We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Lodge/Motel”
Review of Jack London Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jack London Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Not sure by definition if there is really a difference in calling a place a lodge vs a motel or even an Inn except that it is the choice of the ownership how to title it. Obviously, in naming one's property, calling it a motel is least desirable and gives the perception of bottom line basic accomodations. That being said, commenting based on experience with other "Lodges" we have stayed, Glen Ellen Lodge is more what we would consider a motel. Check in accomodations were simply a tiny room that barely fit two people standing at a countertop to be checked in, while any other guests must wait outside the door in the drive, certainly not anything resembling a welcoming lobby. There was a pool and jacuzzi across the parking lot and the room was pretty basic with a bed, counter top vanity with sink and coffee maker, simple dresser and two chairs flanking a small round table. The breakfast mentioned in prior reviews must have been discontinued as there were no breakfast offerings at all during our visit.

Other so called Lodges we have stayed at include amenities that anyone would consider an upgrade from a motel room, from a non-standard layout, to maybe a tiny kitchenette or fireplace, greeting package like cookies or a comfortable indoor gathering area/reception. By comparison we just viewed pictures of the Glen Ellen "Inn", and frequent the Stardust Lodge Tahoe.

All that aside, the location is convenient for vising nearby winery tasting rooms or J.L. State Park. As other reviews mention, there is a handful of small eating establishments and if you need otheer options, Sonoma is only about 6 miles away and has many more options. Our room was quiet from street noise, but the heater had a continuous pre-heating clicking that woke us often. The underside of the comforter was a bit stained and gross, but we pulled it all the way off and the room was plenty warm. The Lodge was quaint and priced slightly less than Glen Ellen Inn, but our next visit we may give the Inn a try.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Live-Love-Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Jack London Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed staying in Glen Ellen this one time and it was close to many great wineries where we could enjoy some wine tasting. The positive was this hotel is within walking distance of good restaurants and great grocery/deli store, it was very clean. The room was very dark, the bathroom area was open to the sleeping area so if one gets up earlier and turn on the lights it would wake up the other person. Even to turn on the light in the toilet area you had to close that door to get to the switch and then open the door to go in. Definitely could use some upgrades. The breakfast was very basic, some cereal, rolls, beverages. We didn't stay for breakfast as we wanted a nice one before starting our day of exploring. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clmillea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just spent Saturday night at this cute hotel. Glen Ellen is small, but has everything you could want for a nice, quiet weekend away. From the amazing grocery store just across the street to the nice restaurants within walking distance. Plenty of wineries for any wine lover. Check out Deerfield's wine cave. The staff at the lodge was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and clean, with nice furnishings. We would love to go back. Don't forget to get your pass to Jack London State Park, take the walking guided tour.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a nice place, rooms are big, comfortable and clean, loved the bar adjacent to the lodge and the Village store opposite was fantastic. We got a Groupon deal which included vouchers for wine tasting. The two lovely ladies at reception were very helpful and I hope they are using the Union Jack Mugs...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoulabelleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

It was so perfect for us. The room was clean and nice. The lady in the office were so nice and helpful. The area around Jack London was so nice, they have a pool, so next time we will come and stay in the summertime. It was really easy to find when you got to Glen Ellen.We will come back, that's for sure!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fonzie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Jack London Lodge is an aging motor lodge in the heart of quaint Glen Ellen. There is a larger parking area next to the street and a smaller parking area in a courtyard created by the lodge and pool area. The rooms all open to the exterior of the building toward the smaller parking area. The room itself was dated and could use a facelift, but was large and clean. The breakfast was extremely basic. Unless you want a bagel and coffee, don't bother. But, you can't beat the location. Very short drives to a significant number of wineries and walking distance to the grocery and several restaurants in Glen Ellen. I booked an exceptionally good rate on Expedia. in conclusion: good, basic accommodations at a reasonable price in a great location. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms open to the exterior of the building (a inner courtyard guest parking area...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived in Glen Ellen in the midst of their fall festival. How charming to wander the booths and hear the locals visiting with one another and sharing village stories. We had stayed in GE, 6 yrs ago and wanted to return as we like to blend with the locals and avoid the touristy areas. The JL Lodge is in a perfection location to walk to the GE Market (wonderful paninis, that's from someone who lived in Italy) or to any of the great restaurants around the corner. We had room #4, first floor and easy to access with luggage. The rooms are large and fairly basic, but clean. The staff were very nice and helpful with suggestions for dinner. Breakfast was served inside the saloon as it was a bit chipper in the early mornings. I had hoped to enjoy their deck as the flowers and view of the creek looked inviting. Next time. You can't beat the price, especially in this area. Spend your money on the restaurants and wineries. Glen Ellen is small but authentic atmosphere. Autumn showcases stunning foliage..a picture postcard!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms allow ease of luggage transport. We did not experience any noise from arrivi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
496 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
658 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.8 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 mi away
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack London Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Lodge

Address: 13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range: £103 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jack London Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Jack London Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Glen Ellen
Jack London Lodge Glen Ellen, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing