonlight. It was the perfect atmosphere to reminisce about our week's trip! Such a restful and relaxing stay... the homemade breakfast in the morning was thoughtfully prepared and so delicious! Thank you so much Olea Hotel, wish we could have stayed longer...one day we hope to return!

Room Tip: I couldn't imagine you could have a bad room, but you might get a better view if you were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
6.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
5.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
657 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
6.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
9.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Property: Olea Hotel
Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-8754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing